We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Price, Poor Location, Great View, Smelling Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Ranked #92 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Price, Poor Location, Great View, Smelling Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I have stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights at corner king room with sea view at 9th floor. The location of the hotel a little bit isolated area from the most common areas. The hotel is at the Anatolian provience of the Istanbul. The most famous area of this part of the town is Bagdat Avenue. The hotel is really isolated from that kind of area. At the around of the hotel you can find old historical streets and local reastaurants but area is a little bit low budget. Hotel is very closer to the Kadikoy Pier and Kadikoy Haydarpasa Train Station. The room prices are very good. Breakfast is rich and tasty. There is a heliport facility just next of the hotel, so you can arrange heli transfer from next of the hotel. Its not a good idea for tourist in my mind. If you dont have business around, i m not advicing this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner King Room Has a Gerat Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    405
    94
    34
    13
See reviews for
200
426
73
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I greatly enjoyed my recent stay at Doubletree Istanbul Moda. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are extremely nice. I had a corner room over looking the river which was fantastic. The room had every possible necessity. The breakfast was nice. The spa was beautiful.

My only disappointment was the lack of reasonable airport transportation and tour availability from the hotel. Although the ferry is nice and convenient, would be nice to have more options. But they more than made up for it by value and by personal attention. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
156 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during our holiday in Istanbul. We really enjoyed it. The hotel is located on the Asian side of town and the area feels authentic and local. The are lots of small restaurants, bars and shops in the area, and not so much tourists. If you want to go to the other side of town to see the sights and so on, you can take a boat from the nearby boat station. This is not just transport, it´s very nice to take the boat, ít´s like sightseeing, you see a lot from the boat. You can also take a dolmus, a minibus, like a shared taxi. They also go from the boat station to the Taksim square and it´s very cheap. The hotel is very nice and modern. Clean and nice. The spa area inside with pool and sauna is nice and if it´s warm outside the rooftop pool is nice but a bit windy. I really recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swedishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

LOCATION

The hotel is located in a quieter area than the busy centre, therefore giving us some more time to rest.
In order to get there, we had to take the boat; this means being about 1 hour from the central locations.

There is a nice view of works in progress from the window, but also of the sea.
On top of the hotel there is a cute, small swimming pool.

SERVICE: Reception and doormen

Receptionists are ok and very friendly. They would take care of our requiremenents.

However attention must be paid to the doormen.
Upon arrival, they would stick to you and remove your luggage from your hands (which is something I personally dislike, as I am fit and can stroll my own luggage).
During check-in the reception would provide few answers about the hotel in general and would tell you that the doorman, on your way to your room, would tell you more about the hotel – easy to understand this is done for the tips business


However we were quite badly impressed from the doormen behaviour on another occasion

We had been previously told by some local friends that the fare from this Hilton to the Sabiah Airport by taxi should not exceed 55 Turkish liras.
Therefore before leaving, we asked the taxi driver parked outside if he would have been happy with 25Euros (63 Turkish liras)

Once received our luggage, however, the doorman went with it to the taxi driver, even before we had put together all our stuff.
Once we were sat in the taxi he said we had to pay 30Euros (75 liras).
To my great disappointment, we asked the reason and he said that the driver did not speak English and he had misunderstood.

We were already inside, so we decided not to complain- but I do regret the tip I had given the doormen, who obviously has his own agreement with the drivers.

Once at destination the cost of the taxi was 61liras (and we still paid 30 Euros!!)

HOUSE KEEPING SERVICE

The weakest point of this hotel.
In our fridge we found leftovers from the previous guests. There was hair in the toilet and the towels were folded like in a 2 stars hotel.
Saturday night there was a party on the bar on top, which made it difficult to sleep and most the items from the mini-bar had already expired.
We never received any turndown service on none of the 3 days of our staying.

We feedbacked this to the manager, who was very nice and attentive to our points, but still nothing was done to the room itself (writing paper still missing)


Overall a good hotel, but with disconnected department that give the guest a mixed feeling between a three stars and a five stars hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors get close to the rooftop bar, hence no sleep on party days.... Surrounding area a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

we have stayed at this Hotel 2 times in this year and both was such a pleasure. I have stayed at the other hilton properties in Istanbul but this one was the newewst , most modern and best one for me. very close to almost ferry-port and bus stations, ( only 150 m away) that makes the place very easy to reach everywhere. no need to worry about the traffic jam.

Breakfast is a bit poor but may be this is normal for doubletree properties.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppala007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
Hilton Istanbul Kozyatagi
Hilton Istanbul Kozyatagi
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#81 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#126 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Address: Caferaga Mah. Albay Faik Sozdener Cad. No: 31 | Kadikoy, Istanbul 34710, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Kadıköy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#67 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#78 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $95 - $225
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Istanbul - Moda is a contemporary hotel with a prime coastal location on the Marmara seashore in the cosmopolitan Moda - Kadikoy districts. Explore the Asian side of Istanbul, an area of traditional bazaars, tea gardens, Ottoman architecture, historic churches, and shopping. The modern tower features floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Old City Peninsula. If you are visiting Istanbul for business or vacation, enjoy proximity to the Kadikoy Ferry Docks, with continuous service to Istanbul's European side. Take the underground, just blocks from the hotel, for convenient access to the eastern parts of the Asian side. Experience the first Hilton Worldwide five-star hotel on the Asian side of the Bosphorus. You'll be greeted with our signature warm Chocolate Chip Cookie as you arrive in the sleek lobby. Convenience, elegance and adventure await you. Enjoy views of Bosphorus Strait and Old Town from our guest rooms and suites. Plan an event in one of twelve meeting rooms with views of the Bosphorus. Choose from a variety of dining options, from rooftop dining with Mediterranean specialties at 360 Istanbul East Restaurant Café & Bar to international favorites at The Doubles Restaurant. La Gazetta Café and Bar serves light meals, cocktails and spirits, wine, coffee and tea. Relax with a cocktail or cold drink at the rooftop pool and bar. Experience hammam, 'the traditional Turkish steam bath,' or indulge in a revitalizing treatment at the spa. Highlights • 245 rooms on 10 floors, consisting of 70 guest rooms, 101 deluxe rooms, 36 executive deluxe rooms, 10 corner rooms, 24 junior suites, 3 suites and 1 presidential suite, most of them has spectacular sea views with connecting, non-smoking and accessible rooms. • Free Wifi in rooms and public areas • Easy access to the European side by Marmaray Tube tunnel, walking distance to ferry port • In the heart of the Kadikoy district on the Asian coast of Istanbul • 30 minutes from Istanbul's airports • Near underground station to the Eastern parts of Istanbul • Rooftop pool and sparkling seasonal indoor pool and spa with Turkish hammam • Executive Lounge for executive rooms with complimentary breakfast, light snacks, hors d'oevres and beverages throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Moda Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing