We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
102
161
67
22
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
161
67
22
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top gear big lockers free shots bed dorm bike tour free breakfast clean rooms place to stay backpackers vietnam
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

The hostel itself was exactly what you want, also very close to DMZ bar which is a must whilst you're there. Try and meet Locky and say Ash and Gia sent you. You may be lucky enough to be invited to a 'meeting'. The best thing for me though we're the two tour guides who took us from Hue to Hoi An, along the Hai Van Pass. Gung and Nam were the nicest, most friendly, and helpful people. We couldn't have asked for better. I hope someone from the hostel reads this, passes on our thanks again, and recognises them for their amazing work. Cheers boys!! YO!! :)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for leaving us a response and we are glad to hear you had such a great time, not only in the hostel but also in Hue itself. We will be sure to send your thanks and regards on to Locky, Gung and Nam.

Thank you again and feel free to come by any time again.

Cheers
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The location is good to arrange activities by yourself. The price for private room is decent. The staffs were quite friendly and spoke good english. The drinks and food are very cheap.However it's quite a busy and noisy stay here. If you want to have a quiet stay this is not for you. If you like to have more fun and happy hours this is good place.

Room Tip: Take a room on higher floor
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petlover90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Greetings traveler.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good time. We strive to arrange a fun and social atmosphere for our guests and sometimes it can get a bit rowdy at night. However, we close our bar at 11pm so as to help keep the noise levels down for our guests that are tired and whom have a early start the next day.

Thank you again and if you are in the area again feel free to visit us again.

Kind regards
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stayed in the all-female dorm where there were dirty linens, cockroaches and ants. The electricity also goes on and off all night (which I guess can be good so you don't see the ants all over the dining room tables and your food at that)! You can't rent a towel, you can only buy one for the same price as a bus ticket to Hoi An. I was supposed to stay here two nights but decided to get out after one!

This is a lovely place for a drink, but you DO NOT have to stay here to party here! Find yourself a nicer hostel and just drop in to meet people/drink!

As for the staff, the western guy who appears to be in charge was very nice/helpful, but the rest of the staff both Vietnamese and Western were rude and acted as if I was an annoyance for asking questions about where to visit/eat! After having a good experience at the Vietnam Backpackers Hostel - Original in Hanoi, I expected a bit more from this place.

Will not return, do not recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MhLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always strive to improve and welcome all feedback, positive and negative. We will definitely be investigating linen and the bugs. We put down spray and traps and constantly clean the tables and kitchen as food attracts the critters but in Vietnam it is a problem. I will also have a chat with my staff and find out what happened. I will send you a message with my email address and please feel free to send me any details.

We strive to create a fun and social atmosphere for our guests to enjoy a drink and to meet like-minded travelers. If you are ever in the area please feel free to come talk to me personally.

Safe travels and we hope you have great trip further.

Kind regards
Jaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms are quite small, especially for someone who is as tall as me. But the beds are good and the lockers are quite handy. The staff is very friendly. Besides the somewhat claustrophobic feeling a got, I was satisfied.. the breakfast is also good.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Teun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear that you had a good time with us and enjoyed your stay.

If you are in the area again feel free to come in for a chat and a drink with us.

Kind regards
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Went here for some food and a few drinks! Ended up doing a pub quiz it's a real cool place good music and the food was good too! They have quite a few different things going on ,on different days so always something interesting to do!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our food and drinks and took part in the pub quiz. Everybody is always welcome to come join us for a drink or two.

If you are ever in the area feel free to pop in again for a drink on us. Safe travels and hope you have a great time further in Vietnam.

Kind regards
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews