We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”
Review of Romdeng

Romdeng
Ranked #42 of 1,722 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open Monday to Sunday from 11am to 11pm (kitchen closes 10pm) Romdeng is set in a beautiful colonial building whose wooden carvings, tables, chairs and unique lights were all hand made in Cambodia. The silk goods and cushions adorning Romdeng were made by our students in sewing training at Mith Samlanh and its walls are hung with beautiful paintings produced by young people from the art classes there. All of this plus a pool, free WIFI, a family area and a gift shop mean a visit to Romdeng is a must.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great Cambodian restaurant -although it is frequented by expat or tourist, their food is top notch and as authentic it can be. We had the fish amok and Khmer beef curry. It was delicious! Would recommend others to visit - good food, clean and reasonably priced. And be prepared to wait for a table.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jadex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 2,731 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Don't even think about coming to Phnom Penh and not eating here. As much as a visit to the Royal Palace etc. is a 'to do' - so is showing your support for this worthy community focussed venture. Great colonial style house - excellent food and a great evening - one I will remember for a long time to come. Thank you to all the staff - you made dinner one of the best experiences of my 5 week venture.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NigelGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendsInternational, Public Relations Manager at Romdeng, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hi NigelGW,

Wow- thank you for sharing your 5 week adventure with us! We loved having you as well and sharing our social project with you.

If you are ever back in Phnom Penh, hope to see you!

All the best
Romdeng team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I had dinner at Romdeng one evening in Phnom Penh and I can't recommend the place. Though the social initiative of a school restaurant is great, the food and service unfortunately are not. I ordered curry which came with raw vegetables, since it's normally not safe to eat raw vegetables in Cambodia I returned the dish and ordered something else. The waiter, who had already been unfriendly the whole time, didn't bother to tell me that at Romdeng the vegetables are safe to eat. I saw that on the menu when I ordered a new dish (at the bottom of the page in small print). The second dish Amok was cold and I had to pay extra for the rice. Since the food is extremely overpriced at Romdeng one dinner there in the end cost me 4 times more than normal. So I can only say: overpriced, bad service, lukewarm food - can't recommend it.

Thank Aljja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendsInternational, Public Relations Manager at Romdeng, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Aljja,

Thanks for your feedback. We are very sad to hear your negative experience with us at Romdeng. We take your review very seriously and will discuss your experience with both the kitchen and service teams to improve in the future. We try to make every customer's experience the best we can, from ensuring safe vegetables, no MSG in our food, drinking water and friendly service. We hope you give us or any of our other sister training restaurants another visit!

All the best,
Romdeng team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Our guide booked us in and told us we could have a swim in the pool. That's a first for me a restaurant with a pool. Plenty of selection of dishes with attentive mix of students and tutors. Romdeng is used as a training site to offer opportunity to the less advantaged.
Really enjoyed the food fresh with flavour. Was a bit pricey by comparison with other Cambodian meals, however a full lunch for 2 people for the cost of an entree in the west puts things into perspective.

Thank garry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendsInternational, Public Relations Manager at Romdeng, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Garry,

Did you have a swim at our pool in the end? Hope you did!
We are glad to hear you had a great meal with us. Hope you come back soon or visit any of our sister restaurants in South East Asia.

All the best,
Romdeng team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Try the Red Tree ants and beef basil. Baguette with lime butter was a great pairing. WOW it was exceptional. the whole evening was incredible from the atmosphere and service to the food quality and presentation. Helping an NGO was just icing on the cake. The food was amazing!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendsInternational, Public Relations Manager at Romdeng, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Rich,

Thanks for leaving us a lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed our red tree ants, beef fillet and spicy basil stir fry with our baguette and lime butter! We love both of those too. Hope you come back soon!

All the best,
Romdeng team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romdeng also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Romdeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing