We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FindHotel
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
36
86
80
37
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
86
80
37
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews galle road sri lankan food pleasant stay indian wedding supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

We stayed here ond night as our tour was departing from this location. Our room was old, dirty and smelt bad. The bathroom was disgusting and it looked like shower hadn't been cleaned for years. The room itself smelt mouldy and we couldn't use the aircon due to smell it was giving off. Who knows when it was last serviced. Our shower would only provide scalding hot water which actually burnt my hand. The maintenance people came and it took them nearly an hour to sort it out. I asked at reception to change rooms but they were unwilling to allow this. They were also very rude and didn't care. The maintenance people left dirty footprints in our bathroom and on the floor mat so I had to ask them to provide clean ones. The restaurant was Ok. They serve Chinese and Indian food not Sri Lankan which was disappointing although the restaurant staff were very nice and the breakfast was good. The hotel is not in a great location. So all in all I would not recommend staying here.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank suzirosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020


Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your lengthy review and elaborated on most areas. We are really concerned about the negative comments with regard to the Maintenance Staff and the Reception Staff. We have already started digging into your issue and shall contact you personally, if necessary.

The only worry we have is why wasn’t this brought to the notice of the management prior to your departure.

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

Although rooms are of decent size the decor and everything inside is old, stale and somewhat dirty. Dull flooring and inadequate lighting in the room provided a very claustrophobic feeling. I am glad we spent only a few hours in evening and had only 1 night stay. The saving grace was the food in the restaurant that had a set menu and was excellent for evening dinner and breakfast and would like to thank the staff for the food service.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Hulem547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

The rooms and bathrooms are below average and the hotel needs renovation. Rooms have peculiar smell and have no balcony. The staff is not friendly and lacks hospitality. We asked manager for packing our breakfast, as we had flight at early morning and he gave an offended look.The dinner served does not meets the international standard and is not served in same style as depicted in photographs. Not recommended at all.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 323divyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are planning to go ahead for a refurbishment in this year.

The grey areas and food issues will be looked into accordingly. We will go through in detail of your comments and get action as soon as possible. Anyhow, thank you once again for highlighting such issues which is for the betterment of the hotel.

Longing to see you!

Yours sincerely,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

It's my cousin daughter wedding very nice place for small function around 250 guests. The service standard is improved a lot after the new management. The food was delicious and quality. The service is superb. I would recommend this place.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 669nizamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, The Banquet Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2019

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your positive comments and we are certain this comments will encourage us to serve other customers better. We are longing to see you once again and serve you better.

Sincerely yours,

The Banquet Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

Room flooring, switches, AC and bathroom fittings are quite old. Direction of AC could not be set. Room needs lot of modernization. No balcony and no good view from window. Decent one, but definitely didn't feel like 3 star hotel. Buffet breakfast was good though.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 689prashanthm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2019

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your positive and negative comments. Negative areas will be looked into accordingly. We have already made arrangements to rectify the maintenance issues and will be looked at very seriously to minimize such issues to zero level.

We wish to see you once again at our hotel premises.

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews