We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveller rating
1,011
161
54
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
161
54
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hill top villa beach villa rock villa private pool wine cave coral reef wooden bathtub organic garden private butler our honeymoon outdoor shower direct access to the beach heaven on earth day bed speed boat main restaurant natural materials
Filter
Updating list...
779 - 784 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My wife and I only spent three nights’ here and found everything to be just perfect to “chill out” and get totally rejuvenated. We had come from Dalat, where it was nice and cool with great weather. We traveled by private care hire from Dalat to Ninh Van Bay and were met by some neatly dressed women and men who helped us get our gear on the transport boat and after a 20 minute ride over a smooth sea we arrived at the hotel where we were warmly welcomed by the resort management team.

This was our first visit to this resort and we didn’t know what to expect but we were more than pleased with what we found! What we found was a delightfully isolated resort with no other resorts anywhere in sight or even nearby. Perfect! …and just what we were looking for and now fully understood why it was called a “hideaway”!

We had engaged a hill top villa and were very pleased that we did as it was much more isolated from the rest of the villas and the views were spectacular. I must say that as being in my 70’s the climb up to the villa was a bit strenuous but certainly worth every “ and puff” of the effort. The isolation, peacefulness and tranquility of our villa were remarkable as were the impressive views of the entire bay, mountains, resort and some very nice sunsets. We were pleased with a beautiful cooling wind most of the time and with the day time temperature in the high 20’s C the combination of the cool serenity pool and wind were most enjoyable. Actually upon our arrival at the villa (#8) my wife and I both immediately wished that we had booked for a longer stay.

We found the food to be excellent in both quality and amount and enjoyed hiking down the trail to the tennis courts, playing tennis and then walking to the dining hall by the bay for breakfast as we spotted various birds and small animals along the way. However, bicycles were provided in case we wanted to pedal our way around or a golf cart with driver was prepared to do the transport was available and just a telephone call away.
The grounds were certainly well kept and Eco-friendly and the vast array of facilities were more than adequate. The sea water was clear and warm and fun to romp around, in spite of my age. The entire area was remarkably quiet for the amount of people that we would see at breakfast. I would say that if one is looking for a place to party with a whole bunch of people and big discos this is not the place to find them!

Staff was excellent and our villa was cleaned and re-outfitted each day by cheerful and effective staff. I guess about the only complaints that I would have is the lack of selection of music CD’s as the only one available was the so-called “Welcome CD”. I would suggest that management consider obtaining a selection of music suitable for the villas and their populations. In addition, we had requested our butler in writing three items for our room, including ice to be delivered at 1600 hours but none of the items ever came. This was a bit disconcerting to say the least but in the end it did not having any impact on our visit.

We enjoyed a very memorable evening of "Dining by the Rocks" where we experienced a “glutton’s fare” of excellent, high quality and perfectly prepared array of western culinary delights, accompanied by a very good selection of wines that matched each of the various foods that we consumed. I must say that my wife and I were completed “stuffed” and more than satisfied with our evening of fine and elegant dining in a very relaxed mood.

My wife and I are already planning and looking forward for our next visit to this remarkable resort and I would certainly recommend this classy and excellently managed retreat for anyone that just wants to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIKTHAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sixsensesninhvanbay, General Manager at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Dear DIKTHAI

Thank you very much for your review, we so happy that you had a great stay with us that left you rejuvenated! That is our goal for all of our guests. Your description of the resort, villa and facilities is excellent and very helpful for those considering to stay with us.

I appreciate your comments for improvement, which we will work....also your great idea for a seletion of music.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Wayne Lunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This resort is beautifully situated. The villa's are nicely designed. And it is a perfect place if you want to do nothing else but relaxing. However, the service is not up to the standards of a 5 star hotel. It feels like luxerious camping, which might be ok, but a little expensive for >300 euros a person a day. We booked because of the fantastic reviews on tripadvisor, which are normally very useful. So how come we did not have a fantastic experience? Other guests that we met had the same experience, so something strange must go on here...
A few examples of our experiences/views (beachvilla):
- the park is not intensively maintained, (natural look) this means that with an open bathroom you need to swipe yourself the floor every other hour because leaves are blown all over the place - room amenities are in stone bottles (there to stay and therefore eco-friendly) but the content was dried up, other amenities were not replaced during the stay. Plates used for fruit and used cups were not cleaned all week - water in glass bottles (eco friendly) was delivered free of charge but not consistently changed which is an issue when bottle dates are lacking - It took a long time to get water from the tap/shower at the right temperature since warm and cold have independent difficult to operate handles (not very eco friendly) - there is a nice outdoor shower, but after dark (early) there is no proper light - there is no proper wardrobe to protect clothes from moths. drawers smelled (bring scent bags).
- The villa's have a small pool suitable for bathing not for swimming. That is no problem, but also the central pool is quite small and not really suitable for a serious swim. There is a nice beach, but it is mainly cleaned in the central area (bring water shoes!)- There are only beach beds in central locations, so you can not lay comfortable on the beach before your own villa.
- The food was generally ok, but quality differed and was apart from the fantastic selection of juices at breakfast and delicious creme brulee at dinner, not superb and overpriced.
- there is a private butler service, but this was very different from experiences in other places, it did not add anything to normal service that would be expected from a standard hotel - It was difficult to motivate the butler to set up internet, which turned out to be slow and not always working - everything that went wrong was the mistake of the guest: when housekeeping did not show up it was said that we had a no disturb sign up, one time an item disappeared from the room it was said that it was taken away because it was on the ground.. (It was returned filty from the trashcan). - some days we did not see the butler only for a minute in the restaurant - on checking out the butler immediately started to inspect if nothing had disappeared: asking us were is the modem, were is the flashlight etc, we felt like thieves! Never had such experience before. We had to hand in the evaluation form to the butler, but we did not feel comfortable with that and took it home.
- overall staff was very friendly, but they are mainly instructed to ask questions like it is fantastic here isnt? and are not very helpful when you need assistance.
The spa was ok expect to pay western prices.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anna232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sixsensesninhvanbay, General Manager at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Dear Anna232

Thank you for your comments, firstly I wish to apologize that we did not reach your expectations.

Our natural surroundings are kept natural and not manicured, but they should be still maintained and the leaves swept away to be off the pathways and not in the bathroom. It can be challenging when the strong winds were with us during the first few weeks of January causing the leaves to continually blow into the bathroom as it is a open bathroom.

I have taken your concerns seriously and will be following up with all of my departmental heads to ensure that trainings and action plans are in place for immediate improvement. Including refilling amenities correctly, proper cleaning of fruit plates, implementation of an expiry label for water bottles, ensuring that items are not removed unless in trash can or obvious waste. Additionally you comments about the butlers communication or lack of it giving you a below standard of service will be targeted for immediate retraining and follow up as this is far from our intentions and levels of service we are aiming to achieve.

We appreciate your comments so that we can improve ourselves and for our guests, they really are very helpful.

Sincerely
Wayne Lunt
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

After an exhausting stay in Ho Chi Min we had 10 nights of total relaxation at the Six Senses. Unfortunatley the weather was lousy for the duration therefore we had to rely on the resort to make up for the lack of sun and I am happy to say that the staff were fantastic. Although we had booked a hilltop villa for the view we received an upgrade to a beach villa and having made the hike to the hilltop villa (No. 9) to see our original selection we decided to take the lazy option and stick with the upgrade. We did prefer the layout of the hilltop however the thought of going up and down the steps each day was a little too much.
Our butler 'Thai' was most accomodating and followed up the villa upgrade with many more complimentary offerings which we gratefully accepted. Thai took care of everything for us making check-in/check out hassle free and would book dinner for us at 'Dining by the Rocks', bring fruit, and take us to and fro when rain prevented us from riding the bicycles.
One of the highlights for us was the food, right from an extensive breakfast (Best smoothies ever), a light lunch and an exquisite dinner. Whether it was 'Dining by the Rocks' or 'Dining by the Bay' Chef Basha ensured that every meal was fit for a King. The menu was wide and varied and even then Chef Basha was asking us if there was anything off the menu we would like and one night he cooked up a couple of mud crab dishes for us which were wonderful. This was the first resort where I had experienced the head chef coming out to talk to the guests, share a glass of wine and discuss the local produce and share culinery expereinces with everyone and I found this to be very pleasant and I think educational for all. One night we were treated to the creations of a Michelin star chef from France who was passing through, with each dish being washed down with a hand selected wine from an accompanying wine expert. Indeed the wine selection was also extensive.
I have to mention the Wagyu Beef is a must and cooked to perfection.
The spa was most relaxing and after a couple of complimentary treatments we endulged 3 more times from the array of massages on offer.
It has been almost 20 years since I last rode a bicycle and I thoroughly enjoyed using the bike to get to and from the villa and even to go for a genaral ride across the resort.
With the lack of sun we did become a little restless and could see that there is still a lot of potential in the resort which we discussed with the team eg, more varied and exploratory cycle paths, TVs on a swivel to allow viewing from the day bed, TV upstairs, less steps to climb (not sure this is posssbile though).
There are a few hiking trails on offer which were quite adventurous and also a tennis court, badmington, volleyball, table tennis and water sports.
Top of the luxury ladder it may not be but the aim is to blend in with nature therefore expect the odd bug and a few mosquito bites and dead leaves getting blown around.
All in all we enjoyed the seclusion, the relaxation, the fantastic food and great service and we say thanks to 'Thai' our butler, 'Chef Basha' and his team for the excellent food, 'Cuong' the young waiter and the rest of the staff for brightening our vacation where the sun failed to shine.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christou09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sixsensesninhvanbay, General Manager at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2011

Dear Christou09,

Thank you for your reveiw of our resort, we are all very happy that you had a great stay with us! Your review highlighting your experiences, our activities and most of all our fantastic hosts is very helpful for others. We also appreciate your recommendations and such the TV's on Swivels, additional TV upstairs and additional cycle paths for guests to enjoy and discover. We hope to implement some if not all of your suggestions!

Thank you once again for staying with us, we hope that we can welcome you back to our resort once again in the future or perhaps another Six Senses property.

Sincerely
Wayne Lunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we didn't want to leave. It has all those gorgeous touches a 5* should have; out door bath, lots of style, great food, everything is presented in a unique way... We loved it! Breakfast was also fantastic.

Def the place to stay if you're visiting nha trang.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepuilberqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sixsensesninhvanbay, General Manager at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2011

Dear pepuierqu,

Great to hear that you had an amazing 3-days with us and that you enjoyed the design and 5-star touches as well as the food. Thank you for your review and recommendation! We wish to welcome you back once again in the future or to another Six Senses property.

Best regards
Wayne Lunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We arrived between Christmas and New Year and stayed for 8 nights. From the meet and greet at the airport, the delightful welcome drink before we took the boat and the hearty welcome on the beach, we knew this was going to be a special place.
We stayed in hill top villa 5 that was well worth the climb just to see the views. The room was beautifully laid out and very spacious. The children enjoyed jumping into our pool at the end of a day on the beach. The LIFE Centre team were fantastic and spent many moments teaching the children how to make windmills from leaves, kites from newspapers or playing football or volleyball. Even the boat boys, especially 'Tham' (who always had a smile on his face), joined in whenever they had a spare minute.
Our butler, Suong was wonderful and very attentive. She had a great sense of humour and was brilliant with the children, who adored her. She often managed to prise them away from us in the evening to go to 'Cinema under the Stars' where they were well looked after and really enjoyed the popcorn!
The food throughout the resort was amazing. Chef Basha is a culinary wizard! All the time we were there every meal that we had was faultless. The menu was extensive and still Basha asked if there was anything else that the children needed. One evening he even cooked the fish they had caught earlier in the day - their faces said it all! Dining by the Rocks, is an experience not to be missed. The food and setting was exquisite and worthy of several Michelin stars. In our opinion, better than some of the Michelin starred restaurants that we have eaten in London and there was not a single expletive to be heard!
The management team were visible but not intrusive. The GM, Garry the F&B Manager and Chef Basha were frequently seen speaking with guests throughout the day, ensuring that their every need was catered for. This was a really lovely personal touch.
This was a great way to finish off a fantastic trip to Vietnam and without a doubt, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0LL0Y-FAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sixsensesninhvanbay, General Manager at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2011

Dear Molloy-Family,

Thank you very much for your kind review and thorough details of your stay, it is very helpful for others to have a greater understanding of our resort and hosts. I have passed on your comments to all the hosts and especially those that you have mentioned, they appreciate the recognition. We are all very happy that you had a wonderful holiday with your family and have taken home many memories to cherish.

We sincerely hope that you return once again and wishing you and your family a very happy Vietnamese New Year - Chum Mung Nam Moi!

Warm regards
Wayne Lunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews