We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good tourist hotel with wonderful breakfast buffet”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #9 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have just come back from 4 nights at the Sultania. It's location is perfect if you are a tourist, being in the heart of the old city. It is located on a pedestrian only road, so it is very much quieter than might be expected - we could sleep with the windows open with very little disturbance. The rooms were clean, not very large, but comfortable for two people, and we had a small balcony. The breakfast was wonderful and was the best buffet I have seen for ages. The staff are all very helpful, with most of them speaking very good English.

I would not hesitate to recommend it to others, or to go back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,835 - 1,839 of 2,983 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

The welcome and check in was excellent- offered a seat and a drink whilst our bags were taken to our room. We were right in the centre of things, easy walking distance to the main sights or to the tram. Excellent location surrounded by good restaurants. Rooms are themed around various Sultans or Sultanas and furnished in a beautiful contemporary style with an Eastern twist. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Good breakfast buffet and excellent service. We shall definitely seek this hotel out again when visiting Istanbul.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker there are rooms with balconies which you can smoke on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanLW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our first visit to Istambul and the staff provided very helpful information which enhanced our stay in this magic city

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Fay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

+ Beautiful infrastructure, very nice rooms
+ Perfect location close to all sights of old Istanbul (walking distance or tramway station "Gülhane")
+ Very nice and tasty breakfast buffet. IMPORTANT! Ask for fresh orange juice and fresh brewed cappuccino or latte macchiato
+ Very friendly and helpful staff members

- Deluxe room: too small washing area for ladies’ needs
- Breakfast room capacity
- SPA: I enjoyed many SPA treatments around the world but I’ve never experienced Hammam before. I booked the Ottoman Package and I was very surprised and a bit disappointed about having a MAN (Mehmet) doing the treatment to me, a WOMAN

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

They said we'd feel like a Sultan (or Sultans), and we did. This is a gem of a hotel right in the centre of things in the Sultanahmet district. Walking district of all the main sights, and with a great position on the tram route.
Rooms are beautifully furnished, well equipped and have especially comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with a superb array of home-baked breads and pastries.
Joining it all together were the wonderful staff; amongst the most friendly, helpful and efficient of any I've ever encountered. Altogether a most enjoyable experience. Thank you Sultania!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNeil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,176 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#25 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,349 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#8 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $97 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing