We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
101
161
67
22
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
161
67
22
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop gearbig lockersfree shotsbed dormbike tourfree breakfastclean roomsplace to stayvietnam
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

This hostel was such good fun! The food was decent with a range of options and the rooms were okay as well with AC whenever you need the break.

The thing that made this hostel was the staff though - super friendly and nice with lots of advice even if you're not planning to do the tours with them which just makes them very genuine.

A huge highlight was Shane's bike tour of hue! Really knowledge, nice dude who's (I hate to admit it) pretty funny and he takes you to lots of spaces that are off the beaten track. His enthusiasm for a place he loves is infectious.

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to have a bit of a party as well as being able to get out and see hue in the day.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Conor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Hi traveler

Thank you for the positive feedback Conor. Shane and I are really happy that you not only enjoyed your stay at our hostel but that the Hue bike tour was a highlight.

We do our best to be knowledgeable of Vietnam and the surrounding area so as to provide honest and accurate information to our guests. We also aim to provide an environment that promotes fun and the social aspect of travelling.

If you are ever in the area again feel free to join us for a couple of beers!

Safe travels and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Whilst we didn't stay inside the hostel itself but in a building with private rooms just down the room (ended up being really good) We had a really great time just hanging about in the hostel itself. The manager, Lachy, was an extremely polite Australian dude who gave me directions to some interesting sights nearby which were reachable by scooter & bicycle, which the hostel happily rented to us. Also managed to meet quite a few fellow travellers including someone from my home town back in New Zealand at the very loud and raging bar downstairs, awesome! If you're looking for a hostel in every sense of the word, give this place a go, they'll help you out wherever they can.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joshlololo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016

Dear traveller

Thank you for the positive review!

As we are a relatively small hostel we do not have the capacity for private rooms and therefore rent rooms from the hotel across from us. We do our best to provide a fun and social environment for travellers to socialize and make friends.

I am also extremely happy to hear our staff was able to provide you with further travel advice for this awesome city.

Anytime you are in the area feel free to pop by again!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Nice hostel of the Vietnam Backpackers chain.
Due to the nice bar at the ground floor, where they serve free beers @ 5pm it's a good hostel to meet people. Bar has nice open walls and a terrace, which is good in the Hue heat. Lovely spot. They have a kitchen as well and serve great food, as well as the typical (free, included) breakfast options: eggs or pancakes.
Upstairs are the dorms. Not too big.
They offer some good options for tours as well. Booked a Top Gear Experience through them and had a great day!
Overall lovely spot, well located and has a nice vibe.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016

Dear traveller
Thank you for the awesome review. We try our best to create a social environment for like minded travellers and backpackers to meet and socialize.

We are glad you had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our Top Gear Experience.

Safe travels further and feel free to drop by again and have a beer with us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This is a great place to stay for people who want to meet other travelers and have a bit of a party. There is pretty much a happy hour for some sort of drink all night and with quizzes and beer crawls has a very social environment. Saying all that I found the place very relaxing during the day.

The location is great, not too far from the citadel and surrounded by bars and restaurants. It is a cheap and included breakfast and free beer for an hour too. The rooms were decent, clean with lockers (although mine was broken).

The place actually closes about 12 so there is an opportunity to sleep but there was music from across the road going on fairly late but I didn't find this too disturbing.

I'm pretty sure this is the place to stay in Hue if you want to party! (and even if you don't)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlHarvey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBH_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Hi traveller

Thank you for staying with us and having such an enjoyable time. I am glad you were able to experience the social aspect of backpacking while still being able to rest and relax during the day.

We close our bar at 11pm to give our guests the opportunity to sleep if they wish to do so.

Thank you for letting us know about your broken locker. We do regular maintenance and the issue has been looked into.

Feel free to join us again for another drink or two!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

I stayed just one night, before heading to Hoi An. The hostel is really nice and the staff pretty helpful (even if definitely too eager to sell you their tour!).
If you're looking for a party hostel, you're in the right place. Full of backpackers, loud music and quizzes games all night. It's a bit too loud for my taste, but it was perfect to meet new people.
The dorms are really small with the bed cramped in a tiny room, but for one night was fine. Breakfast, was OK.
I booked from them the top gear experience (going to Hue by motorbike), and it has been a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Athwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBH_Hue, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Hue, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Hey traveller,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience.

We do like a party and an evening of fun, it's a great way to relax and meet other travellers. Our bar shuts at 11pm allowing those that want to head to bed or out in to the town to do so.

We are glad you enjoyed the trip to Hoi An via motorbike, definitely something not to be missed.

Best of luck for the rest of your travels,
The team in Hue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews