We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 206
USD 170
Cinnamon Grand
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 231
USD 180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 132
USD 107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 164
USD 147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 176
USD 150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 205
USD 195
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clock Inn Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
USD 55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 115
USD 85
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 129
USD 107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,542)
Filter reviews
3,542 results
Traveller rating
1,668
1,152
414
178
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,668
1,152
414
178
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalle facesea spraycolonial hotelold world charmold wingsri lankaindian oceanwooden floorsoverlooking the oceanjunior suitecolonial stylepool barwatching the sunsetsea frontbreakfast buffethigh teaunder renovation
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 3,542 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stayed here for one night before heading off on our tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very good. The pool area and bar are as well. Dinner and breakfast were very good as well. We didn't have time to explore the hotel which was shame but would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kathmccowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you ever so much for taking the timeout to review your recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We have been traveling around Sri Lanka for a week and after a 3 hour car ride from Galle, falling into Galle Face Hotel was perfect. We arrived prior to our check-in time and they made the effort to get our room ready so we could put our bags down. The Traveller's Bar has fantastic drinks and the food was great. The room itself is luxurious and spacious. The bed is so lush as are the bath towels, robes and this is the first hotel to offer slippers. Our reservation includes an afternoon tea set as well. Sri Lanka had already exceeded my expectations and Galle Face Hotel ends it on a high note.

Room Tip: Spend more money and get the deluxe ocean view room, we have 2 windows of ocean view and it's spectacular and calming.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mec737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This hotel preserves the memories of the old Colombo past times. If you are the kind of traveller lokking for this this is your choice. In fact the hotel has a museum inside with images an other artifacts that you can visit anytime. The main discomfort in the property, in my opinion, are the craven looking for something to eat specially at main restaurant.

Room Tip: Superior queen room
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you ever so much for taking the timeout to review your recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This hotel was an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of Columbo. Staff were happy to advise on travel plans and transport (tuk tuk for local Tavel and private car for day trips and travel to different locations).
Food was good, recommend breakfast buffet for a hearty start to the day or healthy options for those avoiding the temptation of a big breakfast every day.
Rooms were cool (the Sri Lankan heat can be a bit oppressive), the pool and poolside bar was a great way of recovering from long flights and sightseeing.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lord S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write back to us with regards to your recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your sentiments to our food and beverage team and hope to have you visit us again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

One can stay in an ordinary modern 5* hotel which is identical the world over,or one can stay in the Galle Face,an old school luxury hotel full of character.Your choice. The service,the food, the rooms,the position at the Green, nothing to fault.

Room Tip: We booked the cheapest room...(.Superior Queen!) and it was excellent.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertjameslorimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you ever so much for taking the timeout to review your recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews