We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Ranked #24 of 1,199 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Safe”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

First thing to point out is that the location is superb, if you plan on visiting any of the top tourist sites they are literally around the corner. The Sultanahment area is very touristy, maybe too touristy for some people. The Beyoglu area might be better suited to some backpackers. Back to the hostel, the room was cleaned everyday and it seemed like the sheets were new too. Sadly the hostel's bar and restaurant were always empty, except for free breakfast, this could of been due to the low season or perhaps that the hostel was more expensive than the tourist traps around the corner, never the less, if you are looking for an easy convenient place to stay this is a safe bet!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toro987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    149
    48
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
77
87
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Okay, really, this is a decent place - superb view from the roof, super close to the big tourist sites, friendly staff and clean rooms and facilities (even if they're a little dated - it's not 'antique', it's 'dated'). But I kept wishing I had chosen something else with just a little more oomph.

I think what put me off is that I realized if I had decided I wanted to pay just a little more for my stay, I could have had a place twice as good. But I had the luxury of travelling in a couple so we could split the price of a double room somewhere.

We stayed here just before we left Turkey, so we had already visited the tourist sites - and, also, we knew when we had first stepped into Sultanahmet that it was NOT our thing. Really, there's no point in staying close to the Blue Mosque, etc. The area oozes tourist vibes. There's nothing there to do at night but go to an expensive restaurant or make the trip up to where you should have stayed - somewhere off of Istiklal Caddesi!

My suggestion is do NOT stay in Sultanahmet - it's not worth being bored and you'll kick yourself for now staying in another neighbourhood where you could be surrounded by LIFE and ENERGY and be close to places where Turkish people actually hang out. And if you're north of Galata Tower, you're only a short walk down to the bazaars and you can take the tram to Sultanahmet.

Also, I'm confused about their designation - it seems they put themselves forward as a hostel in addition to a guesthouse because they have some dorm rooms, but I wonder if that's also a way to get more exposure and to stand out from the many guesthouses and hotels in the area.

Room Tip: I hear they have basement rooms...ugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amers357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I had the chance to try some other nearby but big difference , this location was excellent close to everything but far from the busy night life street , friendly staff and very nice terrace for internet use , very clean.

Room Tip: not many room i stayed in a 6 bed dorm , spacious and silent in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights in the 4 bedroom on the first floor. We found it clean, quiet and comforable. Afterall, we only needed a place to lay our heads after walking all over Intanbul. We did a walking tour with Mo, one of the guys who works at the hostel. Super affordable and we covered a lot of ground. Thanks Mo! The breakfast was fine...about what it seemed most breakfasts consist of. Also great that it's open 24 hrs just in case. We needed to leave for the airport at 5am and they called a taxi for us which showed up in about 3 minutes. And best of all-no late drunk roommates!

Room Tip: More beds the more of a chance you'll have snorers in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kscott07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Antique Hostel very much. The staff was very friendly and helpfull and made us feel welcome (thanks again Mo!). Our room on the first floor was basic but clean and quiet - the sheets got changed every day.
The location is perfect if you plan to see the historic center of Istanbul. All sights can be reached easily an foot.

So if you want to have a home away from home in Istanbul this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#585 of 1,140 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#17 of 1,199 in Istanbul
533 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#13 of 1,199 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nobel Hostel
Nobel Hostel
#21 of 1,199 in Istanbul
226 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,199 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,199 in Istanbul
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Hostel - Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Hostel - Guest House

Property: Antique Hostel - Guest House
Address: Kutlugun Str. No:51 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,199 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $19 - $44
Hotel Class:2 star — Antique Hostel - Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique Hostel Istanbul is located in the heart of Sultanahmet in the Old City. We are only a few minutes away from the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern, Turkish Baths, Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul. Antique Hostel Sultanahmet provide cheap accomadation (Bed and Breakfast B&B) in old town Istanbul Turkey.. We offer budget accommodation for backpacker travelers with maximum service. The prices are from 13 euro per night. You will not find anywhere in Istanbul better option than this, with such a low prices. We have great last minute deals for you with online booking as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antique Hostel - Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antique Hostel - Guest House Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing