We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stand up to the hype”
Review of Upali's

Upali's
Ranked #51 of 671 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 15
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Upali's with its array of dishes with the best Sri Lankan flavours offers you a truly homely and unique culinary experience. Our signature dishes are mouthwateringly delicious, and the rest of the dishes and desserts on the menu will keep you coming back for more. Our menu is incomparably rich vis-a-vis taste and quality and we pride ourselves on exclusively serving traditional Sri Lankan fare. Located in the heart of Colombo, Upali's affords breathtaking views of tranquil Viharamahadevi Park, the majestic Nelum Pokuna Theatre and the iconic Town Hall. We also serve locally brewed coffee, favourite local snacks and pastries at the Coffee Shop which is located just a few steps away from the main restaurant. In the midst of the hustle and bustle of Colombo life, Upali's offers you the perfect escape from the daily routine and satisfies your taste buds. The interior adorned with alluring local paintings and old photographs of Ceylon add a touch of artistic sophistication. As you sit down for a hearty meal you can revel in the elegance and charm we have created for you, complete with autographed memorabilia by cricketers and other celebrities that have dined with us. The garden ambiance, a hallmark at Upali's, complements the view of the park right outside. We have specially designed areas upstairs to host events ranging from birthday parties to company meetings and reunions. Our function room which is situated on the top floor of the Coffee Shop can accommodate up to 85 pax for a seated event and up to 100 pax standing, is available to hire for private events. Free WIFI access and other amenities are at your disposal to ensure your visit to Upali's is a pleasant one. The temptingly delicious meals at Upali's will redefine your food indulgence. We look forward to having you over soon!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Recommended by our guide of the walking tour as being delicious and authentic. We were pleased to see many Sri Lankan items on the menu but less pleased with the actual food. I had a vegetarian curry and it had so many large chunks of lemongrass I couldn't finish. My friend was also under wowed by her plate. After visiting many other restaurants with Sri Lankan food across the country, Upali's didn't measure up.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank biresonvalois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desh D, Manager at Upali's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear biresonvalois,

Thank you for your feedback. As your guide mentioned, we are an authentic Sri Lankan restaurant. You've noted that you saw "many Sri Lankan items" on our menu, we'd like to add that we ONLY have Sri Lankan items on our menu as that is our focus and always has been.

As such, we know our cuisine inside out and while it's disheartening to hear that it didn't match up to your standards, we can only apologise that it wasn't to your taste as it continues to please hundreds of visitors- both local and foreign- every day. Our vegetarian curries do not have lemongrass (let alone "large chunks") in them, so we'd like to know which curry in particular you're referring to.

You are entitled to your own opinion and we appreciate you taking the time to review us. All the best!

Team Upali's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Located right near the national museum, the Viharamahadevi park & the stadium Upali’s is well located. It’s great value. For a lunch special it was only 390 rupees for a rice and veggie curry selection. It certainly didn’t disappoint. I am looking forward to going back.

Thank Kika040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desh D, Manager at Upali's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Kika040,

We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself at Upali's and hope you'll be back soon to try out the rest of the menu!

Best,

Team Upali's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had our last dinner in Sri Lanka over here. It was nice place with good ambience and had a lot of sri lanka delicacies on their menu. We went with the typical prawn curry meal which was good, but not the best curry we have had in Sri Lanka. The batter fried prawns and cheese hoppers were quite good. Their Belgian chocolate icecream was really nice.
Also they don't serve alcohol.

All in all it was nice meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vrndarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desh D, Manager at Upali's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear vrndarora,

We are glad you liked the food and ambience at Upali’s.

Sorry the prawn curry wasn’t to your taste, but it’s actually one of our best selling dishes. Which one did you have? We offer a choice between Isso Sudata Uyala (fresh lagoon prawns cooked in coconut milk and turmeric in a white sauce) and Meegamuwe Isso Kaluwata Uyala (Negombo prawns cooked in a black curry sauce, served with a choice of steamed rice or roast paan and coconut sambol.) Perhaps you would have liked the other one better? We have many more dry prawn dishes on the menu as well, which you can try out next time you visit :)

We don’t serve alcohol, but we operate on a BYOB basis and we don’t charge corkage (for future reference).

So pleased you visited us and hope you’ll be back to see us!

Best,

Team Upali’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Uplali's is one of our favorite places for dinner. We love Sri Lankan food and away from the five star hotels, this is the best place to take friends from abroad or just to go have a meal. So far we have never left disappointed

On our request we get our food extra spicy

The Manager here is very helpful and polite

Make reservations as it is usually full

Thank Brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desh D, Manager at Upali's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Brian K,

Thanks very much for your glowing review! We are so pleased you keep coming back to Upali’s and hope that doesn’t change. See you again soon!

Best,

Team Upali’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Very good local food with an extensive choice menu. Prices are reasonable and clientele is a mix of local and foreign. Recommended.

Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desh D, Manager at Upali's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Jose A,

Thanks very much for your kind words about Upali’s! We are so glad you enjoyed the food and hope you’ll be back again soon!

Best,

Team Upali’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upali's also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Upali's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing