We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Hotel in backpacker district of HCMC”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duc Vuong Hotel
Ranked #36 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel in backpacker district of HCMC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is very modern by HCMC District 1 standards. It is right in the middle of district one and its T-shirt shops, quirky bars and many travel agents. This hotel has a lift, most don't. The family atmosphere at meal times is quiet nice. The food is fairly average but as a social tool great to meet fellow travellers. This Hotel has great security and friendly staff. It can get quite busy when catering for large tour groups. The day we arrived HCMC suffered a major downpour of rain and the streets quicly flooded to knee deep water. The staff did there upmost to keep the water out and actually took in more guests from other flooded hotels. The rooms are fine and comfortable and kept clean. Water for showers was ample but only luke warm at best. The bed was on the small size but ok if your under 5'10" tall. The hotel is good value for the money and internet access through WIFI was acceptable. Transport is readily available nearbye and many good food options both local Vietnamese and Western is cheap and plentiful in walking distance from the hotel. Avail yourself of a great massage at one of the many local establishments, its cheap and your aching muscles will thank you. Just nearbye is SOZO coffee, this charity run coffee shop gives former street kids and those with disabilities a start in life. The coffee and cakes are great and the atmosphere relaxing. Overall this hotel is a good option for those who like a western standard hotel in an asian country.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    748
    222
    56
    21
See reviews for
253
766
219
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have stayed at the Duc Vuong hotel 4 times now and have been very satisfied. The rooms are clean and staff are very friendly and helpful. The included buffet breakfast is excellent. The roof top bar, wonderful at sunset. And you couldn't ask for a better position, right in the middle of the backpack tourist area.

Room Tip: The cheapest room only have a window to the passage, but ok if you want cheap. The mid and upper pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Although this hotel is not cheap to stay at, the value is definitely there. The staff all greet you with a smile & call you by name within a day. The standard rooms were a little small, but very nice. They were spotless & came with all toiletries & an in-room safe.

The included buffet breakfast was delicious. Don't forget to order a freshly made omelette. They also offer a complimentary "Family meal" each night on the rooftop dining area if you notify them earlier in the day that you are interested. Set food items are provided & they ask all the guests to introduce themselves & where they are from This is a nice icebreaker. Good food & a great way to meet other travelers. They provide free bananas & drinking water in the lobby as well. There is free wifi, & several free computers to use if you need them. They will even offer you free tea while you check emails!

I stayed at this hotel as a walkup last year & was impressed. This year I booked online on their website/email. Because I booked 2 rooms for 3 days, they agreed to meet our group at the airport with a free shuttle. Even though our flight was late & we got bogged down for a while getting our visas, there was a smiling face there with my name on a sign. The SUV was new with chilly aircon! Nice not to have to wrangle for a taxi.

Overall, this is a first class organization.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed here with a friend whilst travelling through HCMC for my birthday recently.
The hotel is well located and the rooms are clean and modern, if a little small. The real positive for this hotel is the exceptionally friendly staff and the great breakfast. You are made to feel like part of the Duc Vuong "family" when you are a guest here, and we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks to the team.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I've stayed in this hotel before and it was very good. as I was travelling through Ho Chi Minh on my way to Nha Trang I thought I'd stay again. I booked online through their web page. When I arrived, they didn't have my reservation, which I didn't receive a conformation for, but I did get charged through Paypal for the deposit. I showed them that and they just shrugged their shoulders. They did have a room for me but of course it was upgraded at extra cost, I didn't get the 35% discount that was promised for booking online and I wasn't discounted the fee from Paypal. It was only $4 but that isn't the point. I'll stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsalt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thanks for your review. i really appreciate. It help us to improve our hotel services to make you and our guests to be satisfied in the future. Could you please do me a favorite by forward me the payment confirmation of Paypal (or any evident to prove for that), i will give you back the Paypal fee and 35% Off for the room you stayed. Your payment is the final confirmation of the booking with Duc Vuong hotel. Any way, if you can not prove for the payment, we would not have any responsibility for your last booking because it was not completed and confirmed. I would like to sorry for the behavior of our receptionist that was made you unhappy. Thank you for your help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 km away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#43 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
2.4 km away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#27 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#19 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.9 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#15 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
1.0 km away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#35 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Property: Duc Vuong Hotel
Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): $33 - $64
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing