We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Tongue Hotel - No blues while staying here!”
Review of Blue Tongue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Tongue Hotel
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed here with my partner while on a holiday to visit a friend working in Cambodia. The cab driver initially had difficulty finding the hotel as the entrance was nondescript and very subtle. However upon locating the hotel, man were we impressed. The lobby was spacious, modern-chic and very inviting. Immediately the hustle of tuk tuks outside the hotel simply melted away and we were transported into a Balinese themed paradise.

Check-in was smooth and fast.

Room was well-done up and very spacious. Bed was big and comfortable. The air-con was really good as well. I really loved how the room was designed with the very big wardrobe to tuck away all our bags and clothes out of sight.

The shower room was of the "wet-style" where there are no shower curtains and the shower room is meant to be wet when you shower. The rain-shower head was ENORMOUS! And hot-water wasn't a problem.

The Hotel is quiet, peaceful and pleasant. My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Blue Tongue. To my good friend's chagrin, the rooms had no individual telephones, so he had to call the reception desk and i had to come down to pick up the call.

Breakfast was EXCELLENT. The Mushroom Baguette was a real Thumbs up. Pity we didn't get to eat the breakfast for the remaining days we were there as we were often too tired or hung-over to wake up :)

Staffs were friendly and helpful too!

A real good value for money hotel!

Oh and it is within 5 minutes walking distance from the best club in Phnom Penh, which was St. Tropez (To the delight of my partner and friend) and midnight hunger pangs (Also to the delight of my partner and I) are no biggie as there are smatterings of 24 hour convenience stores around the area.

Check out was smooth, fuss-free and the hotel employs a tuk-tuk. He charges a little higher than the rest, but a little bargaining won't hurt :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanXavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Blue Tongue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 143 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent 3 nights in this excellent Hotel. Well situated, you can do everything walking. Really clean, bathroom, sheets, everything is spotless. the service is excellent the personnel really kind and helpful. Very good breakfast included and they help you with all your reservations at really reasonable prices. I would definetely come back to this hotel and I really recomend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddelgadillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel was excellent value for money. I stayed here for 2 nights with 2 friends, and we paid $45 for a triple room with three beds. The rooms was large and clean, the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was decent. Breakfast was included and was very decent, while there is an on-site cafe which serves pretty good food. Staff were helpful and responsive. There is wifi throughout the hotel.

The hotel is located just off a busy street and is within walking distance to various eateries. You can also walk to the National Museum, the Royal Palace and the Central Market; however these are about 15-20 minutes away and might be worth the cheap tuk-tuk ride instead. There are some pick-up joints near the hotel, but it's really not a biggie. If you're not looking for that kind of fun, you won't feel threatened or pressured.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Was slightly wary of booking this place based on how bad the bad reviews on tripadvisor were, but as a slightly precautious single female arriving in a town famed for sex tourists, I felt I wanted to be somewhere a bit 'nicer' than the backpacker ghetto by the lake but without having to pay a massive markup. Was pleasantly surprised to arrive by tuk tuk from the bus station and see how clean and modern it was. Bedroom was lovely too and after having read reviews here, I was given a room by the lift and a couple of floors up as requested. Great shower. Fridge in room, staff were friendly, didnt encounter any coldness as described by some other reviewers. Breakfast fine, in fact I was grateful for the options as I am omelette-and-toast-ed out at the moment! The only downside would be that on my final day I woke up to find my arm covered in blotches and then later on I found a few more bites here and there. Put a bit of a downer on an otherwise pleasant stay but though I never found any evidence of where the critters came from, guests should probably be aware. I dont really want to mark down the hotel for my bad luck :(

Room Tip: As per other reviewers, get a room as close to the lift and as high up as you can - there's a li...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PixieDoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stay 3 nights at the hotel after reading its review. It's central in phnom penh and in a walking distance to some restaurants in the area. The hotel was very clean, beds are quite comfortable. The hotel is very near the Royal Palace and Silver Pogoda area so you can take a walk to the places. We enjoyed our stay and want to send our thanks to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunsh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 km away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#50 of 272 in Phnom Penh
515 reviews
0.3 km away
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
#62 of 272 in Phnom Penh
177 reviews
1.8 km away
Diamond Palace Hotel
Diamond Palace Hotel
#132 of 272 in Phnom Penh
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
#16 of 333 in Phnom Penh
233 reviews
0.2 km away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 246 in Phnom Penh
244 reviews
0.5 km away
The Artist Guesthouse
The Artist Guesthouse
#10 of 333 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tongue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tongue Hotel

Address: 174 #39 Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 246 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $41 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tongue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 36 room hotel. Situated within 200m of central market and Sorya Mall. Walk around the corner to The Strip, Phnom Penh's nightlife area. 10 min walk, 2 min moto ride to the Tonle Sap river via National Museum, Silver Pagoda and Royal Palace. Cafe restaurant open 24hrs a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Tongue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tongue Cafe Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing