We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and brilliant service”

MAY Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #114 of 5,438 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: USD 5 - USD 35
Cuisines: International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: MAY, short for Me And You, Restaurant and Bar, is the new brand for wine and dining in downtown, but the company has been in Saigon for more than 20 years with a few famous F&B Brands and Nightlife businesses among which the initial one was Shadow Bar and Cafe. Conveniently located on the historic Dong Khoi Street in the heart of Saigon, MAY offers a wide range of fresh, high-quality ingredients and myriad international dishes and wines, both by the bottle and by the glass. MAY is a hidden gem that one can't afford to miss whether you are simply visiting or live and work in the area.
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Went for a nice meal with a friend and the restaurant manager was great. Gave us recommendations on what to order and she was spot on - the goats cheese and artichoke dip was delicious. Not our cheapest meal in Vietnam, but well worth a visit if you're looking for something a bit nicer one evening.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Vanbrughgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2016

Stopped in here multiple times for Happy Hour, cocktails two for the price of one. We ate upstairs in the restaurant and had the best meal of our 4 nights in Ho Chi Minh. We selected from the Vietnamese menu and the food was excellent.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank AndrewJohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

The food was delicious ... The service was very good... We we're very happy with the restaurant and food

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Reference to the TA reviews my inspections were quit high. The host was very friendly, polite and did everything she cut to make us comfortable. But the food what a disappointment! Starters were spring rolls and breaded shallots, salat with vinegar sauce. Spring rolls was out of any tiny flavores. The steak what a shame, I asked for medium rare but the was totally rare... and it was more cocked then grilled. The concept with hyped music and nice hosts are OK, but the manager most "walk the talk" and be in control regarding the kitchen.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 548jeppea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May_DongKhoi, Manager at MAY Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Dear Mr. Jeppe A,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I remember talking to you on that night when you were at the restaurant. You were sitting upstairs just next to the glass partition wall with your lady partner. I went to assist you because the waitress had reported to me that you were unhappy with your stake being undercooked. When I asked, you expressed your discontent with the steak and raised concerns about your starters, the spring rolls, as well (which had already been consumed and the plates cleared).
To address your problem and acknowledging the fact that the steak was not perfectly medium rare, I immediately took the spring rolls off your check and gave you a discount on the steak.
Our guests’ satisfaction is the top priority at May, however problems with food quality or presentation can only be investigated and rectified (and prevented in the future) if we are notified about them in time (so while the remainder of the unsatisfactory meal is still on the plate). I sincerely hope you will not have this problem again, but just in case you do, I would ask you to let us know a little earlier so we can do something about it. We work very hard every day to keep the food quality consistently high and we appreciate your contribution to this effort.
Best regards,
Zsuzsanna Rozsa
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

In a city that is surprisingly expensive compared to the rest of Vietnam, it is difficult to find value in quality restaurants. MAY has a pretty good set lunch and the grog prices are acceptable too.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ross h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAY Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to MAY Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.