We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but secluded area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orchid Garden Hotel
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Only 10 minutes from Airport. Located in a quiet corner of the town near Sport Complex and Housing Estate and away from Tourist Attraction. Hotel itself is nice, clean and staff were all attentive, speak good English. This make you feel comfortable. Room size is big enough for you to move about with all amenities provided. Buffet breakfast is included but majority of the items are for Muslim (you understand it, Brunei is Muslim Country) but for me its enough for a breakfast as I can have a normal American & Chinese. Taste good, well presented. This is a 4 star Hotel but some staffs in the coffeeshop did like a 3 star, need more training but in general is OK. One prolbem in this Country is very hard to find a Taxi on the street, you have to ask hotel to arrange for it, otherwise it nice and quiet Country to live. There are one or two big shopping complex & brand name restaurants. Anyway, I was on business so I did not have much time to do all this touring. I suggest if you are on business where you have been pampered by your local colleaque, this is the place but if you are on holiday and on your own, I would suggest elswhere as there are a lot of hotel near tourist attraction

Room Tip: If you are not smoking, pls request Non Smoking Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDAMANPhuket_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a big old hotel with lots of character. Slight mustiness in rooms. Good breakfast. Wifi works but you will need to borrow the adapter from the front desk if you live in another country.

Character is so important and this place has lots of it. And it is very close to the airport too.

My stays here were always complimentary. You will have to check out at midday even if your flights are at night.

Room Tip: Get adapter from front desk for your computer, enjoy the breakfast, and the character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillNZ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We booked for a standard room but we were given deluxe room at 5th floor. We had daily free supply of bottled water and 2 cans of soda/pax coffee, tea and toiletries. They always clean-up our room everyday. Breakfast was ok. Plenty of variations.Their complimentary shuttle van from hotel to Hua Ho Serusop, Yayasan Bandar and Gadong was of great help to explore the city. Although if you want to see some more tourist areas not covered by their free shuttle service, you should be ready to pay expensive taxi fare. I believe taxi fare in Brunei are not regulated by their govenment so taxi drivers have their fixed rate in going to one place to another.The hotel staff are also very accomodating and they can speak good english so no hassle communicating with them for our queries and needs. Thanks a lot! This hotel is worth recommending to all my frineds and family who will plan to visit this country in the future. Brunei offers a limited tourist areas hence, we felt bored after our 2 days stayed in this country since we almost visited their famous tourist destinations in just 2 days. So we just stayed at the hotel for the remaining days of our vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crismonilla68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We arrived quite late to find lights not working,disabled husband in need of assistance to have a birdbath as disabled facilities not provided as per booking request.Not enough cups & glasses or face towels for all.Breakfast Buffet hot dishes were cold.We hired a Taxi for a 1 hr.Tour of the city and found he and the tour great,that was the best part of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Was staying for 3 weeks. Nice place with close distance to Bandar the capital (well it's max 15minits by car). This place is very popular and you may need to reserve before you come.
Room is clean and the staff is very helpful. Spa/Sauna/Steam is clean and very nice.
Only issue that I see is the variety of food was not served for breakfast - I honestly don't know why - nevertheless I ate every day. However the Chinese restaurant on the 1st floor is absolutely superb for dinner.

Room Tip: Go to 2nd Floor and ask how to ring the bell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruwan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
4.9 km away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
375 reviews
4.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,183 reviews
4.4 km away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
145 reviews
5.1 km away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
195 reviews
4.6 km away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#6 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden Hotel

Address: Simpang 9 Kg Anggerek Desa Lot 31954 | Jalan Berakas, Bandar Seri Begawan BB3713, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: $81 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 147 business class hotel, strategically located between the Brunei International Airport, the International Convention Centre and the Government Offices. Being closest hotel to the RBA Golf Club, it is also an ideal place to stay for a short golf vacation. With the full fledge Amanha Spa, guests can relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Orchid Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orchid Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing