We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
101
161
67
22
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
161
67
22
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop gearbig lockersfree shotsbed dormbike tourfree breakfastclean roomsplace to stayvietnam
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We already saw several hostels in Vietnam, but I never met such greedy and impolite people managing an hostel..

We got there with the idea of staying at the hostel, but after few words with them we changed plan: didn't want to give us wifi password, their breakfast was just twice as much as the bar next door and they wanted to charge more than 5 dollars for four minutes ride by car (taxi was 1.5 dollars)... with such a beginning I don't wanna think about the service in the hostel

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Edoardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Greetings traveler

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. We appreciate all feedback and take it seriously. We will be passing your review on to all staff members to ensure that it does not happen again.

I would like to clear a few points though. Our breakfast is included in our prices and is free to all guests staying with us. We also regularly have people coming into the hostel who are not staying with us and everybody is welcome. We have the wifi password advertised around the hostel and is free to use by all.

We apologize that you did not have a positive experience with us and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kind regards
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We were in a double bed dorm and found everything to be clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly and you get a large, ice cold free beer at happy hour. Central location, good choice of tours and a great place to meet other travellers.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Spencer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear you had such a great experience while staying with us.

If you are ever in the area again, feel free to come join us for another beer.

Cheers
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Hue Backpackers for a night.
Pros - great location (it's in the heart of the tourist area with buzzing life all around) , relatively cheap, effective air conditioning
Cons - bed bugs (that effectively ruined all sleep), extremely tiny and badly ventilated bathrooms, unhelpful and rude staff

Overall, it was an awful experience and I can't understand why this place is rated so highly.

Pro tip - the bikes on rent from the reception are very expensive. Rent from the DMZ place across the road. Or, even better, just stay at the DMZ place.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank journeygirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Greetings

Thank you for taking the time the to write us a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take bedbugs very seriously as they can spread quickly. We offer free laundry (all clothing and bags, dirty or not) if bed bugs come from our hostel as well as move guests to another bed. I apologize that this was not explained to you when you brought it to our attention.

Our bike rentals are more expensive than some of the other places as we MotorVina for our bikes as they are the most reputable rental company in Hue and offer excellent support in the case that something goes wrong.

Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as we would hoped for you to. If you are in Hue again, please feel free to come have a chat with us about it.

Kind regards
Jaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights in a double bed in a dorm. Comfortable beds and clean room with Ac and big lockers. The staff friendly and helpful. Free breakfast and free beer everyday at 6 pm. Wifi didn't work good in our room in the 3rd floor. The food here is a little bit expensive for Vietnam, we asked the spring rolls and were so tiny, minisprings rolls. You can rent motorbikes here for 105 per day.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fran_Zunigau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for the positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a good time. Our menu caters towards home foods and creature comforts, however, our staff are more than happy to recommend excellent local foods and restaurants.

Thank you again for the review and feel free to come visit us any time again.

Cheers
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

I was part of the Vietnam Backpackers tour going from Hanoi to Hoi An. The tour was great, but by the time we got to Hue I needed some privacy, so I paid a little extra for a private room. The room was in a building across the street from the main Hostel. It was a bit damp, the hallways were creepy at night and the room was in need of a revamp. The hostel itself is a bit run down and the party atmosphere was constant - so I guess that's great if you're looking for that kind of thing.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you had such a great time on the tour and enjoyed it so much. We agree with your sentiments and are busy planning a revamp of the hostel as well as private rooms. We are constantly striving to offer the best services to our guests and to ensure they have positive, fun and safe experience with us.

We hope you the best in your travels further.

Kind regards
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews