We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”
Review of Paddy Rice Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paddy Rice Hotel
Ranked #156 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best location”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

A room with a balcony is great. Noise didn't bother me either. Hot water just a bit slow so try not to be in a rush for the airport. Definitely clean and safe.

Room Tip: Take a front facing balcony room. A room without a window would be sad any place, but it's clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
8
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
326 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and was some what disappointed when we arrived, the photos on the internet do not reflect what the rooms are really like, they have very old furniture and are very small, i booked a standard room and it was about 15 sq meters, only had a small window, i paid $45 , and have stayed at better places for half this, my friend had a superior and it was about 25 sq meters. The tv was the smallest i had ever seen, not much bigger than a computer screen, i had NO hot water so had to shower in my friend's room, which was a bit of a pain, if he was still asleep, i had to wait to use the shower, i asked the staff about it but they just smiled and said nothing, so i did not worry as it was for only 3 days.
It is a pity really as the position is a1 right on the river and the staff were super friendly and spoke good english, the breakfast was a choice of a few dishes but it was huge, the rest of the food was also good, they state they have a irish band but we only saw a few guys who seemed to be just of the street and entertained the customers, but they were quite good. Also if you have a health problem and can not climb stairs then DO NOT stay here as we had to climb 50 of them to the second floor, 25 to the first floor, as we are fit it did not worry us.
Apart from the staff and location there are MANY better places to stay and better VALUE.
Would not stay again or recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side are noisey as there are plenty of bars next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmelo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I've traveled here four times in the past year and other than relying on an Irish name, it's in name only. I'm Irish decent and take pride in the nature of an Irish welcome in bars around the world. Yes, they have wifi, clean, food is okay, but hospitality and the 'Irish' feel is not there other than having a European style bar. I've been treated and experienced less than I would expect. Irish places are less a business and more family is my expectation.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I paid USD54 for the deluxe room with balcony. Very poor value. Curtains would not close and had not being fixed properly to the rail.The room was not very clean and there was a slight smell in the bathroom. For this price the room furniture was poor - comfortable chair and an old broken wardrobe.On the upside the location is great and the staff are friendly .The small balcony is a plus. The wifi is good I'm sad to give it a poor review but with a little effort on the hotel's part this could have been a very positive experience. Would I stay there again ? No for few dollars ( I mean 5) I could stay at a really good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annaegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Very comfortable experience here and right smack dab on the river. Lovely staff and very attentive management. Wi-fi and flat screen tv in every room just terrific! In Phnom Penh, for me it's the best place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerparisOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,438 reviews
0.0 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,115 reviews
0.0 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
770 reviews
0.0 km away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.0 km away
The Little Garden Boutique Hotel
The Little Garden Boutique Hotel
#80 of 267 in Phnom Penh
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy Rice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy Rice Hotel

Property: Paddy Rice Hotel
Address: 213 Sisowath Quay (corner of Street 136), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Hotel Class:3 star — Paddy Rice Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing