We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Все на высшем уровне” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Empress Theodora Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Empress Theodora Hotel
Ranked #60 of 995 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Все на высшем уровне”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Really very good and beautiful Hotel in the City Center. Free WIFI in all rooms and in terrace, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff! Very Very Good breakfasts in terrace. Rooms are lightly, clean and in room you can find everything that you need. Also very convenient location. Ayasofya, Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Basilica Cistern arte in near of hotel. Two tram stops (Sultanahmet and Gulhane) are in 3-4 minute walk. I would like to say many thanks to all friendly and helpful staff of this hotel!!! Thank you very much dear friends !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raminmammadov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    66
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
69
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The location and service is the best!! TETH (The Empress Theodora Hotel) is in the heart of Sultanahmet (Old District) and a quick walk or tram-ride over to Taksim (New District). From the airport to this hotel, I can take the metro/tram for 4TL almost directly to this hotel's front door. When you're towing your luggage, you don't want to walk too far.

The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've enjoyed during my 3wks in Turkey. The chef and the wait staff (Ersin) took really good care of me when I decided to indulge in a slow breakfast. I invited Ersin to sit down and enjoy a cup of tea with me. We chatted about my experience in Turkey and how I would love to buy a carpet but didn’t trust all the carpet sales pitches to buy anything.

After breakfast, Ersin took me to The Carpet Cafe, just a few steps from the Hotel and introduced the owner, Hasan to me. Don't let his charming good looks fool you. Hasan is the real deal! His family has been in the carpet business for many generations. While looking at all the carpets, many happy return buyers from all over the world stopped by the shop. I know this is a hotel review, but it’s just an example of the level of service Ersin and TETH provided. Here’s another example…On my last day in Istanbul, I had to leave for the airport at 5am, missing the fab breakfast. When I checked out in the morning, I found out that Ersin had prepared a sandwich for me to take to the airport. As you can see, The Empress Theodora Hotel is truly one of the Turkish Delights of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from the main street/tram for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivaloca_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErsenOzdemir, Manager at The Empress Theodora Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Empress Theodora Hotel is the perfect hotel for someone who wants to explore the most interesting part of this enormous city, the old historic part of Istanbul. The distance from Agia Sofia, Blue Mosque, basilica Cistern is no more than 200 meters. A few meters from the hotel there is a tram stop. Using the tram you can easily be transported to other parts of the city and the new as they call it, city.
The hotel is probably an old house transformed in hotel and this fact creates a few problems. The reception hall is so poor that in first sight someone can be afraid of what is going to face next. But fortunately everything is ok. Also the rooms are very small but this is a problem in most of the hotels in this area, there is no elevator and the view is poor. The hotel is not recommended for old people because of the stairs.
The rooms are adequate but with very comfortable beds, very good bathroom and they are extremely clean. The staff of the hotel is doing a very good job keeping all the parts of the hotel extremely clean. All the employees speak good English, they are very polite and willing to help for everything.
Breakfast is perfect in quality and quantity. Breakfast hall is very nice, spacious and with a very beautiful view of an old mosque.
But the biggest advantage of this hotel is its location. Absolutely perfect!!!
I would recommend this hotel to friends mostly because of its location but only if they are young... If I ever visit again Istanbul Empress Theodora would be one of my choices for hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed five nights and found the position impossible to beat. Our room and bathroom were compact, but comfortable and clean. The staff were really friendly and helpful. An increadible selection for breakfast,. We enjoyed sitting on the roof terrace for breakfast and took coffee and drinks up there during the day/evening (strangely no-one else did). Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

First of all, the location of the hotel is really good and strategic for visiting both the old city and the modern areas. It is in Sultanahmet, next to Top Kapi Palace and at less than five minutes walk from S. Sophia, the Cistern Basilica and the Blue Mosque. The nearest tram stop is just 100 meters away from the hotel and you can easily reach Galata, Estiklal and Taksim from there - the areas for shopping, dining and evening walks and fun. It is also at a walking distance from the historic Orient Express train station Sirkeci, the Spice market and the Eminonu port, where you can take a cheap ferry-boat to the Asian side or go for a Bosforus cruise.
The staff of the hotel is very kind, helpful and efficient. All the receptionists speak English decently, so it is easy to communicate with them - a characteristic that is not easy to find in many other hotels of the same category in Istanbul.
The rooms were surprisingly clean for the standards of the city, no bad smell from the toilets. I'm not sure if it was because of the particular season (the hotel was not very busy in March), but we found clean and ironed towels every day, the floor and the other surfaces of the room accurately cleaned, and they also changed the sheets of the bed every day, without any special request. That surprised us very pleasantly, as we often go to Istanbul and stay in hotels of the same category, but in the other hotels they change your sheets only on explicit request.
But maybe the best part was the breakfast on the last floor, where a beautiful panoramic terrace offered a fantastic view..!!! That was not a simple breakfast but a real brunch...!!! The richest and freshest breakfast we ever had in Istanbul..., including both traditional Turkish and European specialities, most of them "home made" and served directly from their kitchen. The fresh "lochma" bread was simply fantastic, to be tasted with honey, jam or cheese! Special thanks and greetings to all the restaurant's staff: the cook Nigel, and the two extremely kind and helpful waiters Vural and Ersen!

The Empress Theodora hotel offers really good value for its cost. We will definitely turn back there again. Of course, it is not Four Seasons but only few negative points can be found there:

- There is no lift, so wach out how much luggage you bring with you! Fortunately, there are only two floors above the reception (excluding the terrace floor for the breakfast);
- No hall in the reception area, just a narrow entrance, but it was not essential for us;
- The rooms facing the street are small and noisy: in spite of the new shutters you can easily hear the noise of the traffic outside. And their curtains are not thick enough to prevent from the early morning light. If you have problems with sleeping, you should be aware of this. I can't sleep with noise and light, so we asked for another room. They gave us an internal one on the second day and it was much more silent and comfortable.
- Small wash basins in the toilet;
- The housekeeping lady was not very professional, she disturbed us the first afternoon, watching high volume TV programmes for two hours in one of the vacant rooms near the one where we staied, keeping all the time her door open. But we told the reception and it didn't happen again.

As a whole, our four days stay in that hotel was very positive, it definitely contributed a lot to our nice and pleasant break in Istanbul and we feel willing to recommend it also to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katerina70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#189 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Million Stone Hotel
The Million Stone Hotel
#310 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kervan Hotel
Kervan Hotel
#512 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
#138 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Sultanahmet
Merih 2 Hotel
Merih 2 Hotel
#950 of 1,106 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#188 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Theodora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Theodora Hotel

Property: The Empress Theodora Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mahallesi Alemdar Caddesi No:16 | Sultanahmet-Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 995 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $39 - $103
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Empress Theodora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your The Empress Theodora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing