We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ottoman Style Hideway”
Review of Erten Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Erten Konak
Ranked #283 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ottoman Style Hideway”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I booked my reservation at this hotel before I read the negative reviews and I'm glad I did. True, the walls in this renovated Ottoman-era building are thin and if you stay in a Garden room you may experience more noise than in a room on the upper floors. But, my experience, overall, did not match the experiences of some disgruntled guests. The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure all my needs were met, including making several phone calls for me to confirm appointments with a Turkish speaking dance teacher. The Turkish-style breakfast was more than adequate. The yogurt was especially delicious as was the fresh bread that was replenished every morning. My room was considerably larger than other rooms I have had in similarly located and priced Sultaniment area hotels and was well maintained by the housekeeping staff. One oddity was the space age shower that was really small and could have used an instruction manual. This hotel is in easy walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the tramway that will take you to the Grand Bazaar or across the Golden Horn to Taxim Square, Galata Tower and other sights. There are numerous restaurants just around the corner from the hotel. I felt no qualms in walking to and from the hotel after dark. My major complaint is that I booked my room through Booking.com and the price I paid 6 weeks in advance was double what I could have gotten the same room for had I waited until just a few days before my trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysticdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    96
    36
    9
    16
See reviews for
34
152
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The plusses:
The hotel has a very central location
The rooms are lovely furnished and clean
The staff was/ tried to be friendly but their English was very poor
The negatives:
The rooms are small, have very creaky floors and ours had a smelly bathroom.
Breakfast was poor (milk and cheese had gone bad on 2 occasions) en there wasn't much choice.
I would not recommend having lunch or dinner in the hotel either(we had a free voucher, but it was the worst meal we had during our entire stay)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Four nights of making love as quietly as possible! The walls and floors are thin in this beautiful, well-maintained hotel tucked behind the Blue Mosque. It is cute and charming, with unique Turkish flavor. There are many similarly unique small hotels in the area. This one is a block or two farther behind the Blue Mosque, a little farther from the restaurants, and definitely cheaper but still delivers high value.

The breakfast buffet showed signs of the food being put out a few too many days in a row.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhaines94108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Service was superb!! Hotels’ staff was extremely helpful at any time.
The hotel itself was a wonderful experience! Small but beautifully decorated rooms, ottoman furniture and a sense of Ottoman Empire’s best at all spaces.
Best value for money hotel I have ever visited in Istanbul
Extra tip: it is indeed also very romantic…

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaViDouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Erten Konak hotel in Istanbul. We have quite mixed feelings about the hotel, as there are some really good points, but also some bad points about it. On the positive side, the hotel provided a great pick up service and is a fantastic location for seeing all the main sights. The hotel is decorated beautifully and the price includes an average buffet breakfast.
On the negative side the room we were initially given was tiny and quite tatty. There was no room to leave our cases and there was no room to walk around, as the bed took up 90% of the floor space. At the price we paid for the room and the way the rooms were described on the website we were really disappointed. Also the room was really warm and stuffy. We were willing to put up with the size of the room, but were unable to put up with the heat in the room (air conditioning wasn’t working). We therefore asked to be moved to a different room, which we were eventually able to after two days. The new room was larger, but had an unbearably disgusting smell of drains in the bathroom.
At this point we didn't dare to complain again, so we just put up with it. We were not really made to feel welcome and felt uncomfortable when for asking for anything.
We booked this hotel as a treat and feel that we could have got a better hotel for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#330 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#112 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reyyan Hotel
#264 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#272 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#131 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erten Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erten Konak

Property: Erten Konak
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Degirmeni Sk. 8-10 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#229 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#231 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $35 - $673
Hotel Class:4 star — Erten Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erten konak is in istanbul historical peninsula, in sultanahmet akbiyik avenue and on the roman and byzantine wall towers. It is a wooden esidence having split aubergine model, composed of 2 houses. Constructed at the beginning of the 20th century, and registered as 2nd class historical building under protection and composed of main residence building and 1 house with identity of sultanahmet erten konak rooms are decorated with antique articles and objects subject to the cencept, which reflects ottoman and turkish life style in the best manner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Erten Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erten Konak Istanbul
Erten Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing