We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best of the Old Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamp Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamp Hotel
Ranked #530 of 1,106 Hotels in Istanbul
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best of the Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Amazing two week stay at this wonderful hotel. Mehmet is a marvelous owner and beyond helpful. The hotel is 3-5 minute walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia as well as 7 mins from the tram line, which open up the whole city to you. I recommend you book directly from the hotel not through a travel website (www.lampguesthouse.com). It is located on a street with many touristy restaurants but at an end of it where you will never hear the late night festivities which can go till three in the morning. Being directly behind the Blue mosque you will hear all the calls to prayer which are beautiful. The rooms are basic and very clean. Only issue i had was the blanket was a little thin and it was cold while i was there(Oct13-27) but i had brought my own warmer one just in case, granted i live in southern california so i am spoiled with the weather. Mehmet is extremely helpful with any booking you need to do or advise about where to go or really anything. He knows everyone and helped us many times by calling up friends and walking with us a fair distance just to make sure everything went well and like others have said he has great sense of humor. We made the mistake of a booking a trip to Capadoccia from a travel agency close to the hotel and we greatly regretted it, you may save money but i wish we had gone through Mehmet and had a much better experience with a trustworthy agency. I would highly recommend this and am definitely staying there when i go back. Bottom line is great price for a great hotel in a great area with great people.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunsetGOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    50
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
84
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergville, KZN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We recently spent 4 days at the Lamp Guesthouse. This is a quaint, well situated place to stay in Istanbul. The owner Mehmet and his staff pulled out all the stops to assist in making our stay very memorable. The accomodation is clean, and well situated to access all great tourist attractions in the city. Do not forget to try the wonderful local food prepared at the Istanblue restaurant right next door. We will visit Mehmet again when visiting Turkey on our next trip. Davies and Prins famlies - Bergville, Kwazulu-Natal South Africa

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Its so nice plays to stay. Bec near every where and good location.like a feel home. Owner is so kind and funny. If have fun in istanbul stay lamp guest house. Clean good breakfast! Yummy

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is a charming guest house with loads of character and situated in the heart of Sultanahmet. A very vibey area, so close to everything, so pack in your walking shoes. Had a wonderful stay both in 2008 and 2011. The guest house owner, Mehmet is very charismatic, has a great sense of humour and is always helpful with recommending good food, places to visit and organising pick up services when required. A big thumbs up for making my stay in Istanbul pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazli62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the Lamp Guesthouse for 4 days while we were in Istanbul.
The owner and his staff was excelent in helping us have a great time in the city
they showed us all the best places to shop,eat and visit
The owner even took us to his local dining place as well as taking us to a real Turkish Bath!
(good sport-lol)
the rooms were very nice and the hospitality was top class!!!!
i would also recommend visitors to eat at the restuarant right next to the Lamphouse,the best food and tea in Istanbul(thanks to Natasha also our Ausie friend for the great service there)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#472 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#299 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#537 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Nobel Hotel
Best Nobel Hotel
#656 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#867 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Sultanahmet
No photo provided
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
#320 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Hotel

Property: Lamp Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad.No.66, Cankurtaran | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #530 of 1,106 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $29 - $65
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Hotel was established in 2010 has the task of providing the best service to our customers. The hotel was decorated with private wooden furniture accordance with Historical the tissue in 7 rooms. Our rooms have wi-fi, TV,save box,and minibar. Some of our rooms have a view of SultanAhmet mosque. Sultanahmet Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Gulhane Park are 4 minutes’ walk away.We invite to you experience the privileges of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Lamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing