We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in Ho Chi Minh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
Ranked #43 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2017

It started with a bit of confusion getting to the hotel as we had to go through an alley first, thinking we were in a wrong place.
What we found was a gem, nestled in an alley, away from the main streets.
Ma Maison is a beautiful, quaint, boutique hotel built by French. Not only the room we stayed in was very comfortable with little personal touches, like fresh bunch of fresh roses on the second day of our stay, the host who's the owner himself, warmly welcomed us. He took the time explaining the surrounding on the map, made sure our breakfast were meeting expectations. We chatted, he shared the history of the building that was bought out by his grandparents.
The two staff were as helpful.
We recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Saigon and prefer to stay a bit away from the centre of town (we walked to Ben Tanh market and it took us about 40 minutes, about 15 minutes by taxi).

Room Tip: It's a 6-storey building with no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fnugroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2017

We're very fortunate to have traveled throughout much of North America, Europe and Asia and we have never so enjoyed an accomodation as we did with Mr. Ha, Mrs. Long, Tom and John at Ma Maison. The hotel is a beautifully decorated family home filled with stunning photographs and guest rooms offering luxurious linens and fresh cinnamon sticks and lemon grass. Mrs. Long was very kind to have answered our many questions in advance and organized the details with precision: shuttle service to/from the airport where the the delightful Tom greeted us like old friends, arranging a delicious, hot meal for us to enjoy upon our late-evening arrival after 30 hours of uninterrupted travel and storing our luggage while we toured the Mekong for two days before returning for a last evening! We enjoyed very much our lengthy conversations with the gracious and interesting Mr. Ha whose many years of 5-star hotel management shine through in every detail. The hotel is very secure and is an oasis of relaxation in hectic Saigon with excellent breakfasts including whole fresh fruits and unlimited passion juices, chilled water and coffee/teas. District 1 is only 25 minutes away by taxi and we were thrilled to have chosen a cozy, traditional setting rather than a large, Western hotel. Our only regret is that we had time for only 4 overnights at Ma Maison and the distance between Europe and Vietnam is so vast! We cannot recommend this beautiful hotel enough! Book a Superior Room on an upper floor for the best view for as long as your schedule permits and enjoy!

Room Tip: Our corner Superior Room on an upper floor was spacious and quiet with the A/C running even during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank daslebenistschoen999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Stayed two nights coming into Ho Chi Minh City on the way to REI Adventure tour in Laos and Cambodia, and also one night before my flight home. The hotel is just off District 3, between the airport and downtown (District 1). Ma Maison is a 13 room French colonial hotel built in 1945 and sits in a back alley/street in the midst of a residential neighborhood. A bit hard to find if you do not check the map closely. The staff are wonderful and will guide the guests to find the best spots in the neighborhood or call taxis to get you the 20 minute ride to downtown attractions. At first glance, the neighborhood is not much to look at...but it comes alive at night and gives a chance to see the real life flow of HCMC. If staff says, here's were to get the best Bahn Mi sandwich or a therapeutic massage, listen!... and then look past the modest looks of the businesses and you will be rewarded!! Within a few blocks a walkway along the river winds to downtown through various neighborhoods as an alternative to a taxi or motorbike ride. The food and service is top shelf and hospitality is sincere. Would not look elsewhere for a place to stay in HCMC unless the downtown was your primary interest or you have mobility issues (no elevators/steep stairs).

Room Tip: Second floor is better if climbing lots of stairs is difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rrhmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I booked two nights at Ma Maison and was very pleased with my choice. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, and the rooms are impeccable. There are thoughtful details, like a universal plug adapter, and the air conditioning was strong. The breakfast, included with the stay, was delicious and served inside or on the lovely terrace. Tom was especially lovely, always ready to offer tea or coffee, walk you to your taxi or carry your bags.
The neighbourhood is outside of the city centre, which is a nice escape from the craziness. There is a nice park across the street, good for a stroll.
I would not hesitate to recommend Ma Maison for those looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay outside of downtown HCMC.
One tip: I arrived very late at night and the taxi did not know where to go. The address didn't seem to help, so bring a a good map with the location marked when you arrive.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We spent three nights at ma Maison and loved it. To begin with the place is squeaky clean. Like many places in Vietnam you take off your shoes inside the building. When you do that at Ma Maison your feet can never feel any dust at all. Bedrooms are well-kept, bathrooms are very clean.

The owner is almost always there and he's assisted by two very helpful assistants. The owner and one of the assistants speak very good English, owner also speaks German. They'll give you an orientation plus maps when you arrive.

The hotel is a bit difficult to locate on first try. if you come by taxi you'll see a building called Maison and an alley beside it. Ma Maison is actually about 20 meters and a left turn down the alley. The plus side of this is that its very quiet and there is also a small outdoor area where you can have your breakfast or sit around.

Location-wise the hotel is about 4.2 kn from the Ben Than market and Old Saigon, but there are busses or taxis readily available to ferry you there and back.

All in all worth staying at for a short trip to HCMC.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unspun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 km away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#23 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
926 reviews
3.4 km away
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
#10 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
764 reviews
3.8 km away
CCentral Hotel Bui Vien
CCentral Hotel Bui Vien
#13 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
280 reviews
3.8 km away
Anpha Boutique Hotel
Anpha Boutique Hotel
#36 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
528 reviews
3.6 km away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#22 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Maison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Maison Boutique Hotel

Address: 656/52 Cach Mang Thang Tam Street | Ward 11, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ma Maison Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short alley from the main Cach Mang Thang Tam Street, Ma Maison Boutique Hotel caters to demanding clients of long-term expats and French art aficionados. Located in a local labor area where Vietnamese daily real life can be reflected in its most truthful way, this boutique house is brought out to be such an extraordinary in every possible way. Leaving behind the bustling daily routines, first impression would be like straying into a totally different world. Sensation of art, peacefulness and nature-friendliness may balance to fulfill its charming. Ma Maison features Provence style in which bright sunshine and decoration theme have been embraced to create a relaxed look in this guesthouse. Antique design, refinement and sumptuous materials combined with standard services and its harmony in decoration would make your stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ma Maison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing