We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in HCMC”
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elegant Inn
Ranked #89 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Like most other reviewers of this hotel, we were well pleased with the Xuan Mai and especially the lovely Mrs Nang and her staff. We were met at the airport and the transfer was fast and easy. Mrs Nang was on hand to greet us on arrival at the hotel, even though it was late at night and our flight was an hour later than expected. She is a genuinely lovely woman who greets you like you are not just another guest. We stayed in room 4a at the front of the building. Traffic noise did not bother us and having a front room gives one a constant view of what's happening on the street below. The room was very spacious, well maintained and very clean.
The lift (elevator) looks to have been installed or replaced quite recently.

The hotel is well located and Mrs Nang looked after our day trips, which were very very inexpensive.

We are quite careful with our health and therefore not in the habit of eating eggs and ham on a daily basis. But the staff understood our requirements and provided us a double serving of fruit, in lieu of the aforementioned breakfast foods. A little more breakfast variety would be the one improvement the hotel could consider.

We will certainly recommend the Xuan Mai to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg_Brisbane08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
There are newer reviews for Elegant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 553 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here.
Our Front room was quite large with a comfy bed, good air conditioning and the usual free wifi. Had a couple of amall problems which were fixed quickly.
Yes there is some noise from the street, even late at night, but we soon got used to it.
The beauty of this Hotel is the owner Mrs Nang.
Always there with good advice, help with tours and Laundry, she seems to really care about her customer’s welfare.

Room Tip: The front rooms are larger and have a bigger bathroom, but are noisier than those at the back.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were picked up at the station (organised by the hotel) and wisked away to the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised that Mrs Nang made our rooms available so early (5:30am)! The rooms were fine, and the outdoor breakfast area on the 4th floor novel; however, more choice for breakfast would have increased our enjoyment.
Mrs Nang was very helpful advising which taxis to use and what to do and where to go in Sai Gon. She would also instruct the taxi drivers on where we were going - very useful as our viet language skills were poor!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austraveller65-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Xuan Mai Hotel is located in the backpacker district of Saigon and there are many good restaurants close by. The ABC bakery around the corner was excellent. Many of the tourist destinations are within relatively easy walking distance (or they will call a taxi for you.) The hosts were wonderful and very helpful identifying places of interest for us. Our room was very large, very clean and well furnished. We had no problem with the wifi and with the aircon and ceiling fan on, we heard very little street noise. This worked well in 34 degree weather or ask for a room at the back of the hotel. We arrived just after noon after a week cruise and we were able to have a clothes washed and returned by early that evening. The breakfast was basic and I'm sure that I would be tired of the eggs and fruit if we had stayed longer than 3 days. For the price, location and hosts we found this hotel to be a great choice in Hanoi. Tip... book the room through their email address, you'll get a better room rate. xuan_mai_hotel@yahoo.com

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of hotel to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here based on the trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed.
Mrs Nang was a wonderful host. We booked our trips through her and they were much cheaper than anywhere else.
We stayed twice our first night in Vietnam and when we returned from our trip around Vietnam we felt she was honestly happy to see us again.

Room Tip: Dont expect the Sheraton or the Hilton but just a nice clean room and spotless bathroom.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerron49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.4 km away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#42 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
515 reviews
0.2 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,194 reviews
0.2 km away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#67 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
533 reviews
1.0 km away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#85 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
115 reviews
0.2 km away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#99 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $20 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing