We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Galata experience in Istanbul”
Review of New Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Galata
Ranked #194 of 1,113 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My wife and I were in Turkey for over 2 weeks and for various reason we spent most of our time in Istanbul staying at 3 different hotels. Given our time again we would have stayed at 5oda for all our time in Istanbul. But one note of caution: if you have mobility issues, this is not the place for you; otherwise a fantastic place to stay.

5oda was by far our best experience. We had a great room on the top floor that was accessible by way of a lift. The lift was tiny and could only manage 2 people at a time without baggage, but this was not an issue.

The room was larger that your standard hotel room with an extremely comfortable huge bed, suspect king, but may have been bigger. The rooms decor was a tad out there, but still very acceptable.

The bathroom was a bit small and not very well designed and as such not all that functional, but still quite acceptable.

Breakfast was served each morning and this was a treat. Standard treats every morning, but also something different every day that was also prepared on sight by the extremely friendly and helpful staff. There were no time pressure around having breakfast, all we had to do each morning was to advise a member of staff when we were ready and within 15 - 20 minutes we were tucking into a scrumptious start to the day.

Something I didn't glean from 5oda's website was how close it is to the subway, the funicular and the bottom end of the famous Istiklal Street. Simply turn left on exiting the hotel and a short, but fairly steep 300m walk, and there you are. There is even an old fashioned tram available to take you along Istiklal Street to Taksim Square.

To use any of the public transport in Istanbul, and this includes all trams, the subway and ferries there would seem to be 2 options. You can purchase tokens where one token allows a one way trip to the dead head of the particular form of transport you select. Each token costs 2 Turkish lire. Tokens are available by way of vending machines at all subway stations, most tram stops and at each end of the 2 funiculars that are available in Istanbul. Alternatively, and this was the method we used, you can purchase an Istanbulkart, this will cost 6 Turkish lire and can be loaded with Turkish lire (in much the same way as an OysterCard works in London) at the same locations that tokens can be purchased. Use of the Kart provides discounted travel and is far more convenient. As a couple we only purchased one card and this worked well.

Go right out of the hotel and then right again and then stroll down the narrow street passing a variety of shops and residential accommodation to Galata Tower. Here you will find a number of very friendly and good quality restaurants and take away food stores. Keep left after the Tower and for the more adventurous, you can make you way down to the Galata Bridge. From there the world is your oyster, but remember if you don't want to walk back up the hill, there is a funicular that will take you back up the top. Look for the "Tunel" signs not far from the fish market on the left before you cross the Bridge to the Spice Market.

I could go on about fabulous Istanbul, 5oda and Turkey generally but I am sure you will discover this for yourself.

One last word of caution: Beware the carpet sales man acting as an honorary tour guide and shoe shiners dropping "accidentally" polishing brushes, you will get bitten unless you are strong.

Room Tip: One floor has a balcony (I think it was the 4th) that would be handy if you smoke. We had the 5th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Muggsy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I spent 10 nights at 5 oda hotel in Istanbul in July 2011. Right from the booking we had an excellent experience - the owners were very quick to reply to our emails and answered accurately all the questions we had about the hotel itself and Istanbul in general.

We booked the meet and greet service and although our plane landed much later than expected, the car was waiting for us and took us to the hotel wihout any problems. We do recommend this service if you are first time in Istanbul.

The hotel itself is very charming, small but confortable. The elevator is small (only for 2 people) bt that only adds to the charm. We stayed in the red room (4th floor) - the only one with a balcony and we really enjoyed having the small balcony. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the sofa and chairs less so (a bit dated) but that didn't bother us a lot. There was lots of storage space in the room, the kitchen was well equipped (though no toaster or microwave but we managed). The bathroom is small but not too small, so no complaints there either.

The most amazing thing about the room was that it never got too hot so we almost didn't have to use the AC. It is a complete mystery how the room managed to stay cool in July when the temperature outside was 30+ (Celcius) but in any case we were very happy about that.

The hotel management and most of the staff were awesome - extremely helpful with information, recommendations, tips, etc. They never hesitated to even ring up some of their friends and ask for info we were after. The owners speak excellent English, so communication was not a problem. The cleaning guy didn't speak English but was extremely polite and helpful. Although the cleaning itself was not always impecable, this was quickly resolved every time we brought it to the attention of the hotel mangement.

The only thing that marred out experience a little was the girl that served breakfast and manned the reception. She had a bit of an attitude which was not acceptable to us. She would often sneer at our requests. She also got visibly pissed off when we asked her to do something while she was in the middle of smoking her cigarette. We understood she was not permanently on staff there, so hopefully future guests of the hotel will not have to endure her attitude.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. It is on a quiet street, walking distance from the metro, tram stations, the Galata tower, Galata bridge and Taksim square. We were after salsa dancing and the main salsa club in Istanbul (Romeo and Juliet) was a 10min walk from the hotel. Lots of eateries, small supermarkets and shopping are also within walking distance.

If we ever go back to Istanbul, we will defintiely stay at 5 oda again!

Room Tip: Room tip: the red room is the only one with a small balcony, so it if it available - go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LTVIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at 5 Oda for a week on our trip to Istanbul. We got in a bit late, but the guy that welcomed us was very freindly, and spent a lot of time helping us figure out what to see, what to do, where to eat, marking notable sights, restaurants, galleries etc on a map and helping us figure out how to get there. The room was more of a studio apartment/suite, and was very nice, very clean, and had very cool design.

All the folks that worked here went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. My one complaint was that I probably gained 5 pounds eating the feast they wheeled up every morning for breakfast, which was different everyday.

Location-wise, the Tunel tram/funicular stations were jsut a step away, as were the main drag of Istiklal street. We just bought a IstanbulKart from the Tunel station and then used the tram, Metro and ferries to get everywhere, including the historical sights 5Oda was very well located for this. Tons of amazing eats, from white-table cloth to food stands, less than 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AselaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel is actually set up like an apartment, with a kitchenette (fully stocked with cooking supplies and french press coffee, of all things) and dining area. The staff is only on site part of the day, but provide reach numbers for any problem. The room is huge with large, exceptionally comfortable bed, and sitting area, in addition to the dining table. Flat screen tv, dvd player, ipod connector, free water and sodas in the refrigerator. As mentioned before, a very bountiful and delicious breakfast is delivered to your room.

It should be noted specifically that the hotel is located in the more modern area of Istanbul, across the bridge from the main tourist area with the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. If you want to be close to those sites, then you would not want to stay here. However, you can easily reach the main tourist area via tram, or a fairly long walk down to and across the bridge.

The area that 5Oda is located near, Istiklal Street, is a long, wide pedestrian street, with a modern mall, lots of restaurants and other shops, including Starbucks, and is mainly full of Istanbul residents rather than tourists. We chose to stay in this area one night, then moved later to the main tourist district, and found that our experience and appreciation of Istanbul, as a city, was much enhanced.

One of the reviewers below mentions a disagreeable staff member which I can only assume must have been some sort of temporary help in the absence of the owners. We found the owner, Sennur, to be most helpful and pleasant, providing us with lots of help and guidance on what to do and where to go. We were permitted to check in early, and coffee and cookies where brought up to us--a wonderful pick-me up after our long international flight; and we were able to keep our room until late afternoon on our check-out day.

Our room was on the first floor, which, because the hotel is on a steep hill, is located immediately adjacent to the sidewalk and street. We were not bothered by street noise because the street is very short and one-way and does not have very much traffic, but the rooms higher up would be quieter.

It is, indeed, hard for cabs to find the hotel, which is located amidst very narrow, one-way streets. The hotel does provide detailed instructions which should be provided to your cab driver, or you can avail yourself of their own pick-up service.

Room Tip: Higher might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Trip in Istanbul was my wife's present for my birthday. She wished that everything to be perfect, especially the accommodation. And it was... everything was perfect especially the accommodations in 5oda Hotel. Very central close to the best area in the city, very clean and a large and well equipped room ( except the bath room which is small but it didn't bother me ). But more than everything I want to mention the people there, especially the two sisters Sennur and Gulten who manage the place and also the owner Kazim. They were great, very kind and helpful. We recommend also breakfast and airport transfer. We're planning to come back in Istanbul and of course in 5oda next year with family and friends. The last but not the least, we do the same business in Bucharest ( we manage over 20 apartments and over 1500 clients / year ) and we learned some good things from 5oda that helped us to improve our services. When you travel in a foreign country you can expect that some kinds of problems to occur but if there are local people ready to help you then you can be relaxed and you can really enjoy.
Robert, Rainbow Accommodations

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#841 of 1,175 in Istanbul
628 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#19 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#85 of 1,175 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,175 in Istanbul
662 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Galata

Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sok. No:16 Tunel, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $157 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small and unique hotel with 5 rooms. Our little lodge simply offer 5 large rooms located in the Galata district of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your New Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5oda Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing