We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel in Sultanhamet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #13 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hasselt
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in Sultanhamet”
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

Very good, charming hotel on an ideal location. Very nice rooms, very friendly staff.
Close to Aya Sophia, Topkapi, Blue Mosk, Spice Bazaar, .... Numerous small restaurants in the close neighbourhood. I can recommend Sultania to everyone planning a city trip to Istanbul.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,479
    347
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
533
1,496
150
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

From the welcome to the send off, we were consistently met with professional and warm service. The rooms are small but are very clean and well-maintained. Small touches such as small trays of Turkish delight treats each night, the breakfast buffet was superb, and the guest services were gracious and helpful. We found their free wi fi internet to be spotty, but since we were on vacation, it was not critical for us, but it might be a problem if one really relied on the net.

Servers at breakfast were top-notch and on our last day a man who we had seen cleaning our room saw us waiting for our car, came over to us and with the warmest and most sincere smile, thanked us.

Sultania is located 5-10 minutes from the most popular sites and is about two minutes from the nearest tram stop so it's very convenient.

If I return to Istanbul, I would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the second floor and we only heard some furniture move above us once or twic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whats4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very friendly welcome to a luxurious room with good shower, kettle, minibar, lots of lights all in good order and working.
Fantastic range of food for breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fast free internet.
Good sauna, turkish bath, pool and gym.
Excellent location for the main sites within 10min walk, good restaurants close by and a wide range of shops and tram stop 3 mins away.
Sweets, dried and fresh fruit in lobby and often pastries from breakfast.
A hotel that is interested in first its guests and their needs and comfort before making every last penny from one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel is really amazing. The staff are so helpful and very friendly. From the moment I arrived they couldnt have been kinder and more accommodating. They gave me a lovely room an it was perfect. There were some sweet treats left in the room, I had coffee and tea facilities. The bathroom is small but more than adequate. In fact I slept like a baby! And I woke to the most wonderful breakfast. There was a great bustle around the place and a wonderful atmosphere.

I would highly recommend this hotel as it is so close to everything and a wonderful find. Dont forget to pack a swim suit as they have a turkish spa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingFoodie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed at the Sultania Hotel for 4 nights in the last week in March and I couldn't have hoped for a better experience.
The first and most brilliant aspect of the stay was that as soon as the reception realised that I had arrived alone and without my wife, I was told that I would only be charged for single occupancy, despite booking a double room with terrace (5th floor) and not even raising the issue. I must say that I remained suspicious until I was given the check-out bill. I was really stunned that a hotel would take such an initiative.
The hotel is unique in terms of the service, which was unfailingly top class across all aspects (over years of frequent visits to Istanbul, I doubt I have come across a better Breakfast buffet), the location which was close to transport hubs (Gulhane Metro is a few steps away) as well as main historical sites (Blue Mosque, Haige Sofia, Museum of Science and Tech in Islam, Topkapi Palace, Bosphorus, etc).
If there was a drawback, then it was the poor and intermittent Wi Fi connection in my room. Otherwise, top marks and huge thank you to everyone at the Sultania for making this visit one of the best ever to Istanbul.

Room Tip: I stayed in suite 1504 (with Terrace).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AOA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3,183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,914 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,938 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $92 - $159
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing