We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend in Istanbul!”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend in Istanbul!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

As college students, this was a welcome break from dull and dirty hostels and it was well worth the extra money to stay at the Hotel Sultania! The staff was very friendly and helpful -- they were happy to point us in the direction of a number of tourist sites and they also booked us for the tours we were interested in taking of Istanbul. The location is great and it is super close to all the sites in historic Istanbul. The beds are to-die-for comfortable and they even have a pillow menu. The breakfast was delicious and had a huge variety -- try the traditional pistachio/sesame paste called Halva and the breakfast buffet had the most beautiful and giant strawberries I have ever seen! The food at Cafe Sultania was very delicious. We did not get to dine at the rooftop Olive Restaurant, but we popped up there to check out the views, which are exquisite. Definitely have dinner at the Olive Restaurant so that you can enjoy Istanbul all lit up at night. The staff at Hotel Sultania was also happy to recommend a number of yummy restaurants nearby. The spa/hammam at the Hotel Sultania is also great and relaxing-- it is smaller and more private than most of the spas/hammams in Istanbul and the staff is very helpful. There was also a great variety of people staying at the Hotel Sultania from families to young professionals. Overall the quality of the Hotel Sultania was superb and we would definitely visit Istanbul again and stay at the Hotel Sultania!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,534
    353
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
555
1,521
156
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baghdad, Iraq
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We spent four nights at the Hotel Sultania and all we can do is sing the praises of this wonderfully located hotel staffed by the most hospitable people. The hotel is ideally situated right in the heart of downtown Istanbul and so is accessible to all the sights and sounds of Istanbul. The rooms are all unique and the shower area is an intriguing use of the room.

We arrived late at night and were met at Sabhia Airport (a long way out of town) the reception staff could not do enough to welcome us. We were very happy to get into our very comfortable and well appointed room. I am not sure there is anything that they may have overlooked and we had the first of several good nights sleep in their canopied beds

The next morning and every morning subsequently there was a smorgasbord of breakfast delights available. There can be no fault and the staff here were equal to reception with nothing being too much.

Our memorable trip to Istanbul was only marred by the loss of a Kindle reader, however the lady manning the Guest Relations was more than able to assist in this and was able to locate it. Sadly it was back at the airport which meant another haul out there and back. There was a bit of a scam with the driver who wanted "parking" while we went inside to get the unit back when all he did was drive around the block.

Obviously in three days we were unable to see all that Istanbul had to offer however, again the Guest Relations were extremely helpful and informative about things going on in Istanbul and what is a must see and do.

In the end we were sad to be leaving Hotel Sultania and Istanbul, however knowing what we do now we will certainly be back and look forward to staying here again. This time we will eat at the Olive restaurant next door along with the New Hatenay, literally across the road.

When we told our family about our trip I found that my brother is planning another trip to Istanbul and will be staying at the Sultania, again!

Room Tip: Above 2nd of four floors - even though there is no traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

everyone was very helpful. yummy brunch. location was amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanarkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Came in March 2012 to attend the World Indoor Championships. The hotel didn't disappoint in any way. We booked a transfer to the hotel - no problem, guy was there for us. Check in - no problem, we took a seat at reception while we were checked in. Luggage taken to room for us - nothing was a problem. The Turkish Delight on arrival in our rooms was a lovely touch. The rooms are gorgeous, spotless, and the beds are exceedingly comfortable. don't like the pillow? No problem - they have a pillow menu!

For the next few days, anything we wanted booked, wanted advice about, wanted information on - everyone was there to help. All members of staff were invariably pleasant and helpful - something you don't get in chain hotels or indeed in most other countries i've been to. Staff at Sultania made you feel like you were the only guest in the hotel.

Breakfast is lovely, great options.

The spa is also highly recommended. I'm a massage addict and the massages I had were amazing. I'd go back to Istanbul for them alone!

A lot of the major sights are within walking distance. The location is spot on. There are loads of restaurants in the vicinty, you'll be spoiled for choice. I don't think it is possible to get a duff meal in Istanbul, so anywhere you go will be fabulous. The Olive restaurant above the hotel is fantastic.

There really are not enough adjectives in the dictionary to describe how fantastic Hotel Sultania is. I'm getting married later in the year and want to return to istanbul on my honeymoon - and I have no doubts about where I will stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellyaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Sultania for 7 nights in March, 2012. We found the hotel' location, staff, breakfast, and accommodations to be outstanding. From the front door of the hotel, the Spice Market is a 10 minute walk; the Hagia Sophia , Blue Mosque, and Topkapi Palace are a 5 minute walk; and the Grand Bazaar, Booksellers Market and Univeristy area are a 10 minute walk. The area felt extremely safe, even at night. The tram stops about 1 block from the hotel; my daughter and I used the tram to go to other areas of the city when we did not feel like walking any more. Hotel staff were courteous and most helpful with any request. Our room was on the small side, but adequate for two people with large suitcases. The decor added to the charm and ambiance of this hotel. Breakfast was sumptuous - the best hotel breakfast I've ever had, with a seemingly endless assortment of fresh fruit, vegetables, home-baked breads and pastries, eggs, meats, etc etc. All in all, it was a delightful place to stay, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annapolisgal526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,006 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,358 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,091 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#30 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $104 - $405
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing