We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,205)
Filter reviews
3,205 results
Traveller rating
2,783
381
30
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,783
381
30
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive restaurant blue mosque old city rooftop restaurant topkapi palace turkish delight guest relations within walking distance spice market ottoman style tram stop turkey perfect location fantastic hotel breakfast buffet major attractions galata bridge
Filter
Updating list...
1,973 - 1,978 of 3,205 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I highly recommend this hotel....it was one of the highlights of my stay in Istanbul. The staff was very friendly and very helpful, the location is prime, the room is beautiful and the breakfast is memorable. Additionally, it is small and with a lot of character.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cintia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Excellent location in old town but have the address, with phone number and google map of hotel with you as taxis cannot get right outside and do not always know the side road. The taxi from the airport ( very easy and only circa TL50) had to phone. Hotel bus did not wait long enough as it took an hour to get through immigration etc. Staff are superb. Ask about using the tram at bottom of road and other trains as so much better then getting stuck in the traffic. Hotel was excellent in all respects. Breakfasts were very good and restaurant also good but do check out restaurant opposite to hotel entrance as best we found in Istanbul including the fish restaurants in Kumkapi and also down Nevizade Street (must see in the evenings).

ATM
Nothing to do with the hotel but be careful when using the ATMs in Istanbul especially near rail station. A stranger will help with the language, play a trick with your card and the stupid machines shown your pin numbers in large print on the screen for all to see - we got stung and are very cautious.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essexboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We spent a long weekend in Sultania and the experience was fantastic. It certainly made our trip!

The location is great. Although it is very close ( 2 minutes walk) to the main sightseeing area of the old town (AgyaSofia, Top Kapi), the hotel is located in a small and quiet street, so it doesn't get busy and loud. Also it is very convenient as it is next to a tram stop. So moving to other areas of the City is very easy. Having spent sometime in Taksim square (the other area of Istanbul full of hotels) I definitely prefer the old town location-wise.

The rooms are very cozy and very clean. The decoration successfully sets a Turkish / Ottoman scene and it is not too much. The hotel amenities include everything you would expect from a luxury boutique hotel (bathrobes, toiletries, wi-fi, etc) and there is not one thing I can think of that was not available.

Last but not least, the hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I contacted Hilmi at guest relations in advance, in order to book some restaurants. He was very helpful, his replies were fast and his suggestions were spot on. Having been to many hotels, I would easily rate top 5 the service of hotel Sultania.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The deluxe suite was beautifully decorated and clean. The staff was smiley, friendly, and eager to please. The buffet breakfast was full of fresh fruits and vegetables. The hotel was very close to the main museums and just steps away from the authentic dancing Dervish show. We had a great time and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybug20001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel is nicely located in old city of Istanbul. Further it is elegantly furnished with a touch of exotic Ottoman style. The staff are doing more than what you expect to keep your trip uneventful and to make you comfortable.
The price is reasonable for the comfort and atmosphere.
I stayed twice at this hotel and definitely I will keep top on my choice list on my next visit to Istanbul. In addition I will strongly recommend it for friends who are going there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews