We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
11
40
56
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
40
56
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2007

At $5 for a small, clean room with a/c, this was a terrific value. The room stayed cool, and despite the busy street outside, there was never any noise that reached my room or bothered my rest. The staff were friendly - always ready with a warm greeting when I returned, and they never tried to sell me anything. I dropped off my laundry and it was done quickly and neatly, and they took great care to return a small Angkor souvenir I'd absent-mindedly left in a shorts pocket. No elevators, so make sure you don't mind a walk if they offer a room on the fifth floor.

The location is not perfect - there isn't a lot around there, and it's a fair distance from Sisowath Quay, but it's next to the Capitol Tours office if you're doing any visa or onward travel with them.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorilla_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

We stayed at Capitol 1 Guesthouse (they own about 4) after arriving from Siem Reap on the $4US Capitol bus - word of warning, the air con seems to start to fail after the first hour, must overheat or something and then the 6 hour trip is very very hot.
We were on the 3rd floor with an end room, that was right on a major intersection - i was preparing myself for the worst with the noise. But surprisingly it really wasn't bad. At $10US a night, pay TV larger than normal room, balcony and aircon, things were pretty good. Beds were even quite comfy. The only annoying thing, as right beside the bus station/resturant which is on the ground floor - is a speaker shop, that tests things at full boar during the day. But only the day. Probably not the most touristy area to stay as this bus company is used by Cambodian's most tourist use the more expensive Mekong Express which is situated on Sisowath Key - alot more touristy area. And probably if I went back to Phnom Penh I would stay at that location. We walked on took cyclo's around. I really avoid the motos. But for its purpose it was ok.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Melli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2006

Stayed here on my first visit to Cambodia. I got a pretty cheap room for 6 USD if I remember correctly. The room was clean and quite spacious, not too noisy even though it was facing a busy street. Downstairs there's a restaurant and plenty of moto drivers waiting for you. It's situated opposite a market (the Russian market I think it was) so it can get pretty busy during the day. Other than that I had a quite pleasant stay here. Staff were quite friendly although they didn't speak that much english. Much better than some of the riverside hotels I've stayed in when I came back to Phnom Penh.. should've stayed here again instead.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tissueprata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 現地で予約したほうが安いです。今までフルだったことはありません。
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews