We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,779)
Filter reviews
3,779 results
Traveller rating
1,815
1,220
431
182
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,815
1,220
431
182
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviews galle face colonial hotel sea spray old world charm sri lanka old wing indian ocean wooden floors overlooking the ocean colonial style junior suite watching the sunset pool bar sea front breakfast buffet high tea under renovation
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 3,779 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stayed here for one night before heading off on our tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very good. The pool area and bar are as well. Dinner and breakfast were very good as well. We didn't have time to explore the hotel which was shame but would definitely return and recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kathmccowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you ever so much for taking the timeout to review your recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We have been traveling around Sri Lanka for a week and after a 3 hour car ride from Galle, falling into Galle Face Hotel was perfect. We arrived prior to our check-in time and they made the effort to get our room ready so we could put our bags down. The Traveller's Bar has fantastic drinks and the food was great. The room itself is luxurious and spacious. The bed is so lush as are the bath towels, robes and this is the first hotel to offer slippers. Our reservation includes an afternoon tea set as well. Sri Lanka had already exceeded my expectations and Galle Face Hotel ends it on a high note.

Room tip: Spend more money and get the deluxe ocean view room, we have 2 windows of ocean view and it's spectacular and calming.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mec737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This hotel preserves the memories of the old Colombo past times. If you are the kind of traveller lokking for this this is your choice. In fact the hotel has a museum inside with images an other artifacts that you can visit anytime. The main discomfort in the property, in my opinion, are the craven looking for something to eat specially at main restaurant.

Room tip: Superior queen room
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you ever so much for taking the timeout to review your recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This hotel was an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of Columbo. Staff were happy to advise on travel plans and transport (tuk tuk for local Tavel and private car for day trips and travel to different locations).
Food was good, recommend breakfast buffet for a hearty start to the day or healthy options for those avoiding the temptation of a big breakfast every day.
Rooms were cool (the Sri Lankan heat can be a bit oppressive), the pool and poolside bar was a great way of recovering from long flights and sightseeing.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lord S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write back to us with regards to your recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your sentiments to our food and beverage team and hope to have you visit us again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

One can stay in an ordinary modern 5* hotel which is identical the world over,or one can stay in the Galle Face,an old school luxury hotel full of character.Your choice. The service,the food, the rooms,the position at the Green, nothing to fault.

Room tip: We booked the cheapest room...(.Superior Queen!) and it was excellent.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertjameslorimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you ever so much for taking the timeout to review your recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews