We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
CheapTickets
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
217
209
59
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
217
209
59
18
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after flying in from London to Colombo airport. We arranged an airport transfer ahead of arriving and received detailed directions of where to meet our driver on arrival.

The hotel itself is less than five minutes walk from Colombo Fort Train Station which was one of our primary reasons for choosing to stay here, along with the good price (Colombo seems a very overpriced place to stay!).

The hotel itself is small but very clean and also had a shared kitchen. The staff are extremely helpful and attentive - always smiling!

The room we stayed in was clean and had air conditioning and a good, small bathroom. The pillows were good as were the bedding for a low cost hotel.

We didn't have a chance to explore much because we were in Colombo for less than 24 hours but it seemed to be well located for exploring.

Overall, a good stay.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank S_England19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Hi Sonia

Thank you very much for your review.

As you have mentioned, we are small, but we try to make sure that we provide all the basics in order to make sure people are happy, safe and comfortable.

We put a lot of thought into our new pillows and bedding :), making sure all our guests have a good night sleep, glad to know its paying off :)

Enjoy the rest of your time here, and please feel free to come back whenever you wish, you are always welcome here :)

Cheers

Eshan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel was near the train station which is the main reason we stayed here as we were heading straight to Polonnaruwa the next day! Staff were very friendly and the room was exactly what I paid for! Wifi was slow but other than that a nice place to stay!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

G'day Nick R
Thank you for the review and I am to know that you were happy with your decision to stay with us.

Very sorry about the WiFi being slow as the provider has some maintenance going on during that week.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Cheers

Eshan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Basic yes, functional yes, air con yes, fan yes, en suite yes. Everything you need for a perfectly acceptable stay and the location is excellent. We chose it as had an early 6am train to catch so less than 5 mins from station. Head to the old Dutch hospital in 10 mins for bars and food. Nothing exceptional but absolutely no complaints at all

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank cjesson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Hi cjesson01

Cheers for the informative review.

Glad that you enjoyed the service and the product.
We wish to provide all the basic travel facilities and a clean product in order for travelers to enjoy what is needed.

Happy Travels

Eshan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This hotel is basic but clean and in a great location for the main COlombo sights. The staff were extremely helpful and give us lots of advise from what to see to how much things such as tuk tuks should cost to difference locations.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Hey Nick C

Thank you for the lovely review mate, was really nice having you stay with us and we are super glad that you enjoyed.

We wish all the best in your future endeavors and hope to see you again soon.

Happy Travels and Blessings from City Beds

Cheers

Eshan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Our first stop whilst travelling across Sri Lanka. The hotel is in a good location and not too long a walk from the bus station and train station. The staff were exceptional and very friendly throughout. The room was good and clean. It was quite expensive compared to the rest of Sri Lanka but this is Colombo.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Hi Alex

Thank you for the review my friend.

Glad you guys enjoyed staying with us and it a pleasure to have met you and helped you out.

Enjoy the rest of your holiday buddy.

Cheers

Eshan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews