We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stellar location, trendy hotel”
Review of New Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Galata
Ranked #198 of 1,101 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Tucked on a (relatively) quiet side street of the hopping district of lower Beoglu is 5oda. Each room is spacious and decorated with trendy and modern furniture, the space is ingeniously laid out to be open and yet functional, the rooms are really more like studio apartments than hotel rooms. The breakfast was substantial and quite good, a really nice way to start your day. The location couldn't be better, poised at the top of the Tunel which takes you down to the Galata Bridge where you can hop the tramway into Sultanahmet, you really get a sense that you're in a modern and vibrant city while still having easy access to all the tourist attractions and history your heart desires. Our hostess, Sennur, was very welcoming and full of good suggestions. My only complaint, and it is a very minor one, is that the housekeeping could have been a little better. Some days, we would come home and everything would be ordered and tidied but other days it looked a little like my boyfriend tried to clean the bedroom, if you know what I mean.

All in all: good hotel, good value, great location, fabulous owners. For those who are really nit picky, it is a little rough around the edges in the housekeeping department, but that small flaw is very minor when held up to all of this hotels redeeming qualities. If you're young and want to experience all that istanbul has to offer, this is hands down the place to be!

Room Tip: the higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gentlewoman-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

This is a narrow townhouse tucked behind the thriving nightlife (think Rome, and little outdoor cafes) of lower Beyoglu. We were met by Sennur and immediately oriented to some of the best restaurants, art venues and sights in the area. For a first time visitor to meet a savvy, helpful insider was invaluable. Thank you, Sennur!

5Oda (It means 5 rooms in Turkish) consists of 5 rooms stacked on top of each other, and outfitted with first class beds, linens and mattresses (best we had on a 2 week vacation). While the bathrooms are small, the space is cool and well designed. We found the room quiet (certainly no construction now) and a haven.

The old city is a short train ride or 40 minute walk away for sightseeing. It is also one of the few areas in Turkey where it's hard to find good food. I highly recommend 5Oda as the ideal base.
Oh. I almost forgot the most charming part. When you are ready for breakfast, you ring up, and in 15 mintues, a divine spread (simit, hot eggs, several kinds of cheeses, olives, halveh, juices, fresh fruit, honey and several jams and fresh breads) is brought to your room and arrayed on your dining table. Yum!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JammyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We can't say enough wonderful things about 5oda. We stayed here for a week over christmas, it has a brilliant location, in the area where all the nightlife and restaurants are.. but is still in a quiet street so it's not too noisy to get to sleep at night. Kazim and crew were incredible, the staff couldn't do enough for you - Thank you! Food was excellent and rooms were amazing.. what more can I say?!

Would recommend this place to all my friends.. we definitely hope to be back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pkombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

perfect location!!! lovely rooms, very very friendly and helpful staff - they helped with our sightseeing and booking cabs, restaurant recommendations and directions.

it's right by that pedestrian street with all the cafes and restaurants so lots of places to eat and drink. Also near the tram and the funicular so you can get around easily. you can even walk to the spice market and the grand bazaar we did and only took about 40mins. the area just below the hotel (come out the door and go right was very trendy with little boutiques and coffee shops.) could not ask for a better location.

you have everything you need in the room wifi, tv with english channels, VERY comfy bed, even a kitchenette! and a safe. Breakfast was lovely a mixture of cheese, bread, cake, yogurt, fruit and juice and coffee. at night the staff go home and you let yourself in and out but quite liked it was like having our own flat and they were only a phone call away if there was a problem.

was very please with our choice would recommend to friends and will stay here again if i return to istanbul.

Room Tip: ask for the 5th floor room its more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Can't say enough good things about our experience at the 5oda in Istanbul. It is very well located, the staff/owners are incredible, the rooms are modern/chic/simple/super well-equipped (kitchenette in the room!), etc. Staying here definitely made our Istanbul experience even better than it would have been otherwise, and when we (a group of girlfriends) return, we will stay here again. A note on the staff/owners: they arrive super early, make a delicious/extensive breakfast, then are usually able to accomodate ppl who sleep a bit later than breakfast time -- this flexibility was really appreciated, and in general, we loved their warmth and genuine friendliness towards us. They make the 5oda shine (thank you to them for this).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#837 of 1,171 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,823 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,171 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,171 in Istanbul
3,154 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#13 of 1,257 in Istanbul
551 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,171 in Istanbul
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Galata

Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sok. No:16 Tunel, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 1,101 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $154 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small and unique hotel with 5 rooms. Our little lodge simply offer 5 large rooms located in the Galata district of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your New Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5oda Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing