We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with a lovely kind staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel
Ranked #16 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a lovely kind staff”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

love our stay at the HongThien 2 hotel. the staff was always very kind and the location was ideal, right near the main strip of restaurants and bars! our room was very clean and the bathroom was one of the nicest we`ve seen on our travels in asia!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    72
    31
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
103
90
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hue, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2012

After price war with next door I chose to stay in this Hotel because Hong (lady who was on reception) was very helpful and welcoming. During my stay the staff gave me sound advice, undercut others on prices of trips and flights and were very friendly.

Room Tip: room 201 was mine and good - facing street but good balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

A great family run hotel. Fantastic location close to bars and restaurants and an easy walk to the river and the citadel.
Good value for money and very friendly and helpful staff. I needed to get to Danang to catch a flight and everything was arranged for me.

Room Tip: 301 is really pretty and you won't have to walk up too many flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Stayed for two nights while backpacking. Paid 10 usd a night including breakfast.

We were given a room from the top floor. The room was newly done, very small, but very clean and cozy.

The staff were slightly pushy about tours but didn't mind us not ordering any. We didn't buy any tours from them, yet they were nevertheless very helpfull and friendly, definitely more so than at many other places.

Downsides are the lack of heating - there is an AC unit, but its only for cooling. Another issue is a hole in the wall between the two adjacent rooms' bathrooms. Thus, you'll clearly hear everything happening in your neighbours bathroom. This was the situation on the top floor, we do not know of the other floors.

All in all, the best value we've had during our two weeks in Vietnam and we'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSN2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here for one night due to the floods cancelling our bus, and we were so glad we did.

The staff were so friendly and gave us free incredibly string Vietnamese tea and were constantly asking if we wanted to eat something (as the shops and some restaurants were shut due to the floods) they also rang our bus booking company for us a few times to confirm bus details. Basically they were great.

The room was modern with air con, a nice bed and a flat screen TV. The only thing that stops Hong Thien 1 hotel room getting a 5 star review was the shower. The temperature kept changing temperature 'from hotter than the sun', to' colder than the Ice planet Hoth'. I'm sure my screams could be heard throughout Hue. So if they sort this out it could be the best budget hotel in Hue.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tebbotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.5 km away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#7 of 121 in Hue
2,107 reviews
0.1 km away
Hong Thien Hotel 1
Hong Thien Hotel 1
#27 of 121 in Hue
688 reviews
0.2 km away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#6 of 121 in Hue
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.1 km away
Hue Happy Homestay
Hue Happy Homestay
#2 of 100 in Hue
200 reviews
0.0 km away
Ngoc Hung Backpackers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel

Property: Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel
Address: 46 Chu Van An, Hue, Vietnam (Formerly Hong Thien Hotel 2)
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Hue
Price range (per night): $13 - $75
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location in the backpacker centre of Hue city, take you only 1 minute walking to the Huong river,10 minutes walking to the Dong Ba Market,20 minutes to the well-known Imperial Citadel. There are total 12 beautiful private and Dorm rooms with nice view and public balcony and large windows. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with satellite TV, Air-conditioner, mini bar, hot water, bath tub, internet ADSL, international call, WiFi free fast connect, parking free. The hotel also provides travel facilities such as City tour, DMZ tour, Dragon boat trip on Huong river, National Bach Ma Garden, Phong Nha cave tour and Daily bus from Hue to Da Nang, Hoi An, Nha Trang, Ho Chi Minh, Phong Nha cave, Ninh Binh, Ha Noi, Sapa, Ha Long Bay, Laos... & Motorbike, bicycle rental... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing