We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent short stay at Esans Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Esans Hotel
Ranked #33 of 1,109 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent short stay at Esans Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had recent short 3 night stay in the Esans Hotel, Istanbul. It is a remarkably friendly, small family-run hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. We were picked up from the airport by a taxi pre-booked through them and arrived at 1000 hours in the morning which was too early to occupy our room. They, however, invited us to partake of breakfast before giving us a comprehensive brief of the "must-see" sights of Istanbul. The hotel is conveniently located close to all the major attractions. We shall certainly be back.

Room Tip: We were upgraded free of charge so had a delightful experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    153
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
157
373
76
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were two couples who had never visited Istanbul before. A Small Hotel on three floors. We had a Standard & Superior Room and both were a good size but felt paying more for the extra space of a Superior Room worth the money

Location was great, all main attractions an easy walk as people have said before. Some very nice Restaurants all close by and whole area seemed very safe.

Staff could not have been more helpful and truly made us feel at home.

We booked direct and got a great overall price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjpgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I had 30 hour transit in Istanbul at the last moment due to my flight timings and had to book a last minute stay at a hotel in a city that I have never been to. Saw the positive reviews on this forum and decided to try Esans (plus the price for a single room was around 60$). I was however apprehensive since the property seemed quite small.

I reached the hotel quite early at 5 AM and unfortunately all rooms were full. The night receptionist (Dauliat fromTurkmenistan) kept me company during the entire duration, offered tea and coffee and ensured tht as soon as the first check out happened, the cleaning staff had my room ready in no time. I got my room a lil after 8 AM with no additional charge for an early checkin.

The rooms are done quite tastefull, albeit slightly on the opulent side, The terrace offers some magnificent views of the Bosphorus and Hagia Sophia.

Pros :
1) Close to all major sites in Sultanahmet - TopKapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazar
2)Amazing Breakfast spread. Good Turkish Spread. In the summer I was told the breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace.
3)Nicely done rooms
4)The best part of the stay - the staff - i dont remember having seen such an enthusiastic and dedicated staff in any hotel around the world.The young staff ensure you feel at home and are always willing to help you with anything you would require.

Cons:
1) The hotel does not have a lift/elevator. Hence access to all might be a problem.
2)The walls are quite thin. So you could end up hearing conversations and footfalls from rooms around you.

Apart from these minor issues, the stay at Esans was mind blowing. I am sure I would be back for a longer stay here in the Summer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the family-owned Esans hotel which is just a 5 minute walk from the historic sights around Sultanahmet Square (Blue Mosque. Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace etc). The hotel is a converted 19th century Ottoman era house (belonging originally to a perfumer) which was opened as hotel about a year ago.

Throughout our stay the staff were extremely friendly and attentive without being overly so. The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds although the sound proofing was not great, we were on the first floor and could hear the occupants of the room above. The staff acknowledged that this has been an issue for some and stated they will be carpetting the wooden floors to help improve sound proofing. However, such noise is probably always to be a little expected in conversions of old buildings.

The breakfast was homemade and very tasty with a good selection of Turkish and non-Turkish foods to choose from. However, the selection on offer - though very good - was not as extensive as some reviewers have implied.

The hotel is able to arrange to collect from the airport though for the return journey you'll need to either use public transpott or take a local taxi (an 'interestingly fast' experience!).

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Esan.

Room Tip: A top floor room would eliminate the noise issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Our stay in Istanbul at the Hotel Esans was great. The location was perfect, in the Sulfanahmet area, just a very short walk from the Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque and other attractions. This is a very small hotel, with only 8 rooms, but service was great, with the hotel staff being extremely friendly and very helpful. We felt that they really went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They made numerous recommendations for us as far as restaurants, attractions and getting around the city.

The breakfast was adequate and quite good, with a selection of Turkish breakfast foods served buffet style each morning.

The rooms are small, but quite comfortable. The bathrooms were also small, but adequate. We have stayed in many European hotels, so this was not a surprise, nor was it any inconvenience for us. A note to travelers: it is a 3 story hotel with no elevator. So if you have difficulty climbing stairs, you may want to consider staying elsewhere. For us, this was not a problem at all. The hotel has a lovely roof terrace with some spectacular views of the Hagia Sofia. The hotel also has complimentary wireless internet access.

All in all, it was a great place to stay in Istanbul. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2kornsontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#25 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#34 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#22 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#26 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#39 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Property: Esans Hotel
Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,109 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $33 - $76
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing