We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exceptional hotel, great location, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esans Hotel
Ranked #32 of 1,108 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel, great location, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Esans Hotel is without a doubt the best hotel that I've ever stayed at, especially for the price. The staff here are truly exceptional and go above and beyond to make sure that your stay is a pleasant one. One particularly nice amenity that they offer is free international calls home from the lobby. Whenever we found ourselves in the lobby we were offered tea or coffee and we had great conversations with the staff. On our last night, they even upgraded us to a superior room free of charge just because it was available!

The hotel itself is in an awesome location with relatively big, beautifully-decorated rooms. The street that the hotel is on is quiet and we slept great while we were there. We also really enjoyed the breakfast selection, especially the freshly-squeezed orange juice, cookies, and Turkish tea.

I really can't speak highly enough of our stay at this hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennKopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    153
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
157
373
76
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel in Istanbul in November 2011 after reading reviews from other travellers. We would like to say a lot of thanks to the staff there, in particular Engin Coskun who was a great host, he made our stay both enjoyable and comfortable. He provided us tips for many local attractions and restaurants. It is indeed a lovely hotel with a team who truly enjoy their work and helping guests.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellen_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Esans Hotel is located in a great area with rows of shops and restaurants. It's minutes away from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Upon arrival, visitors are allow one international call. Free wifi is available or one can use the communal laptop in the lobby. The breakfast is excellent with fresh crepes, orange juice (one per customer), and eggs. The staff is extremely helpful and knowledgable. Overall, if you like B&B-esque places, this is the place for you. Please note, rooms are rather small; however, if you are one who travels light, it's not so noticeable. Also, the hotel bumps up next to a mosque; for the light sleeper, this means audible 5:00am prayer calls.

Room Tip: No elevator, try for a room on the 2nd floor if you have heavy luggage or not good with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Each piece of feedback is so valuable for us to be able to increase our service level. We are glad to see your appreciation of our good location,service, attentive staff and breakfast.

We would like to mention that our Std.Double Room is around 20m2 and has a double bed. (150x200cm) Since Sultanahmet is archeological protected site area, all buildings are under protection and cannot extend. General guest rooms sizes are small. In fact, our Std.Double Room size is quite wide comparing to other hotels' Std. rooms in Sultanahmet. We have also Superior and Family/Suite Rooms with 28-32 m2 wideness options.

Prayer calls are same as in all Islamic countries like in Istanbul. We have not received any negative feedback about it previously. However if our guest is a light sleeper, we have ear plugs in our Hotel which may help to block.

Thank you again. We wish to welcome you again in our Hotel next time.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had recent short 3 night stay in the Esans Hotel, Istanbul. It is a remarkably friendly, small family-run hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. We were picked up from the airport by a taxi pre-booked through them and arrived at 1000 hours in the morning which was too early to occupy our room. They, however, invited us to partake of breakfast before giving us a comprehensive brief of the "must-see" sights of Istanbul. The hotel is conveniently located close to all the major attractions. We shall certainly be back.

Room Tip: We were upgraded free of charge so had a delightful experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were two couples who had never visited Istanbul before. A Small Hotel on three floors. We had a Standard & Superior Room and both were a good size but felt paying more for the extra space of a Superior Room worth the money

Location was great, all main attractions an easy walk as people have said before. Some very nice Restaurants all close by and whole area seemed very safe.

Staff could not have been more helpful and truly made us feel at home.

We booked direct and got a great overall price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjpgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#25 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#22 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#39 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#38 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Property: Esans Hotel
Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,108 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $33 - $77
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing