We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 187
USD 177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 127
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clock Inn Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
95
32
8
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
32
8
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcapsule hotelcapsule stylecatching an earlycomplimentary bottlefantastic startsri lankaminute walktoilet and showershopping precinctdouble bedold dutch hospitalairport dropperfect place to staythe air conditioningrooftop terracelounge area
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

In all fairness, i didnt stayed in the place but did visit them (so take my review as is). Reason being, while i was researching place to stay in Colombo, the way this property describes itself is confusing. They say "privates" on a booking.com (or some other site i visited). But the pictures looked like bunkbeds. So i visited them to get clarity and it was indeed bunk bed. Maybe its just me but putting a curtain on bunk bed does not make it a private. Almost all the places i have stayed in past only advertise "private" when they are selling you a room and not just a bed in dorm. Price for a bed in 20 bed dorm was a bit steep for my liking but i would still have stayed had i got lower bed available since i was already at the property. They also ask you to take off your shoes at the gate. Now to positives from my brief visit/research. The place looked nice and clean with A/C working properly. The location is great.
So if you want to book this place, do know you are paying for a bunkbed and not a room when you book a "private".

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AqeelMaqbool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicStarAnise, Owner at Star Anise Boutique Capsules, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi,

Its unfortunate you do not know what it means to be a capsule hotel. Please let us know where you read it private beds? Your review would have been more fair if you had been more specific with the details. Capsule hotel are not bunkbeds. We do not have a singel bunkbeds and we dont sell beds for $5 like bunkbed hotels do. We are specially designed Capsule hotel with state-of the art facilities. Superfacilly looking around will not do justice to our place.

Perhaps if you had stayed, you may have experience the difference and may have enlighten your knowledge of the capsule hotel.and the concept

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

The hostel is very central in Colombo Fort, only a short 10 minute walk from the bus station with heavy backpacks. Capsules are very clean and with the shades provide enough darkness. However the noise depends on the other guests in the capsules room (normal for hostels though). We need to point out Vincent, the owner, who went out of his way to help us get information for our next trip. Breakfast was good as well.
Overall for an overnight stay definitely recommendable!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Philipp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicStarAnise, Owner at Star Anise Boutique Capsules, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Philipp,

Thank you for your great feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We are always working to ensure the service and facility is great.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We have tried bed capsule previously and were not fond of the experience. So, it was quite daunting to try again, however, the great reviews gave us second thought and we glad we did! The experience is very much different that left me have Star Anise as my recommended accomodation in Colombo being the great location and most importantly the cleanliness!! The great working aircon, comfy bed, and good hot water shower with strong pressure just made more pluses to add with! The wifi can be a bit slow but it’s passable. The breakfast consists of coffee/tea, melon juice & egg sandwich is just right to start the day!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Yuliana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Had not stayed in a capsule hotel before, opted for the air conditioned deluxe capsules. Very comfy bed with plenty of storage space. Good wifi and air conditioning was extremely useful.
Location is pretty convenient for Pettah Market and Fort Train station, but is a bit of a distance from the parts of Galle Road that tourists frequent and the Museum/park.
Had transport organised from airport for 20USD.

Room Tip: Luxury capsules have AC unlike the standard which have fans and a lot more foot traffic.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicStarAnise, Owner at Star Anise Boutique Capsules, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your feedback, We have some of the best wifi and a/c facility around. Glad it was of good service to you.
We are actaully very close to major locations of colombo and tuktuk about 100LKR will be able to reach the other ares further away.
Anyways thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Location is absolutely wonderful! in the fort area, closed to the colombo fort railway station and pettah bus stand. The hostel is simply behind the Dutch Hospital area, sufficient food options in this area.
In terms of the facilities and rooms, super clean and tidy beds, i love this place, feel comfortable with its wooden design and clean floor. Washroom is great and clean.
Breakfast is actually light, but somehow it's enough for me. Vegetarian option is not a problem here.
I had a very good time here, meeting some new friends at the hostel and feel relaxed and enjoyable.

Room Tip: i always go with single capsules, the basic one, its good enough to me.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicStarAnise, Owner at Star Anise Boutique Capsules, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you, Thank you , Thank you, your review is very good to make us contented. We will stride to provide the best service as always,
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews