We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
USD 192
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Expedia.com
USD 192
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
ZenHotels.com
USD 174
View deal
Booking.comUSD 192
Trip.comUSD 176
eDreamsUSD 192
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,791)
Filter reviews
1,791 results
Traveller rating
1,499
180
47
27
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,499
180
47
27
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club capital bar sapphire lounge central restaurant excellent service high tea special thanks lobby lounge port city amazing hotel chinese restaurant dinner buffet his team ocean view keep up the good work indian ocean amazing food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,791 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2021

As we’ve planned our wedding during this pandemic we had no idea that our special day would be such an amazing time which our guests would never forget. Our heartiest thank goes to Mr. Dushan (event manager) and Ms. Shamista for taking all the efforts to make this day success by getting the necessary safety precautions required.
We had one hell of a stay at our executive suite (2723) with the greatest food and hospitality we’ve ever experienced.
Thank you team Shangri-La for making our dream wedding a reality.
Love,
Supun and Tharushi

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TharushiUdara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy Wright, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear Tharushi and Supun

Thank you so much for celebrating you Wedding Day at Shangri-La. We are delighted to hear your special day was well arranged by Dushan, Shamista and the team. Congratulations from all of us!

regards

Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

The food was very good! The Laksa and Japanese station are to be commended. The desserts were also excellent! Really enjoyed the special ice cream, the cheesecake, the chocolate bars and the chocolate fountain. Worth it for the price point

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eshanar2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy Wright, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear eshanar2019

Great to learn you enjoyed your meal at Central and found the experience good value for money. Thank you for sharing

regards

Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

We booked a staycation offer with early check in and late check out and were upgraded to an apartment

I cannot rate our experience highly enough , beautiful hotel with a very relaxing atmosphere. customer service is 2nd to none . nothing is too much trouble for the staff across every single department. Special mention for Randika at reception and Sendil at Capital Bar and Grill.

We have already booked our next visit.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank greensquirrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy Wright, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear dogstarfoundation

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recognising Randika and Sendil. Looking forward to your next visit

regards

Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021

My boyfriend and I visited The Central at Shangri la to celebrate valentines day. We were firstly greeted with a activity where I won a small gift. The ambience and decor of the restaurant was very beautiful. The employees were extremely helpful with everything and the food was delicious!
Last but not least, we would like to thank Wasana and Hashan at The central for helping us with the booking and for the small surprise which was arranged ❤️ Keep up the good work!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Oshara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy Wright, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear Oshara k

Thank you for celebrating Valentine's Day with us at Central, great to hear you enjoyed your experience

regards

Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021

We had our wedding at Shangri La Colombo on 29 January 2021 I want to take this opportunity to thank the entire staff involved at our wedding. In cordinating with florist, band, dancers, event planners and our parents they were really helpful and flexible and it was a great relief so that we were able to enjoy the event without any stress.
Want to highlight on the buffet. That was fabulous and mouth watering also helping us to add and remove items till last moment. Red welvet cake was the best :)

Few names to mention Oshadi Bihara is the person with whom we were cordinating the event from day one. She was really supportive and helpful to us we were able to successful attend this event. A big thank you to Bihara.
Also special thank goes to Surangie Dunuwille,Lasitha Rajapakse, Mr.Rodrigo, Madubani, Lahiru, Sureka and Viraj.

Regards
SAYANI & ARNOL

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sayanih2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy Wright, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear Sayani and Arnol

Congratulations from all of us at Shangri-La. We are delighted that Oshadi and the team were helpful and look after arrangements for you. Good to hear you enjoyed the food too!

regards

Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews