We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Good Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Ranked #35 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Property”
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night wile in Saigon on business. The hotel's location along the river provides opportunities to get out and enjoy the local culture. Taxis are readily available for meetings, meaals, or events elsewhere in the city.

I had the great ood fortune, as a Marriott regular, of getting upgraded to a corner suite - a totally awesome room. The views of the river, all directions, from the living room were about as good as possible from any location in Saigon.

The rooms themselves are good. They feel a little bit dated, like a hotel built about 15 years ago, but everything was in working order and up to Marriott standards.

The concierge lounge is very nice, with attentive staff and exccellent views overlooking the river. Definitely a good place to have a beverage and/or snack at the end of a working day.

Summary, I'm likely to return here on my ext visit to Saigon.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    1,022
    234
    63
    25
See reviews for
409
865
162
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed 4 nights at the Renaissance Riverside Hotel in Saigon. The hotel is on the Saigon River, as the name suggests. What great sunrise views out my window looking down onto the river with barges and other vessels going back and forth. The front desk staff, doormen, housekeeping were all top notch, with excellent English skills and concern to take care of you. This truly is a 5-star hotel. The bed probably should be a little cushier for a 5-star, but it was okay. I only ate breakfast at the hotel since it was part of the room charge, and it was fabulous. Huge outlay of all types of food: Vietnamese, Chinese, Western, cereals, breads, pastries, tropical fruits, freshly squeezed juices (e.g., dragonfruit, watermelon, apple, orange, cucumber) into individual bottles, and there’s an egg chef. They even bring you the paper while you’re having breakfast. The location is very good as well and you can walk to just about any of the tourist attractions. The Ben Than market took 17 minutes to walk. I needed a map, which I got from the front desk, because I have trouble navigating the streets in Saigon. For some reason, I always get turned around and most of the street names sound the same to me since I don’t know the language. In addition to the famous Ben Than market, I found an army surplus market that gets no notoriety. This is the Dan Sinh market and they have lots of Vietnam/American war type items, although much of it has been more recently manufactured and distressed to make it look old. Nonetheless, you can get some cool things there (fatigues, rucksacks, zippos, insignias, hats, NVA battle flags, etc.). This market is also walkable from the hotel and is on Yersin road near Nguyen Thai Binh. I will stay at the Renaissance again when I return to Saigon, although it’s a little pricey. To help offset the expense, I bought snacks and drinks nearby at a convenience store, which can be hard to find: Go out the front doors, then left across Ngo Duc Ke to Ho Huan Nghiep (the next street). Then go left on it (away from the traffic circle) and there is a Circle K ¾ of the way down the street on the right. They have snacks, sodas, and beers for much better prices than the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side for great views at sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AjarnBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I have already stayed at the Intercontinental in HCMC a few times( that has vacation feel and this place has a barracks feel) but anyway someone suggested to stay down on the river at this "great hotel". So after hearing the base speaker fibrating my walls from a local DJ playing music at 1 am...I felt this is my last stay...the other comment is that everything was just average, the food, the fittness center, the staff ...just average to bad the price was not. The location was ok....the river is nice and there are many local restruants ...but I felt like I was in a old fashioned rooms with dated furniture and well worn carpets, furniture and wrinkled uniforms on the staff ??? It was just a run of the mill stay in a old noisey hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljungskile, Sweden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Renaissance Saigon Riverside Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City is a great hotel with great location. The rooms are good sized with promp housekeeping and room service. Our stay was great but not only for the comfort but also because of its excellent location which made it possible for us to explore the city on foot and on our own. The concierge service is also excellente. There we had transportation and tickets arranged, suggestions and recommendations as well as great tips. That alone made our stay worth while. The shop in the hotel is also great with lots of beautiful and colorful silk waitng to take shape at the hands of a very good seametress just for you. The restaurant is good serving a delicious and diversified buffet.
The lobby is so very busy both with business people in suits and tourists in shorts making it excitng and interesting people watching. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Saigon.

Room Tip: The rooms with the river view are best. Also the higher floors have less noise from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetuliaEriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Great hotel, great location. Rooms are a good size. Didn't use the pool or gym or breakfast but pool is rooftop with great views. Nice restaurants in the vicinity. Housekeeping and room service were prompt and very good. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river is the one we stayed in. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busybee0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,461 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,829 reviews
0.4 km away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#25 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,958 reviews
0.6 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,402 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Meridien Saigon
Le Meridien Saigon
#21 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Property: Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Address: 8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#28 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): $170 - $256
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Saigon's business and entertainment district, the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers warm hospitality, first-class amenities and incredible panoramic views of the Saigon River. Ho Chi Minh's famous landmarks such as the Reunification Palace and the beautiful Opera House are all within strolling distance as are numerous sellers of Vietnamese arts and crafts: a fascinating mix of commercial, retail, entertainment and cultural highlights at your door. Pamper yourself in a newly refurbished club room and after a day of meetings or sightseeing, take a dip in our rooftop pool,relax at our sun soaked poolside terrace. Alternatively enjoy a drink in the Atrium Lounge, a leisurely dinner at Kabin Chinese Restaurant or dine in our Riverside Café for Western and Vietnamese culinary delights. If you are looking for a hotel for an event or meeting the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers meeting facilities which include natural daylight and river views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Marriott, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing