We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,694)
Filter reviews
3,694 results
Traveller rating
1,766
1,192
422
183
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,766
1,192
422
183
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviews galle face colonial hotel sea spray old world charm sri lanka old wing indian ocean wooden floors junior suite overlooking the ocean colonial style pool bar watching the sunset sea front high tea breakfast buffet under renovation
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 3,694 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

As a grand finale on our trip to Sri Lanka we had high tea at the Verandah of the Galle Face hotel. It was a great pleasure. Not many guests and we were quietly overlooking the sea while enjoying an exquisite tea. The restaurant had prepared my very own plate of gluten free tempting pastries, sandwiches and fruits. Loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank YMWele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time out to give us such a lovely review from your time at The Galle Face Hotel and for the perfect review score!

We are so pleased to hear all your lovely comments, especially with regards to our afternoon tea which along with yourself has drawn plaudits from all corners of the world, it's fantastic to learn that our team was able to offer you a gluten free option.

We hope to have you visit us again soon!

Yours Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

The Galle Face Hotel is a a great location and a must do for your visit to Colombo. Amazing hotel, drinks and the staff are lovely. A piper plays music to take the flag down as sun comes down. This really is A must-stop on your visit to Sri Lanka.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni D, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Very many thanks for taking the time to write back to us with regards to your recent stay at The Galle Face Hotel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed such a well rounded experience and such a lovely recommendation of the property.

We hope to have you stay with us on your next visit to Colombo.

Your Sincerely,
Deni Ohlsen-Dukic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We spent 3 days at this hotel and we are all so extremely thankful this hotel experience!! Wonderful staff, fantastic food and service. The only thing that could be better is the number of sunbeds around the pool. We can not wait until we can can come back!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christinalO6839FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Simply we loved everything about it. Clean ,neat , super friendly staff, atmosphere, interior, food , the view and best is that it’s located in the heart of Colombo. I think one of the good hotels I have been in Colombo.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dulanjank2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

The Galle Face Hotel is rich in history and has a beautiful Ocean front location. We were delighted with the 180 view over the Indian Ocean and spectacular sunsets. Our simple double room, however, was in need of an upgrade and the some common areas also felt shabby and dusty. I understand the hotel is being in part renovated, so this may change. The rooms felt dark and lacking in decor, with oddly functioning commands and a noisy air conditioner vent. The sound proofing was also rather abysmal and we could hear conversations down the hallway and in the room next door to us. The pool area is also in need of an upgrade. The room service and pool-side restaurant/bar lacked in food options and suffered from poor service. We were disappointed with the lack of turn-down service - a must for a 4 star hotel. Overall, this property has a lot of potential, but for now it is living off of its name, location, and history.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mimb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews