We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good but the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay
Ranked #3 of 215 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights at the beach villa. It is a wooden villa with a private pool which is easy access to the beach. Pool is nice, it's bigger than my imagination. Very spacious area, 1 bedroom downstair, bathroom with outdoor shower, and upstair like a lounge for relaxation with a view.
Don't have many choices of food, especially the room service menu. As our villa quite far so most of the time we just ordered room service. Fish were good but burger. The main restaurant has a stunning view for dinner. We both loved it! Same, food is so so. Quite expensive for local standard but you have no other choices except taking the boat and go to mainland which isn't that much different.
We loved the Drink by the Bay Bar. Staff was good and it was so relaxing having a drink while looking over the bay on sun set.
The resort offered some free non-motorised activities like snorkeling, kayaking. We did but it was a cloudy day so not much to see. We took the local fishing tour arranged by the resort. Really nice wooden boat with a comfortable bed accompanied with a privated driver & tourguide. Lots of...well, baby fishes but big fishes. Even we tried to go to deeper water but no luck. But if you just like a relaxing trip, it is worth a try.
Beach is the weak point of this resort. Even the water is clean but beach is terrible. Couldn't have a walk in 5 mins. They should put some sandals on the beach for walking.
Everyday we cycled to the restaurant through organic garden or fruit garden and some monkeys, blue heads...here and there. Overall, it was a nice place to chill-out for couples of day.

Room Tip: Water villa is the best choice as its close to the main restaurant and look to the bay while beach v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khung Long B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sixsensesninhvanbay, General Manager at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Khung Long B,
Thank you for your overall positive feedback upon the resort and its services and some constructive comment; we are sincerely pleased that you had a great time with us!

We are indeed concerned by your feedback about the choice, quality and prices of our food, as our Head Chef and the culinary team goes to great lengths to provide the highest level of cuisine in all our restaurants including the room service and we also ensure that the price structure of our food is in line and compatible among all leading resort in the country.

For your information the shells and coral debris from our intertidal zone of beaches are part of the ecological diversity and near to us shore reefs are home to a multitude of coral species and due to its natural habitat, these coral debris, mollusc and other marine invertebrates are occasionally washed ashore. Nevertheless we strive to continuously maintain the condition of our beach, hence daily cleaning is performed by our team of gardeners.

I trust that we've addressed the concerns that you kindly pointed out and I sincerely wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to our resort!

With sincere regards,


Gary Henden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 597 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you want a get away from it all experience having travelled around Vietnam then this is the perfect retreat to recharge and relax. The accommodation is large and in keeping with the island surroundings, nothing jumps out of you. Robinson Crusoe with all the home comforts! All the room types are private and have their own plunge/private pool. There are hillside villas for total seclusion and rock villas with great sunrise views. For sunset views stay in the Water Villas. For those with children or difficulty climbing steps, choose the Beach Villas. All rooms come with the use of a bike to pop to the restaurants and bars.

The beach is large and the house reef is excellent for snorkelling. The food is fabulous and they even have their own kitchen garden. I loved this special island, just a short boat ride away from Nha Trang (if you do want to dip into busy city life) - but once you arrive on this paradise island, you won't want to leave. The GM, Gary, is incredibly welcoming and has a calming influence on all who meet him. If you get a chance, ask to visit the wine cellar and speak to the knowledgeable Somellier. When I departed, the other guests who had been staying for 12 nights were in tears at the thought of having to leave. If you are touring Vietnam then treat yourself to some downtime here in between the cultural bits!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but there are lots of steps to get to the Rock Villas, Pool Villas & Water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpecialK1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at water villa 5 for a few nights and then beach villa 33 for a few nights. Water Villa 5 is simply magnificent. Out on your own with the South China sea alongside and a ladder dipping into warm snorkelling water full of fish. The Water villa is nestled beautifully amongst the rocks . As you would expect (and want) it is out in the elements with the hot sun and warm breezes but has shelter when you need it. There is a separate little bungalow for lounging under cooling fans. The little pool is perfect to sit in and peer out to the warm sea or jump in the private outside shower. Privacy is guaranteed with a cute little "eyes down" privacy protector at the top of the path. The beach villa was a different experience again-more protected from the hot sun but with the beach just down the path if you wanted it. Once again very private, superbly designed outside bathroom, plunge pool and upstairs lounging area with views. Can't believe people complain about the distance to the restaurant (go find a condo if thst what you are after) as they provide cute little bikes which are great fun to ride on the shady paths. As for insects? They were barely noticeable (one or two mosquitos in 7 nights) and what do you expect in the tropics! As for food prices, we were nearly put off coming here by the postings regarding high prices but be aware they are talking about the special dining experiences rather than the normal fare. Prices are freely available on their website and include the wonderful Vietnamese buffet and quite reasonable fare-cocktails and beer prices fine too!. Breakfast buffet is absolutely fantastic and once again someone here complained about a gnat or something on the fruit? Oh please. Where else can you have a rare white tailed monkey (Douc Langur) swinging around in the forest while you have your pick of perfect local and international cuisine?

The attention from the amazing staff here is available if you want it but hidden away if you prefer to be left alone.
As for the staff- from our butler Sugar to all the restaraunt staff and Food and beverage manager Gary Chan they were the icing on the top of this amazing experience.

I am trying to find a negative from this holiday but simply can't. (but happy to respond to any questions).

A couple of tips. The spa couples "romantic hideaway" treatment was incredible. Gifted staff and simply the best spa we have ever been in anywhere.
Relax with a gentle walk in the restaraunt fruit & vegetable garden.
Go on the bush trek for a little taste of the jungle alongside you.

Room Tip: Water Villa 5 to us is even better that the presidential suite as it is closest to the wild north co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CPM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Just returned from a great week at 6 senses nha trang. The stay was actually part of our honeymoon- so maybe a bit of rose tinted-ness to our view, but overall I can highly recommend this very well run spa/resort.

Villas:
We had Water Villa 4 which (along with the other Water's edge properties) has a real jaw dropping location and the layout of villa, private infinity pool and 'lounge/day bedroom' was stunning. I would ask for water V.4 or 5.

A word of warning would be re. access. Our villa was 150 odd steps up and maybe the same back down from the breakfast restaurant and adjoining bar/library.
This does mean we weren't overlooked from above or directly which was great- but, given the heat, I'd guess anyone with slight mobility issues/older folk would quite possibly arrive for dinner more than a bit sweaty/puffed...

- another observation was that some of the hilltop villas were also a long-long way from the main reception, lunch resto, breakfast space etc. just be clear when you book... Take a Beach Villa or Water Villa or Lower/closer rock Villa. The butlers are great and drive you end to end in little golf carts, so it's just the climbing stairs really..

Otherwise, the villas were immaculate, really well serviced, beautifully cleaned and leave other resorts in the same price range very much in the shade. We didn't want to leave ours and indeed enjoyed a few nights in-villa dining by our own pool.

Food: 
the breakfasts were top notch. Really good, in fact.
Service ( as with the entire guest journey with 6 senses NT) was brilliant. Friendly, proactive and engaged. 
Lunches/Dinners-
There was a lunch restaurant which was fine. Quick, inexpensive and tasty.
The dining by the bay has a decent amount of dinner menu choice, different regional options and plenty of daily specials etc. A functional wine list and more top class table service really helps what we found to be good but not amazing food.
The premium option was the 'dining on he rocks' with a brilliant view of the bay. Again, lovely venue, good service (we met a nice guy who I believe was the F&B manager here and then on a number of other occasions at various different meals.) but again, not blown away by the food- but it was more than adequate, it just struggled to match the grandeur of the setting and the polished delivery!

Spa: 
we had their signature 2 hr treatment. Fantastic and not expensive for what it was. 

Activities:
Plenty to do. Lots of free activities and bags more you could pay for. We probably spent $50 USD a day each doing 'stuff'...
We did a really challenging guided hike up and over one of the little peaks that overlook the resort which ended with a private picnic on an isolated beach. This was brilliant but probably a bit more exertion than we were anticipating! (using fixed line ropes to descend at times and hopping over/across some big boulders etc!)
There were other easier hikes but if you're 'averagely' fit (and not too hungover) this is great.

Overall:
One of the best week (6 nts) stay I can recall at a hotel of this standard/type. Not cheap but ultimately delivers a brilliant destination/product with bags of style.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sam-Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband chose this hotel after seeing it on a best hotel list for Vietnam-our new favourite destination!!(second trip in 8 months!)After nearly 24hour of travelling(planes-3,boat-1 automobiles-2)we were delighted to arrive and be greeted 'Fantasy Island' style by the GM and his team !!
The hotel itself is so in harmony with nature that you hardly see it from the boat.I cannot say enough about this hotel and its staff!!Everyone was simply amazing from the Jonathan Rhys Meyers lookalike GM to his second in command Gary Cheng who was the most accommodating ,hospitable and friendly person on the island!!
A special mention about the resorts Sub club for children its BRILLIANT!! Anna and her team made it possible for me to really enjoy our stay at the resort by keeping my 3 year old occupied during the day,the movie evenings were amazingly organised and kept our 8 year old enthralled.The sub club was such a hit with our children and our friends children(2 girls of 6 and 2 of 8) that we hardly saw them during the days,the activities were really well thought out,cookie making ,organic gardening ,beginners Vietnamese to name a few.
I think our butler although excellent was perhaps assigned other guests too and strangely left half way through our stay and returned a few days later(not a patch on our butler at the Nam Hai though).The spa is wonderful as are the staff.
The food and abundance of our favourite NZ wines is so so fantastic that I found it incredibly hard to stick to my diet!The head chef was so accommodating and would prepare things off menu for us at the slightest request-incredible to have met a female head chef finally!!!Her lobster Thermidor is a must!!!All the restaurants are great but the 'dining on the rocks' and wine cellar were my favourites.
The rooms in the 2 bedroom pool beach villa were very 'natural' in style,clean and air-conditioning was great.The only thing that wasn't perfect was the amount of and cockroaches(8) we encountered during our stay probably due to the open nature of the bathrooms-Im sure this is perfectly normal in locations like this(we certainly saw lots of them in St Barths last year too) unfortunately I have a phobia of them,however,I certainly understand that the hotel probably cant do anything about them without harming the other fauna on the peninsula.
The trecks in the resort were fantastic and we even encountered some monkeys,I would give the diving a miss though as its far and the thing that is most abundant in the water is the many many many other divers from lots of dive boats.Stay at the resort and try the kayaking and other water sports instead.
The best and most relaxed holiday to date!!!We never left the resort for 2 weeks-only to dive once- and were really able to 'escape' from it all!!!!!!!I would definetely go back!!!
.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radhi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
2.2 km away
L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay
L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay
#7 of 215 in Nha Trang
733 reviews
15.3 km away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
15.5 km away
InterContinental Nha Trang
InterContinental Nha Trang
#6 of 215 in Nha Trang
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35 km away
Fusion Resort Nha Trang
Fusion Resort Nha Trang
#9 of 215 in Nha Trang
348 reviews
16.6 km away
Rosaka Nha Trang Hotel
Rosaka Nha Trang Hotel
#5 of 215 in Nha Trang
352 reviews
26 km away
Mia Resort Nha Trang
Mia Resort Nha Trang
#1 of 215 in Nha Trang
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Ninh Van Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Ninh Van Bay

Address: Ninh Van Bay, Nha Trang 57000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nha Trang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
#3 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
#5 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
#9 Business Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range: $822 - $1,711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Ninh Van Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay sits on a dramatic bay, with impressive rock formations. Golden sand beach and towering mountains add to the sense of being at one with nature. The family friendly resort’s architectural style incorporates Vietnamese traditions, with all 58 accommodations being personal pool villas.The restaurants at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay serve international and local favourites complemented by the best local seafood, including lobsters and king prawns. There are wonderful spaces for lounging with drinks from the wine cave, or healthy fresh juices and favourite libations from the bar.Six Senses Spa at Ninh Van Bay is a sanctuary for all the senses, with traditional Vietnamese treatments and Six Senses Signatures to suit every individual guest. In addition to the breath-taking treatment rooms, the spa is equipped with yoga pavilion, a gymnasium, hair salon and spa retail gallery.In addition to blissful relaxation, guests can also enjoy many activities and excursions on water, under water at the coral reef and on land by joining a cultural or wildlife adventure; or making use of the resort's facilities and wide variety of sporting equipment. The resort is also a perfect setting for beautiful wedding ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Six Senses Ninh Van Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Ninh Van Bay
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay Hotel Nha Trang
Ana Mandara Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing