We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cat Huy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
New World Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
USD 172
USD 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
USD 168
USD 163
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PARKROYAL Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
USD 106
USD 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofitel Saigon Plaza(Ho Chi Minh City)
USD 205
USD 142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 93
USD 74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 176
USD 74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 108
USD 90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rex Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
USD 178
USD 124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nikko Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
USD 146
USD 139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reverie Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
USD 380
USD 256
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
274
219
42
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
219
42
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspholocal marketno elevatormorning marketsmall alleypham ngu laolane wayhotel is locatedrestaurants and barsquiet at nightbudget hotelflights of stairsminute walkbackpacker areasmall balconyhot waterthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Location: Good. Quite convenient. It's along an alley where vendors of every kind can be found. But inside the hotel is clean, safe and quiet. You have to leave your shoes/ slippers when you enter the hotel. And don't forget to leave your valuables/ key at the reception safe.

Room: The room we had was on the 5th floor with windows - no elevator so you need to climb till the 5th.
Aircon, tv, and bed are comfortable. Nothing really much to see on those windows but cramped houses.

Service: Okay. They will promptly do as you request. Like the towels we requested, tours, etc..

Breakfast is for free - you can choose to have noodles or egg with bread, it includes banana and tea/ coffee for drink.

Note: we were told by the reception in the hotel to be vigilant of bag/ camera snatchers when we go outside.
There are books about Vietnam and maps you can borrow at the reception area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The good:
Quiet. Only sound i heard was the shower running upstairs.
The staff are all very nice. For some dumb reason we never asked for names, but the skinny guy is super nice and helpful, as was the other night time guy, and the "bell-boy" kid who is super strong and helped us with our bag up to the 5th floor! The 2 guys really helped out with internet research with a large amount of questioning on our part. The girl is nice too, we just never had as much to ask her. Also i think my wife talked with the owner or manager, who I only saw for a few minutes one time... he was apparently nice as well.
The room was very clean. (last morning there was a lizard in our room. which we found cute).
Free breakfast was fine. I ordered eggs for some extra protein for a long drive, but the soup looked like it was coming from outside the hotel, which made me wished I had ordered that.

Not as good: As someone else recently mentioned there was a bit of a smell. It was definitely sewer related, and must have been coming up through the pipes in the bathroom. I'm not surprised, but when you get back from a long day, and your rooms hot and stuffy, and smells poopy, it's not the best welcome.
Air conditioning was a bit noisy with weird pops and creaks, it would work silently for several hours and than in the middle of the night would decide to make noises. It also spit at us when we turned it on. (but the real drain went into the shower, luckily from ground level so you don't have to hear it dripping).
Weird towel choices. Some days thick and big, some days tiny and thin. But you can totally ask for more towels.
The computer they have for you to use was virus ridden for the first 2 days. Someone eventually cleared it up, or at least enough to stop redirecting google searches.

We went away for a night, but kept our room, when we went to get a cab back to the hotel they were all charging double... but we saw a Cat Huy driver waiting for another couple, and they let us hitch a ride. That was pretty great. Not 100% if we got charged for that... an invoice would be nice. I wish they would take credit cards as I never like carrying a lot of cash.

Oh yeah. The quiet alley has the market as people have mentioned. That is pretty cool.
Also for the love of god don't go to Bui Vien, the tourist street behind the hotel. It was like hell on earth. 100's of western tourists sitting and drinking bear and eating fake western food. Luckily the more convenient exit from the hotel's alley is north on Pham Ngu Lao.

Oh yeah. those little maps are useless. get something ahead of time. It's hard to find a good map around there. or better yet, find a way to get a data plan on your phone for map use. i sure wished i had it every time i went out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Right in the heart of the "backpackers" budget area, the Cat Huy is a great, well priced find. We stayed for 4 nights in January. It is a small, narrow hotel off an alley. The alley can make it hard to find, so it's best to get the hotel to prearrange a pick up for you. This worked like a charm for us, alleviating a lot of stress. We did not even have to pay the taxi directly, the hotel just added about $15 to our bill. The rooms are spacious (we splurged on the teeny balcony) and bright. And clean. The bed was comfortable. The free Wifi worked well but spotty at times. A lovely touch was the small table set with green tea. The mini bar prices are reasonable. The staff's English was less than basic and some were not overly friendly. They were not a great resource for information about the city. The breakfast was basic.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very friendly, helpful and cheerful family run hotel. Rooms and breakfast very good, in a facinating location

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmgNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at Cat Huy on our arrival in HCMC for 5 nigths and one more before coming back home. The people working there are really kind and helpful. They are always smiling.... The rooms are very clean and spacious. One of the good sides of this hotel is its location. A narrow street perpendicular to the busy Pham Ngu Lao leaves us out of the big noise as if we were in the countryside. The tiny street becomes a market every morning so you can start your day watching people buy their goods for the day. Very interesting place. For 30 dollars, we didnot expect that much. And if you want to pay a few dollars more, ask for an appartment not far from the hotel, also in a very quiet area. There you will meet the very kind and charming May who will greet you as her brother or sister.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews