We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a paradise in the jungle”
Review of Ban Lao Pako

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ban Lao Pako
Reviewed 25 December 2013

There is nothing we didn`t like about this unique place!!!!!!the view from the bungalow, from the restaurant-from everywhere is amazing!!it is so quiet, you hear the insects, the birds and the big bamboo "whispering", when there`s some wind-and that`s it.each bungalow has his own terrace with a great hammock made from wood.the bed was very cosy and not that hard like the other beds i had till now in laos.it was very cold in the night, so we got as many blankets as we needed.there`s enough electricity to charge whatever you need to charge.in the evening the stuff made a fire and we enjoyed sitting there with chris, the owner and his sweet little cat.chris is a very interesting and nice person.he should write a book about his life!we loved to listen to his stories!also the stuff was very open and helpful.we enjoyed the food and drank coffee from the machine!(and this in the middle of nowhere.there`s no point to complain.it is just a pitty that we couldn`t stay longer! if you are close to vientiane, so don`t miss this place (about 1 hour and something from vientiane away, they pick you up)-it is heaven on earth!!!!

Room Tip: we had number 8, which is a little bit separated from the others.we loved it.the only thing is that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

The location is stunning, the bungalows perfectly suited to the environment but there is something missing. This place has no soul, no purpose for being, no character, no wow factor. The view from the bungalow deck is sublime but that's it.

Human touches are missing. Like a welcome when you arrive. I was dropped at reception and given a pen and. A book to write in, then I waited. Eventually I was taken to my bungalow.

It was rustic and functional. Everything worked. The floor squeaked and that was fine, it added to the ambience. The big comfortable bed was clean and had nice soft pillows. There was a fan, bedside lamp, ceiling lamp (that was pretty useless), extra blanket, soft towels.

But there were no locks on doors or windows, so no security at all. The windows couldn't be left open as there were no fly screens. There was no bottled water in the rooms. There was no bug spray which should be a given in a place like this where there are all sorts of bugs. Not a wee vase of flowers, a torch (which was needed to be able to get around outside at night), nothing.

The staff were very pleasant when spoken to and one of them did come and chat, but they were all alooof. I got no information about what was available and when I went to go for a walk was given a very dirty loose leaf book that had a map (which needed a fair bit of imagination to follow). When I got back I realised that the rest of the book had some information on the parts that I had walked past without realising.

When i left it was raining. No offer of an umbrella or anything.

It could be simply wonderful and could afford higher rates and ensure repeat business being so close to Vientiane. It could be the best place for people to,weekend at and get away from the trappings of the city. I was the only guest there. All this could happen by making it all more desirable.

instead it was a rustic experience that was good value for money but I would not entertain going back, unless it acquired some, charm and personality, and for that i would be prepared to pay far more.

Room Tip: I think any of the bungalows would be ok, they all have sublime views over the river. Try to get i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This place is simply amazing. The location is very secluded and you feel like Henri Mouhot when trekking through the jungle or paddling on the river. The bungalows are basic and clean and perfectly serve their purpose (who wants to stay inside when such an amazing scenery is waiting for you outside). Cleanliness is maybe a bit of our European interpretation but this is the jungle after all. The staff is incredible friendly and always helpful (please don't forget to tip!!) and the well-traveled Swedish owner is full of interesting stories about Asia. The food is very good (try the Laap) and fair value. I will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hakim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Incredible location -- peaceful and beautiful. Enjoyed lounging in a hammock, swimming, hiking and paddling on the river. Staff are very friendly, but there seems to be tension with the owner. The food is overpriced, takes an unreasonable amount of time to prepare, and there are frequently errors with the orders. The bungalows looked remodeled, but our chief complaint was the awful, uncomfortable mattress. Would have stayed longer but for the bed and the kitchen service.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank russellm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Beautiful location, great rooms with a view, at very reasonable price.

The problem with this place is that the food served in the restaurant borders on inedible (I live in Laos and am by no means a fussy eater), it's seriously expensive, and you have to wait at least two hours before you see any food (I know this is Laos, but two hours seems excessive). As you are in a very remote location, there is no alternative other than the friendly noodle soup shop in the village not far from the turning to the lodge itself.

The rule for eco-lodge success: make sure you have a good restaurant, because

The owner also shouts st hos staff in a very abusive manor in front of his guests, which for us kind of sealed the deal. Beautiful spot, great idea...but we won't be going back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bertietbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0 km away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
600 reviews
0 km away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
529 reviews
0 km away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#15 of 97 in Vientiane
79 reviews
0 km away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
432 reviews
0 km away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 97 in Vientiane
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Lao Pako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Lao Pako

Address: Nam Ngum River | P.O. Box 3144, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban Pako is an eco-lodge located on an ancient temple site on the banks of the Nam Ngum river, about 50 km from Vientiane. Ban Pako has room for 22 guests per night and the restaurant serves delicious Lao food. It is the perfect place to relax and experience the Lao countryside. Also on offer is a wide range of activities such as jungle trekking, cultural excursions and monthly events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ban Lao Pako reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing