We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately, this hostel attracts the worst kind of backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Ranked #25 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Hue
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Wifi was non-existent, bathroom was so small that you can only turn on the spot and looking at the layout of the bathroom, they probably didn't put much thought into it when partition the toilet and shower. Breakfast option was decent but portion very small, only worth if its free, extremely overpriced if paid for.

Music was loud and it didn't help that the windows was broken and doors didn't close properly. Bed was very creaky, didn't help that my bunk mate was having sex all night all, there really should be a rule for them to get a private room for that but I blame it on that particular guy's ill upbringing.

Service was sub par, the receptionist isn't the most polite person you'll meet though the backpackers helping in the hostel seem like decent fellows.

An out-and-out party hostel, where you only meet inconsiderate people who do not understand how doors work nor realize that being in a historically rich city, there's more than just getting drunk on cheap beers that taste like water.

Room Tip: Best tip? Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayjiabao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016

Dear Traveller
After reading some of your other reviews it seems like Vietnam has not been the best experience for you.

We are sorry to hear that your stay has not been to your satisfaction and would like to apologies for the issues you found. Our building is over 80 years and with a lot of the original design and layout meaning the showers are big enough to move and shower in, but not for a shower party or for person laundry.

We are known as a social hostel where people enjoy meeting fellow travellers, sharing experiences and having the few odd drinks and laughs in the evening. We do close the bar and turn off the music at 11pm sharp to allow our guests to have a quiet night if they so wish.

We provide constant maintenance and our doors and windows so that they do close properly. This is something we take serious as it is needed for our air conditioners to operate properly and efficiently and not waste money and hurt the environment.

It is unfortunate that your room mate got it on above you, this is something we cannot control at night time unless someone informs us immediately of the naughty wrong doings. We apologies for their actions but please expect this again in the future if you choose to stay in shared/dorm rooms.

We would love to know further about your experience here in Hue so shall email you directly so we can improve our services.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review,
The team in Hue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

This hostel was such good fun! The food was decent with a range of options and the rooms were okay as well with AC whenever you need the break.

The thing that made this hostel was the staff though - super friendly and nice with lots of advice even if you're not planning to do the tours with them which just makes them very genuine.

A huge highlight was Shane's bike tour of hue! Really knowledge, nice dude who's (I hate to admit it) pretty funny and he takes you to lots of spaces that are off the beaten track. His enthusiasm for a place he loves is infectious.

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to have a bit of a party as well as being able to get out and see hue in the day.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Conor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Hi traveler

Thank you for the positive feedback Conor. Shane and I are really happy that you not only enjoyed your stay at our hostel but that the Hue bike tour was a highlight.

We do our best to be knowledgeable of Vietnam and the surrounding area so as to provide honest and accurate information to our guests. We also aim to provide an environment that promotes fun and the social aspect of travelling.

If you are ever in the area again feel free to join us for a couple of beers!

Safe travels and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Whilst we didn't stay inside the hostel itself but in a building with private rooms just down the room (ended up being really good) We had a really great time just hanging about in the hostel itself. The manager, Lachy, was an extremely polite Australian dude who gave me directions to some interesting sights nearby which were reachable by scooter & bicycle, which the hostel happily rented to us. Also managed to meet quite a few fellow travellers including someone from my home town back in New Zealand at the very loud and raging bar downstairs, awesome! If you're looking for a hostel in every sense of the word, give this place a go, they'll help you out wherever they can.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joshlololo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016

Dear traveller

Thank you for the positive review!

As we are a relatively small hostel we do not have the capacity for private rooms and therefore rent rooms from the hotel across from us. We do our best to provide a fun and social environment for travellers to socialize and make friends.

I am also extremely happy to hear our staff was able to provide you with further travel advice for this awesome city.

Anytime you are in the area feel free to pop by again!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Nice hostel of the Vietnam Backpackers chain.
Due to the nice bar at the ground floor, where they serve free beers @ 5pm it's a good hostel to meet people. Bar has nice open walls and a terrace, which is good in the Hue heat. Lovely spot. They have a kitchen as well and serve great food, as well as the typical (free, included) breakfast options: eggs or pancakes.
Upstairs are the dorms. Not too big.
They offer some good options for tours as well. Booked a Top Gear Experience through them and had a great day!
Overall lovely spot, well located and has a nice vibe.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco_Hue, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016

Dear traveller
Thank you for the awesome review. We try our best to create a social environment for like minded travellers and backpackers to meet and socialize.

We are glad you had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our Top Gear Experience.

Safe travels further and feel free to drop by again and have a beer with us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This is a great place to stay for people who want to meet other travelers and have a bit of a party. There is pretty much a happy hour for some sort of drink all night and with quizzes and beer crawls has a very social environment. Saying all that I found the place very relaxing during the day.

The location is great, not too far from the citadel and surrounded by bars and restaurants. It is a cheap and included breakfast and free beer for an hour too. The rooms were decent, clean with lockers (although mine was broken).

The place actually closes about 12 so there is an opportunity to sleep but there was music from across the road going on fairly late but I didn't find this too disturbing.

I'm pretty sure this is the place to stay in Hue if you want to party! (and even if you don't)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlHarvey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBH_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Hi traveller

Thank you for staying with us and having such an enjoyable time. I am glad you were able to experience the social aspect of backpacking while still being able to rest and relax during the day.

We close our bar at 11pm to give our guests the opportunity to sleep if they wish to do so.

Thank you for letting us know about your broken locker. We do regular maintenance and the issue has been looked into.

Feel free to join us again for another drink or two!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 km away
DMZ Hotel
DMZ Hotel
#51 of 124 in Hue
227 reviews
0.5 km away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#10 of 124 in Hue
2,277 reviews
0.3 km away
Hue Happy Homestay
Hue Happy Homestay
#1 of 127 in Hue
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Why Not Hostel
Why Not Hostel
#3 of 127 in Hue
192 reviews
0.3 km away
FA Backpackers Hostel
0.3 km away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#12 of 127 in Hue
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hue Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Hue
Price Range: $13 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hue Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hue Backpackers` Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing