We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ava Saigon 3 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ava Saigon 3 Hotel
Ranked #341 of 835 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 3am. Staff unlocked the door and checked us in. Our friend was also staying at the hotel and the receptionist gave us a note she had left for us. The English level of the hotel staff was relatively low, but nothing to complain about. They booked a tour for us, got us taxis whenever we needed them, and were always generally nice. Breakfast was nothing to write home about but for the cost of our stay, was fine - each morning we were given a 2 fried eggs, a baguette with jam, and coffee. Our room, apparently, was one of the only ones in the building with a window, but it was wired closed, which was a shame. The bathroom had a constant line of sugar ants running along the base of the wall, and we had to fidget with the hot water heater to get it working (not a big deal - fixed in under a minute). Bed was average. We had read reviews on here about theft of money from the rooms, and as such never left anything we cared about in the room when we went out - so we can't speak to that. Overall, it's budget accommodation - it was fine for the small sum of money we spent to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for something with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDuck Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    16
    20
    7
    11
See reviews for
3
27
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This was our very first SE Asia hotel experience. The front desk did NOT speak good English, and they did NOT have our room ready for us. My friend and I had to share a bed the first night then switch over to a room with two beds the next day. In addition, around 6am the first morning, someone was pounding on our wall with a hammer. And they did this about an hour. I went down to the front desk to complain but the guy did not understand what I was saying even though you could hear the pounding from the front desk!!

Our second room was ten times better and quiet through the night and early morning. We had two totally difference experiences.

The big thing that happened: We got a cab just outside the hotel to take us to the airport. The girl working the front desk heard the price he quoted us and came outside an exploded in a bunch of Vietnamese. When she was done, she smiled, looked at us, then said we were to pay about 1/4 of the original price and not a cent more. She did us an awesome favor and we didn't even ask for it. I was very impressed and just for this reason I would totally stay with them again.

The location was GREAT for nightlife.

The breakfast was awesome and they were not (too) stingy with seconds.

Room Tip: The higher the better, toward the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Reception.....The female behind reception was rude to us because we had waited nearly an hour for our room which wasn't ready and because I kept asking she got annoyed and muttered something to her colleague. The staff speak little English and there is a young man there who is either watching tv or asleep in the reception.

Breakfast....This hotel states you get free breakfast however there are only 2 tables in the entire place to eat so its first come first served otherwise you wait until someone has finished!

Rooms.....We had 2 rooms both toilets and sinks leaked onto the bathroom floor and when we informed the man at reception he just nodded his head, he had to come to the room as there was no hot water. He gave us another room which had hot water as it had its own boiler. The head board on the bed was broken. There was dust hanging down from the ceiling. I dropped my phone and it went under the bed, I pulled it out along with a handfull of dust. There is a kettle and cups - no tea or coffee and nowhere to plug the kettle in....odd. THere are no bath robes as stated in their description.

There was a couple shouting loudly from 2am to 530am and the staff did nothing. I had to wake the young man up at the reception sofa so we could check out. They also hold onto your passports and it was difficult getting them back.

On checking out I paid up and was about to leave when the man shouted for more money he said we stayed longer than we did. DUe to his lack of English and my lack of Vietnamese this was a huge problem as I didnt know what he wanted, he knew we had a train to catch and because he made this fuss we missed our train costing us 60 english pounds and a lost afternoon in our next stop.

I am so cross with this hotel. We have stayed in many places and this one is just falling apart. It is a shame because if the staff made an effort and fixed the problems, put in more tables and some finishing touches it would be alright.

It was so nice checking into our next hotel where we were actually greeted and given a warm welcome. Don't expect that from Sunny Hotel more like Cloudy Hotel.

Room Tip: Dont go to the 6th floor as they don't have hot water. MOst rooms don't have a window eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileysblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Short walk to all the bars and restaurants just down the road. Helpful staff who helped to arrange trips, taxis and buses for us which was a big help as this was our first place we stayed in Vietnam and one of the best. Breakfast was simple but good as were the rooms, nothing to complain about really, the internet was not working when we were there but one of the staff arranged a place for us to stay in Mui Ne up the coast as we couldn't search online for a place - which was a massive help!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed there for one night as stopover from Cambodia to Hanoi. It is easy to walk to Pham Ngu Lau and main attractions from Hotel. The staff is OK, although not so nice as that in Cambodia. Room facilities are very poor: we were at the 5th floor without window; the room are very humid and smelly; the fridge is very noisy; the door is very hard to open and lock, double check whether it is locked already to avoid the loss of valuable things.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David_Hong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.0 km away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#94 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 km away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#111 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.4 km away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#170 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 km away
Ava Saigon 2
Ava Saigon 2
#55 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.8 km away
AVA Saigon Hotel
AVA Saigon Hotel
#157 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ava Saigon 3 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ava Saigon 3 Hotel

Property: Ava Saigon 3 Hotel
Address: 137 De Tham Street | Co Giang Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): $24 - $33
Hotel Class:2 star — Ava Saigon 3 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ava Saigon 3 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing