We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
12
6
4
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
6
4
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The location is stunning, the bungalows perfectly suited to the environment but there is something missing. This place has no soul, no purpose for being, no character, no wow factor. The view from the bungalow deck is sublime but that's it.

Human touches are missing. Like a welcome when you arrive. I was dropped at reception and given a pen and. A book to write in, then I waited. Eventually I was taken to my bungalow.

It was rustic and functional. Everything worked. The floor squeaked and that was fine, it added to the ambience. The big comfortable bed was clean and had nice soft pillows. There was a fan, bedside lamp, ceiling lamp (that was pretty useless), extra blanket, soft towels.

But there were no locks on doors or windows, so no security at all. The windows couldn't be left open as there were no fly screens. There was no bottled water in the rooms. There was no bug spray which should be a given in a place like this where there are all sorts of bugs. Not a wee vase of flowers, a torch (which was needed to be able to get around outside at night), nothing.

The staff were very pleasant when spoken to and one of them did come and chat, but they were all alooof. I got no information about what was available and when I went to go for a walk was given a very dirty loose leaf book that had a map (which needed a fair bit of imagination to follow). When I got back I realised that the rest of the book had some information on the parts that I had walked past without realising.

When i left it was raining. No offer of an umbrella or anything.

It could be simply wonderful and could afford higher rates and ensure repeat business being so close to Vientiane. It could be the best place for people to,weekend at and get away from the trappings of the city. I was the only guest there. All this could happen by making it all more desirable.

instead it was a rustic experience that was good value for money but I would not entertain going back, unless it acquired some, charm and personality, and for that i would be prepared to pay far more.

Room Tip: I think any of the bungalows would be ok, they all have sublime views over the river. Try to get i e as far from the restaurant as you can as the staff can be quite noisy when they sit there at night.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This place is simply amazing. The location is very secluded and you feel like Henri Mouhot when trekking through the jungle or paddling on the river. The bungalows are basic and clean and perfectly serve their purpose (who wants to stay inside when such an amazing scenery is waiting for you outside). Cleanliness is maybe a bit of our European interpretation but this is the jungle after all. The staff is incredible friendly and always helpful (please don't forget to tip!!) and the well-traveled Swedish owner is full of interesting stories about Asia. The food is very good (try the Laap) and fair value. I will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hakim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Incredible location -- peaceful and beautiful. Enjoyed lounging in a hammock, swimming, hiking and paddling on the river. Staff are very friendly, but there seems to be tension with the owner. The food is overpriced, takes an unreasonable amount of time to prepare, and there are frequently errors with the orders. The bungalows looked remodeled, but our chief complaint was the awful, uncomfortable mattress. Would have stayed longer but for the bed and the kitchen service.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank russellm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Beautiful location, great rooms with a view, at very reasonable price.

The problem with this place is that the food served in the restaurant borders on inedible (I live in Laos and am by no means a fussy eater), it's seriously expensive, and you have to wait at least two hours before you see any food (I know this is Laos, but two hours seems excessive). As you are in a very remote location, there is no alternative other than the friendly noodle soup shop in the village not far from the turning to the lodge itself.

The rule for eco-lodge success: make sure you have a good restaurant, because

The owner also shouts st hos staff in a very abusive manor in front of his guests, which for us kind of sealed the deal. Beautiful spot, great idea...but we won't be going back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bertietbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This place doesnt market itself an an upscale nature resort so you know what to expect - but you wont be disappointed ...excellent views, great restaurant and a lot of respect for the owner who is trying to build something positive and help the Laotian people ....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiva1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews