We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of an apartment than a hotel”
Review of New Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Galata
Ranked #200 of 1,092 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2013

5oda has a great location, two blocks from Galata Tower and Iskele Caddesi ( lively, mile long pedestrian street) and the upper Tunel station( the short but extremely useful funicular that runs from near Galata bridge up the steep hill to Iskele. ). The rooms are large-- modern Scando appearance with built-in kitchenette , but the bathroom looks like an airplane facility complete with small stainless sink and surround- with the addition of a shower. Hardly space to turn around -- our other hotel rooms in Turkey ( including istanbul) had sizable bathrooms. There are huge windows but they look directly at other apartment buildings -- so for privacy, we kept our blinds drawn. The staff are very friendly and eager to be helpful-- but this is like an apartment in terms of their limited presence -- and not at all I the evening. This can be a problem -- though one can call the manager.
Finally, breakfast is adequate and they try to vary it each day, but it's still very limited compared to the buffets at other hotels we stayed and the only fresh fruit was apple slices , and none of the usual cut and whole fruits and tomatoes and cucumbers, etc.

Room Tip: Highest floor might be best , can hear footsteps--loudly-- overhead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank histonham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed at 5Oda in February and loved it!

PROS:

The location is just perfect in a quiet street next to Tünel and İstiklâl Caddesi.

The hotel is clean, cozy and it makes you feel at ease (in the hall you can find also plenty of info and guide books about Istanbul).

The 4th floor room is bright, wide, well furnished and well groomed with a lot of facilities (TV, radio- cd player, Internet Wi-Fi, safe and self-controlled heating).

The room has also a fully equipped built-in kitchenette that we didn’t use much but we definitely enjoyed the tea making facilities provided as well as the bottled water supplied daily in the fridge for free.

Breakfast is varied and delicious and it is served by the friendly hosts in the room.

As a plus the bed is really comfortable!!!

CONS (actually minor inconveniences, as I would definitely stay here again!):

If for any reason you need to have a quick breakfast and to go out early/fast in the morning, make sure to inform the hosts in advance and/or call asap in the morning as breakfast is served from 8 am on request by calling through the telephone provided. This method works pretty well but bear in mind that if another guest has asked for it right before you then you’ll have to wait up to 15-20 minutes. (If so, you would be informed by the hosts and waiting is definitely well worth because - as I already said - breakfast is delicious!).

If you are a light sleeper it may be a good idea to bring ear-plugs with you (just in case). For us it was not a big deal as we could sleep like logs but occasionally we could hear steps of upstairs neighbours. I must say that the area is really quiet (no car noises at all!) so it was only an occasional noise, especially in the morning (neighbours getting ready and impatient to discover Istanbul?!).

If you are a large bathroom lover, you could be a bit disappointed by the bathroom which is really tiny - washbasin, water closet and shower - but it has got it all (hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel, towels, towelling robes and slippers are provided!).

Knowing this, book it and then just fly to Istanbul!:-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TokyoBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at 5oda in April 2013 for three nights but with an early check-in and a late check-out it seemed much longer...

When I read the reviews and I can see the pluses and the minuses.
Mobility challenged, then give them a miss. Stairs into the property.
Claustrophobic, then give them a miss. Two person lift.
Bothered by people walking on your ceiling, then give them a miss. Rooms 1-4 have a room above them.
Bothered by cobbled stoned street, then give them a miss. Street noise from time to time.

This hotel is quirky and the location is away from the hussle and bussle of the old part of the city but just 80 metres from a major shopping strip with great shopping, bars and restaurants. The first taxi driver found it difficult to find and at one point he said "it down there" however we insisted on him dropping us at the door. For subsequent taxi rides we just said "Galata Tower" and walked from there.

Had no problem with the wifi.

Breakfast was great (served in the room), with freshly squeezed orange juice it would have been perfect. Appreciated the four free bottles of water each day.

Very, very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank picture_of_innocence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very close to galata tower but hard to find for the taxi driver. The owner is very helpful but not around all the time so if you want to check in at a different time then she has to make an extra trip. The room is big with kitchen so if you are a family who cooks it's good. We are on the top floor so no complaints about people stomping around and there is hardly much street noise. The room heats up in the afternoon so it was boiling hot and the air con took a while to cool it down but there are windows you can open at both ends to cool the room down. Internet is spotty. Breakfast is fantastic with it served to the room. Overall, good location, good size room but it is pricey for what it is. Granted we had an upgrade for our last hotel so it is not a fair comparison.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GChan156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

It was a true pleasure to stay at 50da. The staff is dedicated to answering any and all questions about a city that I for one was not all too familiar with. They are truly committed not only that your accommodations are acceptable and comfortable but that you thrive while on vacation and are able to take full advantage of all the Istanbul has to offer. Amazing breakfast is brought to your room every day. The rooms are all done tastefully and the beds were exceptionally comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#786 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
591 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,249 in Istanbul
548 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#455 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Galata

Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sok. No:16 Tunel, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $154 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small and unique hotel with 5 rooms. Our little lodge simply offer 5 large rooms located in the Galata district of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your New Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5oda Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing