We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 53
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
USD 53
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
USD 29
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
PricelineUSD 53
Trip.comUSD 33
Snaptravel
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
52
14
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
14
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exceptionally friendly and helpful staff noisy guests walls are thin excellent place to stay swimming pool within walking distance great hotel great pool the hotel staff front desk staff stayed here for nights rooms are clean the river night market loungers curtains furniture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2020

Mixed feelings about this hotel. On the positive side, the location was great for seeing the major sites within Vientiane either on foot or by tuk tuk, there were many good restaurants, bars, convenience stores and a great massage parlor within walking distance. As for the hotel itself, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and contained all the basic amenities one would expect, and the pool was a great place to relax and chill out after a day of site seeing. There also were plenty of available lounge chairs at the pool and also shaded areas with chairs and tables.

As for our room, we stayed in one of their deluxe double balcony rooms. Although the room itself was great it did come with a few quirks. For instance, the bathroom door would not completely shut creating a lack of privacy and the main entry way door was razor thin, so you got a lot of noise from other guests walking to and from their rooms. Also, the part of the hotel where the deluxe double balcony rooms are located is lacking in character. The newer part of the hotel where the pool is located has a lot more ambiance but during the day you probably will encounter a bit of noise from people using the pool.

Lastly, the breakfast which was included with our room rate was terrible. Thankfully, after eating our first breakfast at the hotel we discovered a great breakfast place within walking distance from the hotel called Common Ground where we ended up eating the rest of our morning meals at.

As good, reasonably priced accommodations are difficult to find in Vientiane, I probably will stay at the Vientiane Garden Villa Hotel on my next trip to Vientiane but only after exploring other options.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2020

in these lockdown times of being stranded in a foreign land, finding a nice place to stay for several weeks/months is such a lucky event. This hotel is great value for money since it is offering a 50% discount.
Spacious rooms, good mattress, efficient staff, good breakfast. Trees and plants around the pool , the soothing power of green. Very well located, a short walk to all that tourists want. Best : the relaxed atmosphere and vegetation. Bad : I can't live here permanently.

Room tip: Both rooms I stayed in faced the courtyard and pool.
Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marcokhmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

Stayed here for 5 nights in what became one of our favorite cities on our South East Asia tour. We had been upgraded (?) to a room in the main part of the hotel that we didn't like at all, but having checked out the rooms around the pool, we asked to be moved and we were accommodated. We ended up on ground floor alongside the pool and had a super stay. Vientiane is a lovely walkable city, and this hotel was in the perfect spot for us. Quiet but with access to all the sights and the waterfront. We were there during the Moon festival, so experienced the madness of the crowds attending the surrounding temples, as well as at the golden temple - quite something to experience. The sunset along the river (mostly dried up thanks to the Chinese damming it en route to Vientiane) was superb, looking out at Thailand on the other side. Agree with other reviews about the difficult seating at breakfast. We are small people but found it very difficult to have our legs actually underneath the tables. Also had to be careful about choosing what to eat as there was nothing to prevent flies from walking on the exposed foods. Plentiful supply and tasty though if you could beat the flies to it!!
Lovely friendly staff who arranged cheap tours out to the various sights around the area for us. Overall a wonderful stay in a lovely safe hotel.

Room tip: We preferred the rooms around the pool to the 'upgraded' room in the main building.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CarolnIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

We spent 1 night for a 2 days tour in Ventiane as a family. We enjoyed this centrally located villa with a great courtyard: a pool, under the shade of a mango tree was a big success for the kids. The hotel staff has been very polite and helpful to organise some taxis and tours. The rooms are clean. It was great value for money.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 800emilied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were on the ground floor with pool view. Upon check in the staff took time to explain local attractions which was nice. They also spoke good English. The room was on the small side and a bit dark but the air con was very good. It is totally fine for a few nights. The walls are thin and you could hear other noisy guests outside but that's just part of what it is like in Asia, just bring earplugs! The pool is a great bonus although I agree with previous reviews some proper sun lounges need to be added as the seating felt scarce and also wasn't very comfortable (wooden chairs). The breakfast was ok, lots of Asian options but you could order some eggs etc from the menu. I only noticed the menu on the second day though! There should be staff greeting you at breakfast and explaining about the extra orders. Finally, this was the worst thing for me, the tables in the breakfast area were all so low that I couldn't fit my legs underneath, this is not acceptable. I think it didn't fit most people as a lot of them sat with their legs to the side. I'm sorry but if you're have international guests you need to have furniture that fits these guests. It was very annoying indeed.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kazia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews