We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bright and clean micro hotel”
Review of Cat Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cat Huy Hotel
Ranked #67 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I'm not going to say much as it's all been said before, but this is a lovely little hotel. Spotlessly clean. Nice helpful staff.
Our room, on the 2 occasions we stayed there was spacious, bright (despite tiny, or no windows) and comfortable, with a huge bed.
We also had a lttle anteroom with desk, fridge etc.
It's located in a great place, down a quiet alley (at night time), and close to all the action you need.
The nearby travel agents, who the hotel staff recommended to us, were also fantastic.
Top marks Cat Huey.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor is probably handiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryConamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 323 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

The best thing that I have to say about this hotel is that is right next to where the action take place but it's still a very quiet place, so you can get a good night sleep without any problem.
The rooms are spotless and big, with a clean toilette. They also have tv, fridge, kettle, etc. All things you could need during your stay are there.
The only thing that I didn't like was breakfast. It wasn't bad but for the money you are paying you could get something much better. Still simple but better. In Vietnam most of the hotels offer free breakfast for their guests, and the thing is that I have stayed in cheaper hotels with far better options for breakfast. They could keep it simple but at least add jam and fruit as options for the 4 different kinds of noodle soups and the fried eggs. I missed the healthy western option.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antonilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My father and I stayed for 2 nights 3/2/12 to 5/2/12.
The positives: the rooms are very clean and well equipped, including the bathroom; friendly staff; simple but nice breakfast (choice of 4); quiet of a night as it is up a small laneway away form the main road; local fresh vege and seafood market of a morning up the laneway, our room had a balcony (we on the 6th floor); flatscreen TV; air con; enough room to be comfortable for 2 people; close to a market, restaurants, bars and a park.
The negatives: no elevator (the 6th floor was a little too much every time); they did not arrive at the airport to pick us up as organised; the shower was cold of a morning but I did have a warm one in the evening, it didn't matter too much as it was hot weather; I found the beds just a little bit hard - but that is generally the case in Vietnam.
I would stay here again but would require a lower floor if I travelled with my young family as we would not cope with the stairs.

Room Tip: Choose a low floor unless you like climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theglobewithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Thus small hotel has a big heart. I am just completing a 12 night stay as a repeat guest following my 8 day visit one year ago. All the staff get high marks for friendliness and excellent service. Hotel housekeeping continues to be of a high standard. Anh (pron. Ann), Gabi and Vee (pron. Vay) at reception have good English skills and bend over backwards every day to make guests comfortable and to help with answering questions, offering advice and arranging excursions. The other staff members do not speak Englilsh but this doesn't create any problem.

Hotel has a perfect location on a quiet alley about 150 metres from the busy Pham Ngu Lao (Street). It is quiet for sleeping yet only a 2 - 5 minute walk from many restaurants and bars and an abundance of transportation such as taxis, motorbike taxis and cyclos. In the alley and directly in front of the hotel there is a busy street market that operates at full throttle every morning, opening around 7 AM and closing about noon. Many of the shop houses across from and beside the hotel offer a wide variety of fresh fruits, vegetables, meat and fish. The 'buzz' of this market is wonderful to experience and, if you are into people-watching, you will really savour the authentic neighbourhood commerce that takes place here.

The hotel rooms, numbering 11 and spread over 6 floors are all nicely appointed with comfortable beds, large flat screen TV, free WIFI, fridge, large glass-enclosed shower, hair , dryer, basic toiletries,tea/coffee making equipment, good air conditioning and a computer desk. Some rooms have small balconies and some do not have windows. Most rooms are fairly spacious, however, the room located on ground level at the back of the dining area, is small, has no windows and is the least costly to say in. There is no elevator in the hotel so access to the rooms is by stairs. There is always a male staff member on hand to carry luggage to and from your room so the absence of a lift isn't a big issue unless one is physically impaired.

As the hotel may present a problem for some taxi drivers to find it is advisable that you carry a map and that you have the hotel phone number readily available. in the event the taxi driver needs to phone the hotel for direcdtions.
.
The small reception area is licated on the mezaanine one floor above street level. There is a computer here for guests.

A free breakfast is served between 7 and 10 AM in the ground floor dining area. Breakfast is very basic but adequate to launch you for your day's activities,

Everything considered, this hotel is good value and offers most everything a traveller would require. i wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to any visitor to HCMC. It\s a beaut !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belkinhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

After having a not so great experience in a budget hotel in Singapore 2 days before we came to HCMC, we were quite wary of what we will find in HCMC – as the price we paid for Cat Huy is bordering on nothing ($32/night). We have already pre-booked our hotels months before we went on our trip, so we couldn’t really do anything about it. However, we booked it because of the many great reviews we have read about it – even better than the pricier hotels.

We pre-booked a hotel pick up from the airport to the hotel, and this was about $6 to be paid to the hotel. We didn’t realize though, that the hotel is located in an alley which is not accessible by a car. My partner and I had 2 pieces of luggage each, and though someone from the hotel met us where the car dropped us off, it was a challenge to drag our luggage through the alleys. The alleys were wet and quite dirty from the markets selling fish, pork, chicken and vegetables.

Upon arriving at the hotel, our fear of a repeat of our Singapore experience was not allayed. We didn’t realize that the hotel had no elevators until we got there – so our luggage had to be carried up a narrow staircase up to our room on the 4th floor. We didn’t carry them ourselves, a hotel staff did - but we felt so sorry for him as he was quite small and the luggage were really heavy.

So it was with great surprise when we finally got to our room and saw that the size belied the exterior. The room was bigger than we initially thought – there was a divider between the bedroom and the hallway which led to a very tiny balcony. The actual bedroom area had good space, enough to have a small table for tea near the bed, and for all our luggage to be laid out on the floor. I think the bed was a king size, and it was extremely comfortable. The room was very clean, and though the decorations were not fancy, they were certainly very pleasant – overall definitely worth more than what we paid for. The bathroom was also a good size though basic.

Breakfast was included in the price we paid (I cannot imagine how!) – but we never got to have one at the hotel as all our tours already included an early pick up and breakfast.
The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful – they made calls for us to confirm our tour details with tour operators.

From the hotel, it was a short walk to the main road (<50meters)– shorter than the one where the hotel pick up car dropped us before. We still passed through some small market stalls, the alley is perpetually wet from the market – so do not wear white if you don’t want mud splashes on your shorts/shirt from the motorcycles passing through. There are many choices once you are on the main road, and it is easy enough to get a cab if you don’t feel like walking. On coming back at nights, we found that the street was adequately lighted – so it wasn’t as scary as we thought it would be.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as it is very good value for money for those on a budget but would still like comfort – the rooms are good, the staff is friendly and helpful; but location was a compromise - and I would personally want a more central hotel in my future stays in HCMC.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugratsfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,203 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#99 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
805 reviews
2.3 km away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#45 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#51 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,546 reviews
0.1 km away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
363 reviews
0.1 km away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Huy Hotel

Address: 353 / 28 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $17 - $1,576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cat Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cat Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing