We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place you would want to stay in Sultanamhet.”
Review of Cheers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheers Hostel
Ranked #4 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

There is no other place in the old cıty of Istanbul that is like Cheers. From its friendly staff, to its airy comfortable rooms, to the magnificent view of the Haga Sofia, the stay at cheers will entice you to never leave Istanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 720 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

A fantastic location very close to the main attractions and trams. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast every morning and clean filted water. Could be a bit cleaner and a few cosmetic jobs done. Comfy bar over looking Hagia Sofia. Free fast wi fi that can be used in the rooms and computers down stairs. Overall a great hostel

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtz1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

If you are looking for a great place to call home while in Istanbul, look no further. Cheers is a wonderful place for many reasons. First, location is second to none. You are only a five minute walk to the Blue Mosque and other attractions. Breakfast is fresh, filling and healthy. Cheers also maintains a high standard of cleanliness and it is very tastefully decorated. It is not overcrowded and it is in no way party central. All of the guests are genuinely nice, considerate people and the clientale is from all around the world. The staff is hilarious, friendly and helpful and there is an adorable resident Golden Lab who soaks up all of the attention she gets. Cheers has a very positive and upbeat feel. I felt so at home there it was definitely a hard place to leave. A special treat is the third floor bar which looks out over the city. The view is breathtaking. You can sit up there and enjoy fellow travellers stories having a glass of wine and at the same time you have an unique opportunity to inhale the history and mystique of Istanbul. Cheers is top notch. Note : it is often sold out so plan ahead. They also only take cash.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and provide lockers. If you have a heavy bag ask for a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destinyspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

You can't beat this clean, friendly hostel for location and value. The dorm room was quiet with only a little street noise.
Check out the view of Hagia Sophia from the rooftop!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dLuxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I am unabashedly and quite honestly saying that this is the best hostel I have ever stayed at. I have travelled North America, Europe, and South Asia, and Cheers Hostel is the best I have seen. The property is as central as it gets, the rooms are very comfortable, safe, and clean. I had a Blackberry, iPad, and camera with me and never felt they were I danger (the provided locking cabinets also helped). The staff is beyond friendly, going to great lengths to make every moment of every day one to remember. They have organised tours, boat rides, walking tours, and meals for us. One of my party is a vegetarian and they went out of their way to help us find or cook vegetarian food. There is free wifi everywhere, and a very comfortable bar upstairs, complete with an awe-inspiring view of the Hagia Sophia. There were people staying here young and old, proving that this hostel is not just for the backpacker....I would have no issue bringing my family here for another trip. We were here for 6 nights and found the ability to have both quiet nights of reading, as well as more enjoyable nights of meeting fellow travelers in the rooftop bar. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to stay here, anytime; and I spend a lot of time reading these reviews before staying somewhere. Not to mention, who doesn't want to spend 6 days with Bijou, the hostel's resident Golden Retriever! Cheers is definitely the smart choice.

Room Tip: They offer both private and dorm rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#458 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,246 in Istanbul
761 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#3 of 1,246 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#16 of 1,246 in Istanbul
546 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#11 of 1,246 in Istanbul
508 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#13 of 1,246 in Istanbul
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Hostel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:21 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $20 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheers Hostel Istanbul is located in a perfect location right in the very heart of the Old City of Istanbul, in Sultanahmet. We are only 1 minute walking distance from the most famous sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace, not to mention the Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul.Our boutique Istanbul hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In our lounge area with TV and free Internet & Wi-fi access, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or Turkish tea, read, play backgammon or have a good chat with the other international travelers visiting exciting Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cheers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing