We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Nearby Hotels
USD 119
USD 73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 34
USD 32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 91
USD 82
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 240
USD 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 107
USD 98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 29
USD 24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 27/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 35
USD 17
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 48
USD 43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 163
USD 144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
100
158
67
22
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
158
67
22
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop geardrinking gamesbig lockersfree shotsbeer pongbike tourvietnamese staffbed dormfree breakfastclean roomsplace to stayenjoyed my stayhai van passcentral locationbackpackingprosasia
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Well I don't usually enjoy staying in backpackers' hostels and prefer more authentic local hotels, but anyway I have to say that this is a good one. I stayed there with 5 friends of mine, so we got a 6 beds mix dorm which was reasonably big and clean. The balconies are great. Prices are cheap and included you have the breakfast and free beers from 5pm! All the staff was really helpful. The hotel is located in a very touristic area, but 10 minutes walking are enough to escape. Recommended if you like backpackers' places...

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Melissa_xuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBH_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Hey buddy,

So glad you and your friends were able to stay with us and change your thoughts on where to stay.

Everyone is please to read your review and it makes our day.

Thanks once again for staying with us and enjoy the rest of Asia.

Kind regards,
The team in Hue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

At the behest of lonely planet we ended up crashing here for what was meant be an evening stop over before Hanoi that turned into four evening fun fest. The hostel itself is clean and cheap full to the brim with some of the funner people you'll meet. The actual area surrounding Hue is not to be missed, to do so would be of real detriment to your Vietnam experience! Highly recommend the motorbike tour run by the hostel- the abandoned water park is mind boggling and the local culture, history and environment is both intriguing and inspiring. Callum and Lockie (the gurus) are gorgeous, darling boys and getting to know them will only enhance your trip- the fellas know their stuff. Also cheap drinks so you know, get loose.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Layla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBH_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your awesome review and comments on what we do.
We as so pleased to hear of your experience with us and wish you the best on the remainder of your travels.

Kind regards,
The team in Hue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016

The hostel offered some great things to do. We went on a bike tour which i highly recommend to anyone! It was amazing. We saw so much and learnt some interesting things too. It definitely gave me a more authentic view of Hue.
The guests and the staff in the hostel were lovely people. The hostel was small compared to Backpackers' in Hanoi and actually, this was so much better. It meant there was a more relaxed friendly atmosphere.

Loved it. Would go back again.

DO THE MOTORBIKE TOUR.

Room Tip: Dorms over private room
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eggsontoastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBH_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Hello EggsontoastLondon,

Firstly, great name haha!

Thank you for you review and spreading the word of all the great things we do in Hue. It's great to hear that the staff made your visit along with our tours.

Best wishes,
The team in Hue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

Nice place, good vibe. Could do with more space but the trips they do are great.
The staff were incredibly friendly and fun. The motorbike trip they do is possibly one of the best days riding i have done, very informative and the water park is awesome! Cheers for the good stay just wish you had a little more space!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBH_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review, feedback and positive response to what we offer.
So glad you enjoyed the motorbike trip, it is awesome!

Best of luck on your travels,
The team in Hue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Having just driven the Hai Van pass in torrential rain a hot shower was needed but never gotten. 3 people travelling together we expected a dorm room or private room with 3 beds, what we were given was a double and a single, in a building across from the hostel. More of an apartment block.

The area was slap bang in the middle of backpacker heaven, but too extreme at some points during the day. For the size of hostel the social area wasn't the biggest.

Shout out to Lockie for all his advice about travelling north. We initially intended to travel south but he change our minds and we're thankful for that.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBH_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Hi guys,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and discuss your experiences with us.

For the size of the hostel we have a wikid space for Breakfast, Reception and a social area for evening activities. We cannot physically make it bigger as we only have the one building.

Our 3 bed private rooms are a single and a double bed. We only charge $20 USD ($6,66 each) with ensuite, towels, free water, free beer every night, wifi, security, breakfast and much more.

The bed layout should have been explained to you before entering the room so our apologies if this was not done. We want our guest to feel comfortable, safe and have a great experience.

As with most smaller Vietnamese hotels/hostels, there is a power switch for the shower and this takes 10 minutes or so to heat up between uses.

We are sorry you did get the experience we are trying to offer and shall take you comments on board.

Many thanks,
The team in Hue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews