We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value for money and so spacious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cat Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cat Huy Hotel
Ranked #51 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money and so spacious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and communicating directly with the hotel. we paid US$36 a night for a room with a balcony - what a bargain! We had room 402. The hotel is in a little lane way in sector one (the old quarter)...and I highly recommend staying here - the lane way is a saving grace far enough away from the madness of the main roads! The staff are very friendly, the free breakfast to die for, and the rooms are like apartments...there is a flat screen TV, fridge, and airconditioner in every room....just really good value for money in the heart of the best part of town!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    206
    40
    5
    9
See reviews for
43
284
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Location: Good. Quite convenient. It's along an alley where vendors of every kind can be found. But inside the hotel is clean, safe and quiet. You have to leave your shoes/ slippers when you enter the hotel. And don't forget to leave your valuables/ key at the reception safe.

Room: The room we had was on the 5th floor with windows - no elevator so you need to climb till the 5th.
Aircon, tv, and bed are comfortable. Nothing really much to see on those windows but cramped houses.

Service: Okay. They will promptly do as you request. Like the towels we requested, tours, etc..

Breakfast is for free - you can choose to have noodles or egg with bread, it includes banana and tea/ coffee for drink.

Note: we were told by the reception in the hotel to be vigilant of bag/ camera snatchers when we go outside.
There are books about Vietnam and maps you can borrow at the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The good:
Quiet. Only sound i heard was the shower running upstairs.
The staff are all very nice. For some dumb reason we never asked for names, but the skinny guy is super nice and helpful, as was the other night time guy, and the "bell-boy" kid who is super strong and helped us with our bag up to the 5th floor! The 2 guys really helped out with internet research with a large amount of questioning on our part. The girl is nice too, we just never had as much to ask her. Also i think my wife talked with the owner or manager, who I only saw for a few minutes one time... he was apparently nice as well.
The room was very clean. (last morning there was a lizard in our room. which we found cute).
Free breakfast was fine. I ordered eggs for some extra protein for a long drive, but the soup looked like it was coming from outside the hotel, which made me wished I had ordered that.

Not as good: As someone else recently mentioned there was a bit of a smell. It was definitely sewer related, and must have been coming up through the pipes in the bathroom. I'm not surprised, but when you get back from a long day, and your rooms hot and stuffy, and smells poopy, it's not the best welcome.
Air conditioning was a bit noisy with weird pops and creaks, it would work silently for several hours and than in the middle of the night would decide to make noises. It also spit at us when we turned it on. (but the real drain went into the shower, luckily from ground level so you don't have to hear it dripping).
Weird towel choices. Some days thick and big, some days tiny and thin. But you can totally ask for more towels.
The computer they have for you to use was virus ridden for the first 2 days. Someone eventually cleared it up, or at least enough to stop redirecting google searches.

We went away for a night, but kept our room, when we went to get a cab back to the hotel they were all charging double... but we saw a Cat Huy driver waiting for another couple, and they let us hitch a ride. That was pretty great. Not 100% if we got charged for that... an invoice would be nice. I wish they would take credit cards as I never like carrying a lot of cash.

Oh yeah. The quiet alley has the market as people have mentioned. That is pretty cool.
Also for the love of god don't go to Bui Vien, the tourist street behind the hotel. It was like hell on earth. 100's of western tourists sitting and drinking bear and eating fake western food. Luckily the more convenient exit from the hotel's alley is north on Pham Ngu Lao.

Oh yeah. those little maps are useless. get something ahead of time. It's hard to find a good map around there. or better yet, find a way to get a data plan on your phone for map use. i sure wished i had it every time i went out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Right in the heart of the "backpackers" budget area, the Cat Huy is a great, well priced find. We stayed for 4 nights in January. It is a small, narrow hotel off an alley. The alley can make it hard to find, so it's best to get the hotel to prearrange a pick up for you. This worked like a charm for us, alleviating a lot of stress. We did not even have to pay the taxi directly, the hotel just added about $15 to our bill. The rooms are spacious (we splurged on the teeny balcony) and bright. And clean. The bed was comfortable. The free Wifi worked well but spotty at times. A lovely touch was the small table set with green tea. The mini bar prices are reasonable. The staff's English was less than basic and some were not overly friendly. They were not a great resource for information about the city. The breakfast was basic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very friendly, helpful and cheerful family run hotel. Rooms and breakfast very good, in a facinating location

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmgNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#27 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
2.3 km away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#32 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 km away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#45 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#54 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 km away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#68 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 km away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Huy Hotel

Property: Cat Huy Hotel
Address: 353 / 28 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): $17 - $37
Hotel Class:2 star — Cat Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cat Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing