We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, bad smell and lot of overnight sharing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Ranked #26 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Hue
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Definitely, a place to avoid for the traveller. This one only aims to make cash with drunk people. Beer pong, drinking games, loud music... you have them all here. Plus a lot of extra noise inside your room, when 8 people are in a 6-bunk bedroom. Not to mention, the bathroom is inside the room and does not ventilate.

Room Tip: Best tip is to look for another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as possible. We aim to create a fun and social atmosphere for our guests to enjoy themselves and to meet fellow like-minded travelers. Sometimes the activities get a bit rowdy.

Thank you again for you feedback and we hope you have safe travels and a great trip further.

Kind regards
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

The hostel itself was exactly what you want, also very close to DMZ bar which is a must whilst you're there. Try and meet Locky and say Ash and Gia sent you. You may be lucky enough to be invited to a 'meeting'. The best thing for me though we're the two tour guides who took us from Hue to Hoi An, along the Hai Van Pass. Gung and Nam were the nicest, most friendly, and helpful people. We couldn't have asked for better. I hope someone from the hostel reads this, passes on our thanks again, and recognises them for their amazing work. Cheers boys!! YO!! :)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for leaving us a response and we are glad to hear you had such a great time, not only in the hostel but also in Hue itself. We will be sure to send your thanks and regards on to Locky, Gung and Nam.

Thank you again and feel free to come by any time again.

Cheers
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The location is good to arrange activities by yourself. The price for private room is decent. The staffs were quite friendly and spoke good english. The drinks and food are very cheap.However it's quite a busy and noisy stay here. If you want to have a quiet stay this is not for you. If you like to have more fun and happy hours this is good place.

Room Tip: Take a room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petlover90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Greetings traveler.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good time. We strive to arrange a fun and social atmosphere for our guests and sometimes it can get a bit rowdy at night. However, we close our bar at 11pm so as to help keep the noise levels down for our guests that are tired and whom have a early start the next day.

Thank you again and if you are in the area again feel free to visit us again.

Kind regards
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stayed in the all-female dorm where there were dirty linens, cockroaches and ants. The electricity also goes on and off all night (which I guess can be good so you don't see the ants all over the dining room tables and your food at that)! You can't rent a towel, you can only buy one for the same price as a bus ticket to Hoi An. I was supposed to stay here two nights but decided to get out after one!

This is a lovely place for a drink, but you DO NOT have to stay here to party here! Find yourself a nicer hostel and just drop in to meet people/drink!

As for the staff, the western guy who appears to be in charge was very nice/helpful, but the rest of the staff both Vietnamese and Western were rude and acted as if I was an annoyance for asking questions about where to visit/eat! After having a good experience at the Vietnam Backpackers Hostel - Original in Hanoi, I expected a bit more from this place.

Will not return, do not recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MhLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always strive to improve and welcome all feedback, positive and negative. We will definitely be investigating linen and the bugs. We put down spray and traps and constantly clean the tables and kitchen as food attracts the critters but in Vietnam it is a problem. I will also have a chat with my staff and find out what happened. I will send you a message with my email address and please feel free to send me any details.

We strive to create a fun and social atmosphere for our guests to enjoy a drink and to meet like-minded travelers. If you are ever in the area please feel free to come talk to me personally.

Safe travels and we hope you have great trip further.

Kind regards
Jaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms are quite small, especially for someone who is as tall as me. But the beds are good and the lockers are quite handy. The staff is very friendly. Besides the somewhat claustrophobic feeling a got, I was satisfied.. the breakfast is also good.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Teun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Greetings traveler

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear that you had a good time with us and enjoyed your stay.

If you are in the area again feel free to come in for a chat and a drink with us.

Kind regards
The Hue Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 km away
DMZ Hotel
DMZ Hotel
#50 of 123 in Hue
227 reviews
0.5 km away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#8 of 123 in Hue
2,276 reviews
0.3 km away
Hue Happy Homestay
Hue Happy Homestay
#1 of 128 in Hue
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Why Not Hostel
Why Not Hostel
#3 of 128 in Hue
192 reviews
0.3 km away
FA Backpackers Hostel
0.3 km away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#13 of 128 in Hue
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hue Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Hue
Price Range: $13 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hue Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hue Backpackers` Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing