We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin.”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #13 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin.”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

A great city centre 5 star in the heart of Saigon. Great rooms which look fairly modern and the service from reception to concierge was great. The rooftop bar is a much better experience than the Rex Hotel which was the one we were pointed to in the guide books. Would definitely return when next in Ho Chi Min City.

Room Tip: Get a high room for a panoramic view of HCMC. We were on 21st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MG_Eclipse_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,560
    826
    193
    39
    23
See reviews for
357
1,086
157
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Medway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

a truly splendid hotel, rooms and amenitys great and the best breakfast selection and quality I have had in over 40 years of travelling

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turkey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Definetly a very good choice for Ho Chi Minh,very good location,good breakfast,very comfortable beds.The only negative side is swimming pool too small and many places around it are in the shade.Around the hotel there are many shopping and dining options.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warks, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Certainly one of the best hotels that we have stayed in on our travels with a high standard throughout. Furnishings, fittings, linen and bathroom liquids all excellent and the service also very good. Breakfast outstanding as were the breakfast staff.

As pointed out the drinks upstairs were pricey by local standards but this is one of the (if not the) top places in Ho Chi Minh City so would be expected - the cappuchino in the lounge bar was - according to my wife one of the best she has ever had anywhere.....

Location great as well, plenty of good choices for food (and drinks) nearby so didn't eat in the hotel at night. No idea of the price as part of a tour, but if you can get any sort of deal it would be worth it!! Enjoy - and from a high floor a great view over the Saigon river from our room.

Room Tip: High floor towards the river - good views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed at the Caravelle Hotel in Ho Chi Minh city when I travelled there for work last week. It was a one-week stay so I spent 7 nights at the hotel, and had no major issues during my stay there. Service was really good, with the service staff well-versed in the English language. The decor of the hotel is rather dated (both interior and exterior), especially when compared with the never slicker hotels in the area, but the service and location made up for that.

When I first arrived, they were able to pull out my reservation quickly with just my passport, and even had my loyalty programme membership details ready without me having to provide them. I was then escorted to my room and my baggage was brought up, along with the bellboy giving me some information about the room and the hotel. Pretty standard stuff, but it was quite seamless.

The room itself is spacious. Even though there was a desk, a table with a couch and a king size bed in the room with cabinets, there was no shortage of space to walk around. The bathroom is clean and well-equipped with aromatherapy soaps, shampoos, etc, and had en entire kit of basic amenities like shaver, toothbruch & paste, cotton buds - everything you'd need essentially.

As you'd expect of any 5-star hotel, they have a turn-down service at night, but they went the extra mile and did a second clean up at that time, replacing all the towels and stuff as well. I really appreciated that, especially if I'd go for a run in the evening. They'd clean up after my shower and I'd have a fresh bathroom to shower in the next morning.

The gym is 24-hours and well-equipped. There were 6 treadmills, a few steppers and all the equipment you'd need for a good workout. The only thing is that if you go in for a workout at peak hour, i.e. after work, 6-8pm, it tends to get crowded. I suspect this is because (1) there are a lot of business travellers staying at Caravelle, and (2) non-hotel guests are allowed to get a membership at the gym too. But if you avoid that hour, it's just fine.

The gym faces a lovely poolside with a bar. I didn't have time to use the pool but would have loved to. The only one negative thing I faced at the Caravelle was that their lifts are extremely slow. It would take a few good minutes to get a lift down from my room, especially in the morning.

The thing I loved about Caravelle was its central location. It's literally a five-minute walk from everything in District 1. There are lots of other hotels there with great bars and restaurants, a lot of stand-alone restaurants too, and new shopping malls as well. You pretty much could walk everywhere. And to go to Ben Tanh market and the backpackers area, it was just a five minute cab ride. My office was also a five minute cab ride away, and getting a taxi is very easy. Excellent location.

All in all, my stay was very good. I would recommend it and would stay again, but would also like to check out some of the newer hotels in District 1.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paritamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.6 km away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,229 reviews
0.4 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.3 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 km away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): $139 - $349
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing