We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cakes & desserts!”

Edebiyat Kiraathanesi
Ranked #11 of 456 Dessert in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

This sweet and cake shop with adjoining cafe is a must when visiting Istanbul. We visited on 3 occasions during my last stay and the quality of the sweets and cakes was superb. Very inventive in their creation but thankfully full of flavour and not too sweet, unlike so many that prove disappointing in other places. Good value for money with a good range of soft drinks, teas and coffees too. All the staff we encountered were efficient and polite. The whole experience and atmosphere were just perfect. Located only a few metres from the Sultanahmet tram stop in the direction of Aya Sophia. Highly recommended.

Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hafiz1864, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Edebiyat Kiraathanesi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Dear Hafiz Mustafa 1864 Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review and recommendation on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our delicious desserts as well as the convenient location of our store. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Hafiz Mustafa 1864

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

Everything in this place is amazing, very nice turkish coffee and turkish delights, baklavas, don't miss out: the sutlaç here is amazing, everything was perfect. Nice place to have a break in Sultanahmet

Thank Wan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hafiz1864, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Edebiyat Kiraathanesi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Dear Hafiz Mustafa 1864 Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review and recommendations on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you are satisfied with our products and to see your kind comment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Hafiz Mustafa 1864

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

To many and perfect sweets. European and asian.
Good price, nice coffe but not so good stuff. .................

Thank VaLantis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hafiz1864, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Edebiyat Kiraathanesi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Dear Hafiz Mustafa 1864 Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.We have taken note of your constructive feedback and will discuss it with the related departments. We are happy to know that you are satisfied with our products and to see your kind comment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Hafiz Mustafa 1864

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

What a wonderful place - busy tea room on Divanyolu Caddesi, with an amazing range of sweets: Baklava, eclairs, cake, crème caramel, etc.
To drink, try "Salep" (hot velvety milky drink topped with cinnamon).
And to eat, "Supangle" (chocolate custardy pudding - very rich).
I will keep returning until I have tried all 149 desserts on the menu!

Thank XTCRML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hafiz1864, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Edebiyat Kiraathanesi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Dear Hafiz Mustafa 1864 Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review and recommendations on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you are satisfied with our products and to see your kind comment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Hafiz Mustafa 1864

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

if you find all the different types of baklava, Turkish delight , puddings, teas and coffees mind blowing the best place to go is Edebiyat Kiraathanesi (When you get off the tram at Sultanamet its on the main road just down from the stop) this is an amazing little place where you can sit down and you are given a menu that is like a catalogue with glossy pictures and descriptions of all 149 items they sell. Take your time and select one of two. This will not be the only time you visit this shop on your visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shabbacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hafiz1864, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Edebiyat Kiraathanesi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Dear Hafiz Mustafa 1864 Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review and recommendations on Tripadvisor. We hope you soon again accomodating.

Yours sincerely,

Hafiz Mustafa 1864

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edebiyat Kiraathanesi also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Edebiyat Kiraathanesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing