We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent villa”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
uday s
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent villa”
Reviewed 26 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Thanks to TripAdvisor. If not for the site, I would not have figured out this gem in the middle of the city.

The Tamilian guy who takes care of your needs is just awesome. He went out of the way to show us some good South Indian restaurants around, explained us the culture of the city, etc. The owners should really be proud of this chap who managed our needs very well during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksajay
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect ending for our Sri Lanka trip!”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our stay at the shalimar residence has been the highlight of our Sri Lanka trip. The property is very well maintained. Rooms and bathrooms are in excellent condition. And in addition to this, the experience is made complete with excellent home made food. The star of the show is Deva all along. A big thanks to him for taking care of us during our stay. Deva helped us with our questions on Colombo sightseeing. He cooked several varieties of tasty curries. We will remember this for a very long time. Hope to come back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germangtz...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay for the price”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Beautiful house with amazing service, especially for the price! Deva - the house-keeper -- will give you an amazing introduction to Sri Lanka.

The house is not located in the most touristy of locations, but it is a great place to see how Sri Lankan families actually live. It is clean and comfortable and provides all the necessary facilities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhollieqM...
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely place <3”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The owner is the friendliest landlord we've met in all of Sri Lanka. He was ready to help us with anything we needed, and offered us laundry service for a very reasonable price.

One of the best houses we've been to so far. Would definitely come here again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermalie...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Lovely Holiday in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was a fantastic home base. The house is lovely, a lot bigger than you would think. The air-conditioning in the bedrooms is really effective- and needed, the rest of the house stayed pretty cool with the ceiling fans , we were here in June when it was pretty hot and rainy but the house was comfortable. Deva, the caretaker is a wonderful person. He helped us so much, with not just the day to day but also when we all got sick with a 24 hour bug and also on the crazy busy day of my brother's wedding even organising food for a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast table. He is also a phenomenal cook and taught me how to make Ambul Thiyal, which he says would keep for a month.. we wouldn't know, it was all eaten up in a day . My sister and her two kids occupied two of the bedrooms I. The house and were kept entertained looking for tiny native iguanas in the garden, watching cable and chilling out. It's quiet here and you feel you're in an oasis, but it's only a 15-20 minutes taxi ride to the heart of Colombo..Get Deva to help with the directions to the taxi driver... Thank you Deva for making our holiday so easy to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing