We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
57
17
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
17
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturn down servicecity viewbubble tea shopinstant coffeethe general managersuite roomfree upgradebuffet styleben thanh marketlight sleepergreat locationbusy streetevery morningthe hotel staffkoreanairportvietnam
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel

The smaller details really let this hotel down and I don't recommend it. Location is good, room is modern as the hotel is new and the Aircon is reliable and not noisy.

A few examples of the smaller details though which will stop me returning:

All guests are treated like suspected criminals. In the room, instead of a minibar price list or instructions on how to work the Aircon, for example, we found an itemized price list of every item in the room outlining the charge in the event it was broken or missing. When we checked out at 6am and had a taxi waiting (and meter running), they insisted on going up to the room to check everything. We had settled our bill the night before as to make a swift getaway for our morning flight.

There was paint on the floor and some fittings, leaflets were grubby and used by someone else, bed was hard enough for me to comment about it in a TA review.

Breakfast was poor. No vegetarian options, you're only allowed one type of drink (choice of three) and doing anything off menu, such as to cater for a special diet, would incur a charge. I had to ask for an omlette 'without an omlette' in order to get toast and fruit.

Airport transfer is 400,000 which we politely declined once we'd done our research and found that a journey to district 1 should be 150,000 ish.

Laundry is also expensive and charged per item. 10,000 I think for a pair of knickers. We used the Heramo online laundry service who'll pickup, wash and deliver within 24 hours and do 6kg for 140,000. Lovely smelling and there's an English speaker on the end of Facebook messenger or WhatsApp.

Compared to other Vietnamese hotels, this one is a let down. But it's clean and central.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wandering88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papaya Saigon C... H, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Papaya Saigon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Wandering88,

Many thanks for your candid and thoughtful review. It is pleasing to note that our location and comfort of the room served your overall needs well.

With regret we have taken note that not everything during your stay was to your fullest satisfaction. We strongly believe that the best way to improve service standards and guest satisfaction is by listening to guest reviews, and investing in training.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you upon your next visit to Ho Chi Minh.

Sincerely,

Christine Tran

Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

We recently stayed at this new hotel during April 15-19, 2018 for 4 nights. We stayed in the Deluxe Room 603 on 6th floor and found it clean and comfortable, although in a small size. Frontdesk staff were very polite and helpful, and able to communicate with us in English. They also helped us to make several local phone calls and check for the restaurant opening hours and our day tour pickup time, since the phone call recipient could only speak in Vietnamese. Of a note, they were able to provide us with a free early check-in at noon, as requested in advance.

PROS:
-free wifi in room
-free daily hot breakfast (selections from menu)
-friendly frontdesk staff
-good location

CONS:
-walk-in shower with slow drain (the slow drain causes the the water filling the shower base quickly, which means the water then overflows onto the floor.... I actually had to turn off the shower, and wait for minutes before I could use the shower again)
-no luggage rack in room
-no air conditioning in elevator and in hallway

Overall I would still consider staying in this hotel again, and recommend this hotel to other travellers, due to hotel cleanliness, value, and location.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank heeheelum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papaya Saigon C... H, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Papaya Saigon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear heeheelum,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, our accommodation and the service.

It’s disappointing to hear you were unhappy with the shower and the inconvenience of lacking luggage rack, we would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We certainly will be looking into these area.

Again thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.

Sincerely,

Christine Tran

Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We were a group of five; three rooms. Very happy with the rooms - up to date, great functioning bathroom, large wall of storage for clothes and things. Even though on a busy street, very quiet inside. Very walkable. Lots of construction in the area - a small downside. Good breakfast. Tiny lobby. Everything worked well in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Denis105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papaya Saigon C... H, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Papaya Saigon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Denis105,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comment. We are pleased to know that you have appreciated our facilities and that you have a positive experience. Also, we're so happy you have enjoyed our hotel location and could access to main places in the city downtown.

Again thank you and we hope to have the privilege to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Christine Tran

Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Myself and my husband spent a week in the Papaya Saigon Central . We had a suite on the 5th floor. The rooms were excellent and were cleaned on a daily basis. The breakfast was lovely. The staff itself were so polite both in reception and in the café. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, We would highly recommend it if you travel to Ho Chi Minh City

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papaya Saigon C... H, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Papaya Saigon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Gill K,

Thanks for writing your lovely review regarding your recent stay with us. We are incredibly pleased that you experienced a wonderful stay and found the room as well as breakfast to be nice. The whole team always strive everyday to make each stay with us as positive as possible.

We highly appreciate your recommendation us to travelers and we would love to have you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Christine Tran

Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Stayed here for 2 nights. Appears to be a new hotel. Very clean; spacious room and bathroom. Convenient location with many tourist sights within walking distance. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Wi-fi worked well. Breakfast was included in our room rate. They have a small restaurant/cafe where breakfast is served. For breakfast they have a selection of meals (Vietnamese and Western food) that you can choose from. It's not all you can eat, but the portions were more than sufficient. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdkjsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papaya Saigon C... H, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Papaya Saigon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear rdkjsd,

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are very glad to read your positive comment about the strategic location and our hotel facilities. It’s also nice that you could enjoy our lovely breakfast.

Hope we can have you return soon!

Sincerely,

Christine Tran

Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews